Hindus who opted to stay back in Pakistan

** After partition and did not migrate to India.

I know there are reasons, both based on ground facts and emotions. Many did not find India a viable option. Many thought not to leave graves of their forefathers.

Looking back, do yo think that these Hindus made a mistake of staying back in Pakistan for whatever reason. True there might have been reasons but what might have prompted these people to stay back. If these people had made the sacrifice of taking the journey to India, do you think their children s’ lives would have been better.

Re: Hindus who opted to stay back in Pakistan

Hindus got graves of their forefathers in Pakistan. Thats a news and we can have a separate discussion on that.

I won't deny that Hindu minorities face persecution in Pakistan. They can't be PMs / Presidents in Pakistan. But I have never heard mainstream political parties in Pakistan asking Hindus to leave to India, because you belong there (which is the trauma of Indian Muslims after 7 decades).

When you ask for better life due to migration, not all migrants got paradise in new countries. Sindhi Hindus (mainly middle class) had to struggle a lot to get what they are today in India. same goes true for Muslims migrated to Pakistan.

The majority of Hindus who stayed back in Pakistan belong to lower castes, who did not have opportunity to migrate due to lack of resources. If they had migrated to India, they may or may not have got opportunity to prosper.

I think its a tough question and we may not be the right people to answer this. We do see on one side there are Hindu learned and contributing members going as big as being appointed the supreme court judge as well as other professions such as medical etc. On the other side yes the rural population in particular face a lot of trouble. But if you look closely its not because their religion, its just the crushing fuedal system that being a poor person leaves you no room to breathe. In Sindh I believe there are some fuedal lords who are hindus and they are doing as good as others.
Again, honestly many of us may not have the right insight so our opinion may not be accurate.

When we were little, we were at our uncle's. Some one told us headmaster of the village schools came to visit my uncle, and he is hindu.
OMG we ran to guest area, behind curtains we peeked in. There was a very reasonable, normal looking man sitting there.
All excitement went away.

Monk, when you were little, it was pre-partition era.. this topic doesnt apply in that scenario :P

but thats my hindu memory from pakistan.

And I thought that's your Muslim memory of a Hindu in Pakistan.

I type corrected. Thank you.

PS Did he have rendu kombu or moonu?

Aap ko bali charha daingai, ya khud ko bali charha daingai. jaisi thi maang waisai mohabbat ki suli pai latka daingai!

point is: tazias ki wajeh sai humain yeh Hindus pasand nahin ai thai. aur kisi aur reason ki wajeh sai Hindus Pakistan mai Sickhon sai agai nahin hain!

Karachi kai Sickhon ko daikh lain. mard nikal kai ai aur May mai 2007 ya 2008 mai firing ki jaisai khanjar sai waar kartai hain. result wahan sai indepedent media nashar hona shuru hogaya. poorai mulk mai bombings thora thori shuru ho gain. Sari Sickhon wali chaal hai. Hinduun wali nahin. warna aap bali charh chukai hotai kisi aur site mai. gupshup hi ho na, to chup raho!:smack:

Aap apne maathe ki bali kyon chadha rahe ho?

Do you have Hindu friends in Pakistan?

Some views from (persumably) the horse’s mouth

https://www.quora.com/What-does-it-feel-like-to-be-a-Pakistani-Hindu

I liked the post by Agam. He was balanced in his views and I agree with 90% of the point he mentioned. The rest 10%, he himself covered in last sentence of his post.

Why for another day. Its a fact that overall Sindhi population is less represented in army and cricket (the areas he mentioned) in his post. So its not discrimination based on religion. It got different reasons.

I don’t think that Sindhi population would go for stupid questions towards any Hindu they meet ‘Are you from India’. Hindus don’t have ghettos in Pakistan. They live side by side with other population in rural and urban areas. There are certain towns with majority Hindu population (district Tharparkar having majority Hindu population). Living besides population you know since childhood, you would not ask question like 'Are you from India?". In fact, the situation is quite different in Tharparkar. Have a look:

Mithi: Where a Hindu fasts and a Muslim does not slaughter cows - Blogs - DAWN.COM

The reason why scores of Hindus and Muslims stayed back was because the two-nation theory is not fully properly explained. On the surface it looks like religion divided us, but in reality it doesn't. We have always been two different nations. Take Islam and Hinduism out of the subcontinent and you will still have TWO different nations...an Indus people/nation and Gangetic people/nation.

This explains why East Pakistan (Gangetic people) couldn't get along with the West (Indus people)...we are different people believe it or not. This is why if you ever met a Hindu from Pakistan, you'd find more similarities with him or her compared to a Muslim from India. I have personally found this to be true.

The Hindus in Pakistan stayed because this is there home...most Hindus in Pakistan live in Sindh. They had no other place to go as Sindh completely went to Pakistan in 1947. So they opted to stay. With Punjabis it was a different story...since the province got divided, the Muslims went West, and the Hindus/Sikh went East, but they were still Punjabis at the end of the day.

Pakistan for the most part today has very little population of actual Indian Muslims (those from Delhi and Hyderabad)...I think the estimates are around 13 million out of the total 200 million population today. That's little less than 5% of the entire population. The rest of the population have always lived here.

And this theory that there was a “large exodus of Hindus” from Pakistan is also a myth. The exodus did happen, but it was no different than the exodus of Muslims.

For 1931 and 1941, the figures are for West Pakistan in undivided India. For 1951 and 1961, the figures are for West Pakistan in undivided Pakistan. Data for 1971 could not be accessed. The 1998 Hindu population increases to 1.85% if SC population is added to the Hindu population. From a healthy 14% in 1941 – a figure some analysts say had reached 16% by 1947 – the Hindu population came down to just 1.3% in 1951. The decimation took five years not 50. After 1951, the Hindu population has hovered around the same 1.5-2% mark. It is this tiny population that has been subjected to hardships, conversions, and denial of human rights that Sarkar and others have written about. Most of the 16% Hindus who were present in Pakistan at the time of the partition either escaped to India or, most tragically, succumbed to the genocide that accompanied partition. In 1951, according to the Indian Census data, refugees from Pakistan constituted as much as 20% of the total population of Indian Punjab. To be sure, a significant decrease in the Hindu population had occurred even before the partition. In 1881, there were 9,252,295 Hindus in Punjab, or 43.8% of the population. By 1911, the Hindu population had come down to 8,773,621, or 36.3%. During the same period, the Muslim population had risen from 11,662,434 to 12,275,477 and the Christian population from 33,699 to 199,751. Indeed, this decrease in the Hindu population was what triggered the Shuddhi Movement, or what one calls today as Ghar Wapsi. Between 1909 and 1912, Ghar Wapsi was carried out on lakhs of Muslims and Christians; 100,000 Doms of Gurdaspur, 30,000 Megs of Sialkot, and 1052 Muslim Rajputs were re-converted and brought back to the Hindu fold.

Nothing, however, comes close to the drop in Hindu population in the aftermath of the partition. One may ask, does the vanishing of such a large human population have any parallel in modern history? The answer is yes, it does. On the Indian side.

The partition of Punjab was devastating to the nation’s psyche, and an unprecedented genocidal event. A million died, many millions were displaced. Exactly how Punjab was to be divided was a closely guarded secret. On August 17, 1947, having celebrated the Independence Day parades of the two baby nations, Mountbatten unlocked his safe and removed the boundary maps. He must have sensed a great tragedy was about to unfold. The irascible Churchill had once famously gloated of how, after the Great War, he divided the Middle East with blind swishes of his fountain pen. Now it transpired that Radcliffe had done the same. Of the 29 districts of Punjab, 16 went to Pakistan, 13 to India. Gurdaspur came India’s way and Lahore, the jewel in India’s crown, was now Pakistan’s. Mayhem ensued. Punjab bore the brunt of the mass exodus. By August 14, 1947, an estimated 2 million Hindus and Sikhs had moved already to West Punjab, and an equally large number, 2.1 million Muslims, to East Punjab. Between September 18 and October 29, facing unimaginable hardships, an estimated 8,49,000 Hindus and Sikhs crossed over to India in 24-foot convoys. An equal number of Muslims went the other way – the 1941 Census put the number of Muslims in East Punjab at 5 million. No one, least of all Jinnah and Nehru, expected such mass migration to take place. Indeed, even as late as August 19, Nehru said: “We would not like to encourage mass migration of people across the new borders for this will involve tremendous misery.” The largest migration in human history involved more than misery; it involved a holocaust. Jinnah, once he had got what he wanted, was so shocked to witness first-hand the mayhem that he is supposed to have said, “Oh my God, what have I done?” By 1950, almost 4.7 million Hindus and Sikhs, and 6.5 million Muslims had exchanged places. Table 2 shows the Muslim population of Indian Punjab over a period of 70 years.

Living most of my life in Punjab, I myself never came across a Hindu. One of my uncles told me of his Hindu class fellow (in Sialkot) and even that thought would fascinate me. The first time I came across Hindus was when I was doing my on-job training. The Hindus were from various parts of Sindh, good fellas who would have passed through the educational system in that province to reach where they were.

Hindu is not a gali!

And thus was coined a new term that reverberated throughout this forum and beyond.

Come on Beckham did it!

You are officially bestowed the title GS ka natkhat kanhaiyya for that bait and switch.