wot do u guyz think of shahid afridi?? is he the same as he used to be when he started his cricket career. he broke a record by getting a century off 37 balls in nairobi,kenya.i still think that he plays well but he loses his consistency a lot of the times.some of the sixers that he hits are just AMAZING though.his main aim is to hit the ball preferably everytime and preferably out of the stadium. any way he is my favourite cricket player. who is yours and y?
Welcome to Gupshup.
Afridi is a first class player who is a must if Pakistan wants to win the World Cup in South Africa, forget his batting, he is an amazing bowler, people still consider him as a part time bowler and specialist batsman but everyone should remember that he came into the side as full time leg spinning bowler, he had no intentions to become a batsman.
All great young players are screwups when they are young, just take Wasim for example, he had so many no balls but took wickets at the same time.
Everyone told Wasim to bowl sensibily in 92 world cup and he bowled terribly but then imran told him later on in the tournament to bowl his usual and then he started taking wickets and we all know what happend next.
Same logic should be used for Afridi let him bat anyway he wants wothout putting him any pressure and then he will become the next Viv Richards.
Originally posted by UMAIR316:
Same logic should be used for Afridi let him bat anyway he wants wothout putting him any pressure and then he will become the next Viv Richards.
Umair I know you like to be bit flamboyant with your postings but comparing Afridi with Viv Richards must rank with one of the biggest jokes in the history of cricket. He will never be a Viv Richard. One is a legand and an all time great, the other tulley baaz who wouldnt be in the team if it wasnt for his bowling and Pakistan requiring an extra bowler to cover the regular bowlers. Afridi will never come anywhere close to Richards.
afridi is still a young player....
how can u possibly say that Afridi will never come close to Viv Richards????
he might just learn to hold himself cool....
u never can say....
Yeh, good one Umair. Its good to be positive, but that doesn't mean one should loose their touch with reality! Afridi is a 3rd Class pinch-hitter who's only lucky to be in the team.
Players like him should be kicked out of the team until they can learn to be either a good batsman/bowler/all-rounder.
Originally posted by armughal:
afridi is still a young player....
how can u possibly say that **Afridi will never come close to Viv Richards????
he might just learn to hold himself cool....
u never can say....**
He is been playing for Pakistan now for around 6 years and he cant even hold his place in the test team. Secondly look at his test record, nothing to shout about. To be counted against the greats you have to be something special. Ask yourself a question, would you drop Saeed Anwar, Inzamam or Yousef Youhanna in order to play Afridi. The answer is obviously no.
Yes he is currently no where close to being like Viv Richrads but you never know, was Richards like the dynamic batsman he was when he started playing cricket, no players starts of as great and stays like that for his rest of the career and becomes great.
Every young batsman wants to step on front foot and hit the ball out of the ground, the only difference between Afridi and Richards was that he stayed on for 10 more overs than Afrdi, they both have the same logic, specially against fast bowlers.
Afrdi is only 1/100th of richards but their style is very similiar and if he plays the cricket like he usually does he may be like Richrads someday.
You have no right to say that he will never accomplish that just because you hate him.
There goes my final HAT - HAT OFF to you Umair Bhai.
AK
**Yes he is currently no where close to being like Viv Richrads but you never know, was Richards like the dynamic batsman he was when he started playing cricket, no players starts of as great and stays like that for his rest of the career and becomes great.
Every young batsman wants to step on front foot and hit the ball out of the ground, the only difference between Afridi and Richards was that he stayed on for 10 more overs than Afrdi, they both have the same logic, specially against fast bowlers.
Afrdi is only 1/100th of richards but their style is very similiar and if he plays the cricket like he usually does he may be like Richrads someday.
You have no right to say that he will never accomplish that just because you hate him.
You are contradicting yourself and yes Richards was a great player from the moment he stepped on to the cricket ground and went on to become a legend.
Another thing, dont go around assuming things like I hate him. Keep your assumptions to yourself and if possible grow up and have a mature disucssion for once. You need a dose of reality before making such wild assumptions.
Originally posted by Asif_k:
**There goes my final HAT - HAT OFF to you Umair Bhai.
That means you are leaving from Gupshup than yes thank you.
Ehsan , I'm not trying to dis Viv Richards because he is my favirote batsman of all time and I just compared him and Afridi's batting style which is quite similiar, the only difference between them is the level of consistency.
Eventhough I wasn't alive in his early part of the career but he was very similiar to Afridi, he scored a century then he would have 10s and 20s and 30s very much like Afridi, then later on his career he became a great legend.
I'm not a big fan of stats but I wanted to bring you attention to this.
Viv started out like 13, 15, 5, 5, 74, 119, 97, 0, 20, 9, 28, 9, 42, 128.
Those are his innings for his first couple years in one day and they are very similiar to Afridi's.
Don't get me wrong, currently Afridi is very behind from Richard's hay days, but wanted to show you most great batsmans are very inconsistent and unpredictable before they become legends.
[This message has been edited by UMAIR316 (edited July 02, 2002).]
** That means you are leaving from Gupshup than yes thank you.
Ehsan , I'm not trying to dis Viv Richards because he is my favirote batsman of all time and I just compared him and Afridi's batting style which is quite similiar, the only difference between them is the level of consistency.
Eventhough I wasn't alive in his early part of the career but he was very similiar to Afridi, he scored a century then he would have 10s and 20s and 30s very much like Afridi, then later on his career he became a great legend.
I'm not a big fan of stats but I wanted to bring you attention to this.
Viv started out like 13, 15, 5, 5, 74, 119, 97, 0, 20, 9, 28, 9, 42, 128.
Those are his innings for his first couple years in one day and they are very similiar to Afridi's.
Don't get me wrong, currently Afridi is very behind from Richard's hay days, but wanted to show you most great batsmans are very inconsistent and unpredictable before they become legends.
Ha Ha Ha...
Yes Afridi is comparable to Richard when Richard was 5 yr old kid.
whats next my great cricket analyst.... May be Mohammad Sami is Denis Lillee.
or Imran Nazir is Don Bradman.
[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited July 02, 2002).]
I said the level of consistency for both players in their first couple innings.
Richards is better alltime currently, afridi has long way to go in his career and he can change very much if he plays sensibly and he has the talent to do so.
[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited July 02, 2002).]
Originally posted by ehsan:
** You are contradicting yourself and yes Richards was a great player from the moment he stepped on to the cricket ground and went on to become a legend.
Very True - King started his career against India and in his 2nd or 3rd test scored a massive 192 not out.
Umair - I am not going anywhere from GUPSHUP, It's just that I am out of Hats now.
AK
afridi is only in the team because of pawwa.
but now he's beginning to bowl well too.
In kitabon main jee nahin lagta
Hum ko sajni ki yaad ayee hai
look guys. we should all have some fun discussing this topic.that was the point of me starting it. agar larrai kurni hai tho phir faida kya hoa? everyone has the right to put forward their own opinion okay!ab sub umeir ka peecha chor do na. he just expressed his opinion
well im not very fond of shahid bhai infact i kinda hate him...my fav player is shoaib akhter 4all the reasons in da world u can imagine
luv is not blind-it sees more and not less,but coz it sees more its willing 2 see less!!!!
Originally posted by dewana tera:
*afridi is only in the team because of pawwa. *
What is 'Pawwa' ??
AK
i think dewana tera meant POWER. PAWWA=POWER.
Originally posted by Asif_k:
** What is 'Pawwa' ??
PAWWA=CLOUT,CONTACTS