Home schooling....pros and cons?

Re: Home schooling…pros and cons?

Peace Sister Peppermint

My wife had been thinking about schooling options ever since our eldest was born. She wants the best for our children (as all parents do), but being a bit of a non-conformist she decided to learn as much about learning as she could to actively make an informed decision, much like what you doing now. She had come across various people speaking about home education, people who she admires and respects and has appointed as guides for her life … she is also very good at listening and she forms opinions with her heart after listening and debating issues in her own mind first.

School for my wife was a bitter experience and she loved to stay at home - I was a very different kind of child in school - I was the typical goody goody two shoes. I had not considered home education, but the rebel in me appealed to the idea and I had some functional knowledge about it beforehand … but I resigned it to be the sort of thing that “hippies” do … I did find in school that those who had varied upbringings to my own could offer a lot more knowledge and richness in to the classroom and I secretly envied them, but I befriended them too.

So driven by the desire of my wife to protect her children from all grief from other children and strange adults and with her empowerment of notable people all supporting the idea she approached me and asked me about it. It took me about 2 minutes to decide and I said … “okay, let’s do it” … but she wanted it to be me … I however stressed that most of it would have to be her and that put her off slightly, but she has been doing great and it has been over 7 years now …

The biggest drawback is the social life of the parents … there are no drawbacks that I can see for the children. There are three types of people in this world, some are dabblers, some are hackers and some are masters … home education is not for dabblers or hackers - it needs to be done full on - and the level of commitment may impinge on the social life of the main home educator and the children will drive you crazy, but you have to behave constantly in teacher mode …

Our main incentive for home education is to raise human souls with a desire to learn and a reverence and compassion for knowledge and most importantly to be able to use that knowledge to inculcate noble character in themselves. These are alien concepts for the schooling system of today, which concentrates on results and examination.

Education is everything that is left behind after you have forgotten everything you learnt in school …

That means if you learnt anything of any value in school it would have become part of your character and person and although you don’t remember how you know something, you do … because it is a part of you. This in the fast paced schooling environment is not achieved and much of the material crammed for exams is soon forgotten and no change in attitude or behaviour nor improvement of moral substance results … these for me are the real results that we need in our children … to be successful - that comes from Allah (SWT) … no amount of education will give us more money - rather the pattern is that the grander the education the more it costs.

Which comes to another key benefit … home education will cost more than conventional state schooling in the UK, but for the material that is covered, which may only be available in bespoke schools - you can shape your syllabus to be equaling that of the elite with may be about 1/8th of the cost.

More to come inshaAllah … comments and more questions are welcome

Some benefits of home schooling …

Thinking about how to learn and how to teach makes an adult operate at a higher cognitive level. Many issues and matters can be resolved by a “well trained mind” - you become not only a teacher but a psychologist for your little loved one. It makes you better at dealing with others and better at using intellect to overcome various life problems.

We see the miracle of learning in our children first hand … Often kids come back from school and we often see their development as being the result of school … Rather by not sending them to school we see the kids make similar “human” breakthroughs - by the questions they ask and the behaviours they express and in the things they say … it makes us marvel at that spark of inspiration that was a godsend to them … We realise that they are their own individuals who “can create their own thoughts” … they are not the product of learning material - but they are more - they are alive and they have their own identities … and this makes us draw closer to our Creator.

Schools limit us too … schooling parents really can only go on holidays when kids are on holidays … and ticket prices soar high for obvious reason … My family and I have been enjoying cheaper holidays and if you go to tourist areas they will be quieter and more welcoming to you and family out of season. The drawback is if going to see family in Pakistan most the youngsters are studying in those times as well, but not a major off point, as you still have evenings and weekends.

… more to come, inshaAllah …

Why would I recommend Home Ed to others?

That is a leading question … The real question is - “Would I recommend HS to others?” … :nahi:

Rather I would look for similar minded people, with similar value structures and then challenge those people to take on HS for their kids after they realise it is the best option and ready to commit … if they are going to be half-hearted or want to do it out of being fashionable then I would not dare to subject their kids to them any longer than they are … and insist they go to school. Wanting the best for your children is not always in sync with knowing what is best for your children. Often weakness in might will render perfectly aligned parents as far as the principle of Home Education is concerned, but may not have the gusto and get up and go for the long haul … I would not advise them to do it.

… Umm okay … may be there is a small part of me that would want to sell HS purely because it makes it fun to socialise with others who are aligned … but a bit of reverse psychology does not go amiss. People naturally choose the easy route or the conformist route … it takes more to step outside your comfort zone - but it pays you in a way that money cannot …

I haven’t put them in yet so don’t know.

Posted it from the phone so my answers are underneath your questions. I tried to put my answer in bold and the page just doesn’t load up.

MashaAllah Psyah and Hareem! Both of you are wonderful parents!
May Allah bless you and your children with tons of happiness and success throughout their lives Ameen…

School wasnt a good experience for me either…we have to limit our thoughts ideas and wont be able to think besides school works and homeworks and test assessments etc…i used to be always occupied with schoolwork for more than hour or two enen after spending more than 6hrs at school…

I wanted some freedom from school…and ofcourse in class setup its more like a race than competition…who will take first position thos time…why you took 3rd position?.. why took A grade you have to work hard from now on to take A+…I dont want my son to become a good tudent I would be fine if he takes B grade…
I just want him to ENJOY learning…and want him to learn whatever he wants without any set boundaries…

Other thing is raiaing good.human beings.is.not a teachers.job…and I.dont think keeping children silent in classroom will make them a wonderful polite and well mannered human being…IMO
I know many people will not agree to me…
Plus a teacher has to handle more than say 15 minds at a time…and not all children are same…she has to ask them to think or learn whatever she wants to teach them…whether a student is interested or not…I dont want my kid to limit his thoughts n process of learning…

These were some of the reasons I that I became interested in HSing…

So my goal is same like your(almost)…to educate him by learning and not by getting higher grades…

What do you guys mean by a teacher has to to teach

• in whatever she wants?
  • or things they are not interested. Please give some examples?
  • I am also interested in learning how a teacher is limiting a child’s thought process or the process of learning?

Thanks!

Psyah…this is the point I have noticed too…children can get social other than going to schools…where they spend most of the time studying…but its hard for the parents to be social with other parents…this could be the most valid drawback I can see if parents are completely determined and ambitious to HS…

Besides that…benefits you have posted are just amazing!!! I want my kid to grow like this!

And that is such a beautiful.answer to my question…in your last post(i cant copy through fone)…i was totally discouraged by other parents…yes their kids go to school maybe thats why…
It is very difficult.to.find people with same thought like yours…

Please add more…thankyou so much for helping us out and sharing your thoughts and experiences…

Some questions:
What hurdles you faced when you started and from.what age have you and Hareem started HS your kids?and how.did it all.go(in first year of.HSing)?

Its ok Moodie Foodie! Same is happening with me as I am using phone…even replying with quote seems difficult for me to.handle through phone :frowning: (other than the spelling/grammar mistakes urghhh)

I can imagine how hard it was for you…teaching two.children at the same time :frowning: does.seem so difficult to handle little kids…
But mashaAllah they are doing good at school.and know.so much already…
Do.you think.if things were a bit easier you might have continued teaching them(interms of learning) at home?

Yes…children do.need some.space and.independence…you are doing great! Such a hardworking mom! I wonder if I would be able to.educate my son with same dedication.n.concerns as you have!

Please do.add if there were some good points as well as drawbacks you noticed…:slight_smile:

Peace Sister Peppermint

Thank you for the kind words …

There are more benefits … Home Education is a completely open platform for discovering the world. In a classroom we may be restricted to learn from a set of books, but at home the kids will ask to know more about certain things and we seek them out together. We are trying to get them to learn directly from expert material. We want to give them the skills to to be able to hunt down the experts, invite themselves for a meeting and discuss matters with the experts, say in museums if they wanted to learn about natural history, for example. When learning about nature, trees, and leaves we are able to turn going out to the park a learning experience and that teaches the children at a young age to merge fun activities with reflecting on the world around them …

Plato said " Do no train your children to learn by force or harshness, but direct them to it by what amuses their minds so that you may be better able to gauge with accuracy the particular bent of the genius of each"

He said each child has genius - it is the task of the mentor/teacher/parent to work out how best to find it in them and extract it …

Studies have shown that children who have a good relationship with their mothers tend to be better communicators with all people. You will see that to be the case … schooled children are less likely to enjoy the company of adults … and consider it fun time - it reminds them too much of their formal restricted environment. Our kids will talk to children and adults freely, they will prefer to be with children, but the barrier you expect is simply not there.

In home schooling you can make the environment as you want it … Our kids do not have open TV - we do not have TV … Just the internet and a DVD player. We do not watch adverts and anything that is seen is controlled. As a result our kids do not know who the famous people are of today … My son combed his hair and I said flippantly that he looks like Justin Bieber and he paused and then asked me … “Who is Justin Beaver?” I was in hysterics … however, if you show them a painting they can tell you if it was Van Gogh or Dali who painted it … purely from the style of the painting.

Home schooling…pros and cons?

Am neither for nor against home schooling. I have friends who are doing it successfully and friends for whom it did not work.
I would just like to add that Psyah Bhai, it is extremely unfair of you to imply that children that go to traditional/public schools are not as intelligent or worldly as their home schooled counterparts. My 9 yr old can spout off facts and a literal biography of Galileo so fast it would make your head spin. The same for Martin Luther King Jr, Einstein & Picasso. And he can tell you exactly who Justin Bieber is :chai:

It’s because I’ve fostered the love of learning in him and my kids have been blessed with AMAZING teachers and educators in the public school system.

Peppermint, I don’t know where you live, but on the US there are more options now then ever for schooling. Charter schools, magnet schools, Montessori etc. I’m sorry you had a bad experience with your schooling but there are an equal number of us who had positive experiences.

If you do end up homeschooling,I do recommend you join a co-op, to give you and your kids the socialization and interaction they could be missing out on

IMO that kind of competition and race comes from parents at home who say…why you got B and not A? Never heard a teacher saying that…ever.

Yeah…me too.
Every teacher that I have ever met has been specifically trained in how NOT to limit a child’s thinking; how to help him/her explore.
It baffles my mind how so many parents can believe that, without any training whatsoever, they can do a much better job at educating their children than someone that has spent several years mastering the skill.

Oh well.

psyah makes it sound like going to school means you drop the kids off and pick them up when they turn 18. :smack: dude, you can do everything you are saying and more even with a happy school-going child, there are enough hours in a day, and weekends.

traditionally home schooling has been considered a good thing only in the days when the aristocracy home-schooled their kids while the commoners sent them to school. the women were educated and not allowed to work outside the home. ample help was available around the clock for household chores. it is a different world today. home schooling makes sense only under certain circumstances - your kid has special needs, or a medical condition, or there are no good schools for miles.

Sister khattichic

I have not said that people who go to school are not intelligent - I am simply not crediting the school for that intelligence … Rather my stance behind home education is far more raw nuts and bolts than that … it is about critically thinking about the world we live in today - and whether these norms are right … it questions our lives and our choices as parents - it is far more of a deeper issue than schooled children vs home schooled children … it is about breaking out of the Matrix … for the parents moreso than the children.

The problem however is when we treat children as equal based on age, knowing that some are developing mentally earlier and others later - the meaning of A and B or anything else is nought. Yet the pigeon-holing predestines the future of some of those later developers and it also puts reigns on those who want more …

My sister is now a qualified teacher - I think it is a noble profession … teachers are on the whole challenged about time management, course and syllabus delivery, indoctrination of certain ideas, behaviour and results. The teachers are good the system they must teach in restricts them - ask any teacher if they had full power how they would change what they are doing and they will list a hundred items … One teacher told my wife that has she read the book “A Well Trained Mind” earlier she herself would have taught her children at home. Again this is not to say teaching in schools is bad … but some people even teachers do not necessarily think it is best … it keeps them employed …

Home schooling is less about what you do for the kids and more about what you save your kids from … otherwise I agree with you … it’s no different to giving extra academic support at home.

Traditional schooling does not mean that parents should disengage and let the system do it’s job.
Parents that remain involved will/should know if and when their child is in need of either additional assistance or if they need to be challenged more than they are in the class room.
I have yet to see any child pigeon-holed unless the parents are clueless.

Again…it’s not about sending your kids to school and expecting not to be engaged at home.
Parents need to consult with the teachers and make that extra effort when the child is in their company.
Conferences with the teachers should be used to determine gaps and parents should be taking the information provided to form an intelligent decision about next steps. This plan/strategy should be shared with the educator and both parties should work towards common goals.

I’m hesitant to say this but those teachers that believe the system does nothing more than “keeps them employed” really should find a more satisfying career. Thankfully I haven’t met any such character in my own or my child’s academic career so far.