Honeymoon in the Northern Areas in January

A friend of mine is getting married in the mid of January next year (2011), while we were discussing about his wedding plans he said that he and his wife would like to visit the Northern Areas in January and see the snowfall firsthand!!! :wink:

I have never been there in January, and neither has my friend but both of us being from Karachi think that it would be perhaps very difficult to visit the Northern Areas in the winter season. Specially accessing the various locations in the hilly areas.

While we discussed the topic with some additional people none could answer from personal experience so I thought of seeking help from the Gupshup folks as to the possibility of enjoying a winter in the Northern Areas particularly in January, Also kindly elaborate on the various sites/ areas one can visit during such season.

Many thanks

Re: Honeymoon in the Northern Areas in January

*I went there in April this year ... and most of the areas were still inaccessible cuz of landsliding and snowfall ....
So my guess is that it will be almost impossible to reach Naran/Kaghan in January

What part of Northern Areas does your friend want to visit? Then I might be able to give you a fair idea about going there in Winter season.

Naran/Kaghan are probably still a bit difficult to reach. But you could still go to the Galiat (Nathiagalli and surroundings) as well as to Bhurban. That's not as awesome as the areas further to the north, but much easier in terms of access and also from a security point of view.

@ Sufi_Bhai: Frankly neither my friend nor I have any idea about the place that he wants to visit, he basically is interested in exploring whether it would be possible to visit these areas in January, Any areas you suggest would be largely welcomed :)

@Umer: Nathiagali and Bhurban would do fine as well, and its good to know that they are easier in terms of access and security. Many thanks Umer, could you also expand on the "Surroundings of Nathiagali", what does that usually include??

Thanks

Here you go:

Yup all the Galiyat are worth exploring and have easy access all winters long. Roads might get close occasionally but they are fast to open them again. In summer these places are so much crowded that you don't enjoy at all. Sometimes there is huge rush of people that you can't even walk on the roads in evening (like Mall road in Murree or the small bazaar in Nathiagali) but its much better in winter season.

The Kaghan valley would be very difficult because it snows there heavily blocking the roads and the whole area. A local in Naran told me that most people in Naran move to lower areas in winters because of extreme weather.

The Northern Areas of Pakistan (Gilgit-Baltistan) are the safest place to visit and there is no security threat there. I have been to Gilgit & Hunza valleys last year without any problems and planning to visit Skardu valley this year :)

The Northern Areas of Pakistan have much to offer to tourists in all the seasons but it does get very extreme in winters so if you think your friend can handle that, they can visit those areas especially Hunza valley. Life in these areas somehow manages to roll on all year long. There is daily flight from Rawalpindi to both Gilgit & Skardu which provides excellent view of mighty mountain ranges, river indus/gilgit, valleys and more. However, the flight also depends on the weather and sometimes it gets delay for several days causing you to stuck there. You need to be very adventurous type of person to visit those areas in extreme weather.

Now its upto your friend to decide what place he would want to visit :) I think the Galiyat would be the best option if they are first time traveling to upper areas of PK.

@Umer: Thanks a bunch Umer, you have been very very helpful, may God bless you....

@Sufi_Bhai: I think my friend should stick to the Galiyat as it would be his first time travelling to the upper areas of Pakistan. And thank you for the guidance Sufi_Bhai, you are a life saver!!! :)

Also I was wondering if you folks could guide me regarding the average cost of moderately priced 3/4 star hotels on a per-night basis.

January is off-peak season for traveling in north of Pakistan, forget about rating in galiyat, but you should be able to get a decent hotel i guess upto 1500-2500 per night

if your friend is looking for some luxury, try pc bhurban, check their rates on their website

y dont u suggest ur friend to go to Gorakh Hill Station in Dadu.

I dont think its safe .. and no 1 is still sure about the hotels arrangement there

i think they may take some weapon........... if there is some security issues.

not suitable for families, specially a newly wed couple, until and unless they have some links there and a guide should go with them, along with weapons + there is no real "hotel" only one hut is there but people say its always closed, you have to camp + no electricity.

though i've never been there, its all what i heard about the place

I have just heard of this new hotel by the name of Move n Pick in Murree, any of you guys know how much does it usually cost to stay a night in it>?>>??

Can anyone just update on a hotel with central heating in murree together with its rates!!!! Thanks in advance :)