Home made naan

Thanks ladies. We will try this out over the weekend

Re: Home made naan

Why is everyone making fun of this guy - my mum makes naan without yeast! She uses self-raising flour, salt and a bit of oil mixed together with warm water. I tried it once but only problem was I put the atta in the fridge when I should have left it in a warm place so it would rise. But still the naans came out nice… just didn’t rise that well lol

having a tandoori oven also helps!

Self rising flour has baking soda which would be alternative of yeast. In short, you need something that will help the dough to rise.

But it’s not yeast is it? So yes you can make without yeast :slight_smile:

You must use different sized cups for flour and milk. If they are of same size, then its only 17% hydration. Am pretty sure we need atleast 25% hydration for desi breads. Or maybe you meant 3/4 cup milk?

The recipe I used asked for almost 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 cup water. I felt that was making the dough too sticky so I reduced it to 1/2 cup milk. If i feel the dough is dry, I just sprinkle couple tbsps of water. But the 1/2 cup works very well for me. I feel you can always add more liquid if needed but you can’t take it out once it is in the flour.

Naan

Keema naan

That is what we do as well! First on a hot tava until it is bubbly then finish it off in the oven (broil option not bake)

Over night 12 of them please. I am PMing my address.

I usually make mine just on the tawa… and instead of fresh milk, i use powdered milk :k:

3/4 cup worked well for me. But instead of naan, slapped some prego traditional sauce and mozarella cheese on it and baked it on a pizza stone. Kids loved it!

Okay, here is my attempt. My oven wasn’t the best. My first naan burnt to a crisp so it took me more than one go. I am nor at expert level yet, you guys are way ahead. :smiley:

*Not included is my burnt one. :smiley:

^Not bad :smiley:

They look fabulous 09. :smiley:

Did I have a name change :emmy:

Lol sorry I didn’t read the name… I wasn’t expecting you to make naans :smiley:

^Aur main aap ko naan-bai lugtaa hoon?

I am a man with unexpected talents. :smokin:

Shukar hai, roti nahi bana’ee - naan can be not-round and you can still get away with it :smiley:

You are so sughar! Ab jaldi tumhaaray haat peelay karnay ka waqt agayay.

You haven’t seen my rotis, they’re misshapen blobs. I have to make food otherwise money goes down the drain eating junk food :hehe: