I was just looking at compatability/ horoscope matches between me and people I know (friends)
Some of the charachetristics of the horoscopes did relate to the person including my own..
I guess I wanted to know if islamically there is much truth or is it all nonsense..
Compatabilities between a guy and a girl by horoscope .. is there truth.. or is there an islamic methodology to assess compatability for marriage..
Thanks all
Assalaam-o-Alekum. **
**1- Spiritually speaking everything in this universe affects and is affected by other things. The star constellations, numbers, colors do have their meanings. It is all natural. Everything that is natural is not denied by Islam. However, as Muslims we are supposed to understand, believe and practice that The Creator of nature has power over all things. Dua......,,,,Prayers can be sooooooooo effective that Allah, The Creator of the nature and The Writer of our "naseeb", changes or amends what He has written earlier. 2- In Islam, we have a provision called "ISTEKHAARAH". But remember, ance you receive your answer through Istekhaarah, you must do accordingly because...................(let me put it in urdu) Allah ki yeh shaan nahi keh woh humein mashwara dai. Agar Istekhara mein koi jawab ata hai to woh humarey lye Hukm-e-Rabbi ka darja rakhta hai. Phir apni man mani ki gunjayish nahi..............aur Allah ka har hukm humarey lye be-had faydey mand hota hai!
Basically according to Quran Stars are for 3 reasons,
1) Decorations for the first heaven
2) Acts like missiles for Jinns who want to transcend the unforbidden territory
3) Only for directions as during the ancient times, stars were means of travelling during the night especially.
Other than that its haram in Islam in believing Horoscopes, because no one knows the unseen but Allaah, its an attribute of Allaah Glorified be him.
Harm and Benefit, is only in the Hands of Allaah.
Surah Jinn is another Surah, where Allaah talks about soothsayers and the hadith relatively explains it all.
Its Shaytan, who whispers in the human heart, to legalize things which Allaah is made it illegal
Allaah knows the best.
horoscopes..fall along the lines of 'predictions' of what your fortune etc. is.
the work of nujoomi - as you will find in the story of bani-israel...in islam, is not conisidered right. let me find correct hadith to back this up. :)
Thank you all.. Actually if I can divulge a little more info. There is someone who I would greatly wish to be married to and he as yet is not willing to marry but I know he really cares for me and gets on with me.. he's scared of marriage.. I am so desperate to marry him (Parents are persistently on my case to marry a guy from back home) and I checked a horoscope match whcih said that we were not compatible.. It disappointed me and I do pray everyday to ALLAH ji to help me through this and to get me out of this misery.. I have faith in ALLAH ji but I was wondering if I should stop reading these horoscopes.. and apart from istikhara is there any dua I can do.. I realise that there is always a chance that the guy I wish to marry may cause me sadness if I get him so therefore I try not to pray to ALLAH ji to marry him "subconsciously" I must do but I fo pray for ALLAH ji to choose someone who will make me happy...
I am 26.. My parents are desperate to have me married and soemtimes the route they take is very painful to get me to submit to what they say.. and that is no understatement.. Thank you for your advice
Jazakallah
Its not allowed in Islam to force someone into marriage, and especially for a girl. Till the consent of the girl, parents are not allowed to marry her. But they are conditions applied that doesnt mean you can marry a non-muslim.
Maybe you can look at other ways to measure compatibility such as his commitment to religion, likes and dislikes, habits & hobbies etc and match it to your preferences on those, insha-Allah you wont go wrong! Oh ya, and looks as well..