Hiring a personal trainer

I have decided to invest in a personal trainer, rather than spend the extra money on buying a new wardrobe. Sure it may seem silly but its the only way I will be motivated to exercise on a daily basis, as nobody in my home works out (none of them need it as I do). So, what should one look for when hiring a personal trainer? I know that some of you are personal trainers yourself. Please let me know where I can find a good one, and what qualifications to look for. Its best to have a woman for a gal like me, correct? Or does gender not really matter?

Ive already started working on the healthy diet part, now its time to kick in with regular, not spontaneous session, exercise.

I am not a pers. t :D but it might be easier to join some sort of health club
Make appointments with friends for example on a daily basis, to ho there. If u go with severel people it s more fun and motivating.
My sister does the same thing and she lost 5 kg in 2/3 months.
(Although she wasnt fat at all )

Besides this its also much cheaper :)

^ Well, if she can afford that why not, and If money does not matter. Hire one. You can contact any health club for that I think they can guide you and maybe some of their members want to be hired as your personal trainer. And I think gender does not matter, it depends on your personal preference.

But I think it is better to go a health club coz you get motivated by looking at other people working out. But in the ends its upto you. :)

Don’t know much about Personal Trainers but I would go for a class rather than a trainer if I need to be motivated. Join the YMCA, they have a lot of girls only aerobic classes that at least makes you go to the gym & while you are there you can do a lot more.

Desi families are such a let down when it comes to a balanced diet or exercise. My mother & Bhabhi (in charge of the kitchen) feed me such rich food that even if exercise for 3 hours a day, the fat will still be there. :rolleyes:

Just a question. DO they force you to it? or you have no will power?:slight_smile:

Na-shukra kaheen ka! :nook:

My house is a dictatorship of one of its kind, where freedom loving people like yours truly are emotionally forced to eat what I would rather avoid. :p

Mazeed na-shukri. :nook: :nook:

ps. Sorry Munni :slight_smile:

are u talking about a few boties sitting in an island of masala in the ocean of oil type of stuff?

u have my dili hamdardi. a good way to handle this is to avoid fat at lunch and breakfast, and at dinner time #1 eat early, #2 eat less, and #3 mix the offerings better i.e. more rice, less salan, or just get the meat and eat with naan. or all of a sudden get interested in daala nd sabzia nd start asking them to make some of that, hopefully they wont make them swim in oil as well.

take a stand mah man..go on bhook hartaal, until the variety is better :slight_smile:

Getting a personal trainer is fine. But what one needs is proper motivation. I am not sure about the suburban folks, but in NYC it is important to go to gyms where there is a large quantity of super models.Keeps on fit as a fiddle. And you don't even have follow Fraudz' wacky regimen.

It's not so much oil or fat based food but the amount that is considered 'healthy' & is forced down your throat by tactics such as emotional blackmail. Desi Moms are as notorious as the Italian mothers. Even though I object, protest & what not that I can't/shouldn't eat so much, it's usually taken as either I don't like the food or the suspision that I have eaten outside (another taboo in our house) or that I am bemar. sigh

Bhabhi thinks I am the Leftover eater who needs to be fed all the weeks worth of food right before it goes bad. The dialogue is: "Kha lo bhai, haftay say fridge maiN para hay, kharab ho jayay ga, gunnah hota hay khana phainkna" :o

ps: Munni, sorry to ruin your thread :-P

dude your custom title should be changed to "the human garbage can" based on what you told me regarding your dilemma.

I would hire a personal trainer only if I am training for some specific task such shooting for a gold medal in some triathalon. Such a task would require professional help towards developing precise workout routines for toning up muscles and cardio.

Now, if one just wants to stay in shape, then motivation has to come from within. Personal trainer maybe able to get your ass up and pumping iron, but that’s a temporary fix. When I reach the crux of any workout, and out of gas, I just inspire myself with a single thought, “this cannot be f’cking harder than going up on Everest” I dunno, things just fall back in place all of a sudden :hehe:

Well the thing is that I have had gym membership which I am paying $54/month for at this all womens gym and I never go. Its been 11 months. haw hai.

Therefore I need someone to essentially force me to do it and I figure since I am not willing to, as I dont have a partner to work out with( yes I do rely on others at times) then a personal trainer is the next best thing. Even if its for a jumpstart for a month or two.

I have asked the few friends I have to workout with me and they all say yes but then I never hear from them again.

I used to workout 2 hours a day, at a certain period in my life, but the motivating factor was $$.

Thanks for suggestions. The personal trainers at my gym...are young girls, that are mostly not very fit themselves.

A personal trainer PMed me here and has given me some good advice, which I plan to use. Thanks all!

Any other contributions will be appreciated.

P.S. No probs ahmadjee and others, for going off-topic. Hota hai. smile

Munni

Before you get a trainer, try going to the gym regularly for 2 weeks, maybe you will make a workout buddy. Some clubs actually connect ppl, if you are looking for a workout partner and you can only work out mon-wed-fri at 7 p.m. they will see if there is someone else that matches that who is alsolooking for a workout partner.

what Pers Trainer can do for you is to give you a jump start and to build some discipline, etc etc. You may need one initially and then when you are in the full swing you can be independent. Then you may need a specialized trainer later as outlaw said, either if you have some specific goals that you have a hard time meeting or have to prepare for something specific like a tourney or something.