Hilarious: Javed Miandad on Pakistan Attack

It is an ominous sign that India is scaling 350 on the board and yet quite a few of their key batsmen are out of form: Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Yuvraj Singh, Mohammad Kaif have all not been amongst runs. To the largely two faced Indian batting of Virender Sehwag and Rahul Dravid have now been added the third dimension of Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

This boy won points on all counts: technique and temperament; daring and fitness. He withstood some sharp tongue-lashing from Pakistan bowlers and then unfolded a searing range of strokeplay.

It was audacious yet judicious; his willingness to hit was matched in equal by his desire to stay long at the crease.

And let’s not forget his keeping, which was equally brilliant: the leg-side catch; the near stumpings of Shoaib Malik and Yousuf Youhana; the low catch of Rana Naved-ul Hasan. India has unearthed a serious talent who would add balance and energy to the side.

In promoting Dhoni to number three, India seems keen to invest in future. **Pakistan, on the other hand, is still carrying on with its ‘life members’. It is now eighth match in row when they have failed to find an answer to Virender Sehwag. He’s smashing them at will, he could wristily flick the same delivery to midwicket fence which, if his mood takes over, he is steering through vacant third man.

Mohammad Sami, Naved and Abdul Razzaq are meat and drink to him; their threat to him is no bigger than that of a water-pistol. He’s roasting them over the coals; yet the bowlers are not even seen attempting something different. They come, pay their dues, and turn up at the appointed hour in the next match to do it all over again!**

Yet they are being persisted with. There is no attempt to confront Sehwag with some unknown element. Once he sets the tone and tenor of innings, on flat wickets, India brook no stopping.
It’s some wonder that Ganguly and rest haven’t feasted on the pop-gun attack yet. **The Indian captain was out to a straight ball, it shows when the time is bad even simple deliveries can claim your scalp. Ganguly should either take his chances from the word go or he should block and take singles till his confidence is restored. At the moment, nothing is happening.

In one-day matches in the sub-continent, in teams packed with batsmen and allrounders, any total is possible and any target is achievable. Only teams which have discipline and bowlers who could take wickets have a future.

Pakistan need incisive bowlers. At present, nobody seems capable. Danish Kaneria is a must for the next game. So is Shahid Nazir for Sami bowling to Sehwag is beginning to look like a free lunch.
The less said about Pakistan batting the better. Let’s look at the batsmen and the manner they got out: Shahid Afridi, Salman Butt, Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Hafeez. They wouldn’t be able to see their captain in the eye.**

Abdul Razzaq too would avoid his captain for the latter held him responsible for his run-out. From Razzaq’s point of view, he could have been unsure where the ball had gone and then Inzamam’s reputation as a poor runner is always a consideration for his partners. Still, it’s only basic cricket that you respond to non-striker’s call if the ball has gone behind the batting crease. Same with shots played to mid-on and mid-off. It is a striker’s call and non-striker must respond to it.

How Butt would be able to explain away his dismissal when another 30 runs could have had India panting. And what explanation Pakistan has for mugging their script when the scoring rate was 7.71 runs per over at the 35-over stage?

Not that Pakistan redeemed themselves in the field. Misfields, catches dropped, stumping missed – in conditions heavily loaded against bowlers, even half chances are god-send. If you miss them, there’s only one way to go.

Much as one is a supporter of Pakistan cricket, let’s not forget that Pakistan at best only squared up the Test series.

They could have lost in Mohali and Bangalore wouldn’t have happened if India were not seized by a feat of stupidity. Now in one-dayers, they have come apart at the seams. It’s time for a reality check.

Re: Hilarious: Javed Miandad on Pakistan Attack

^^ This was expected even before the Paki tour of Austrailia. So whats new then?

This is the weakest team Pakistan have ever sent out on a tour.

All jokes and pun aside , Pakistani fans including quite a few on GS were anticipating such
results,,,,, The comments you see and hear are just the 'wishfull' thinking and all in the days fun,,,,. :D

Boy! do I hate these Rediffs,,,,,

The Miandad I know can not write those words. He can't even put together a complete sentence let alone words like, 'searing', 'ominous', 'audacious', etc. This can't be my totla hero from Karachi. It has to be that menace Prem Paniker writing on his behalf after talking to Miandad over the phone for a couple of minutes.

The key word on this whole fabricated interview of Miandad is " on flat wickets"

Come on now, Sehwag is good but he is not unbeatable. Have you forgotten the dropped catches in 1st ODI? If you put him against the same bowlers (Sami and Rana) on a pitch which is halfway better than the concrete tracks India has, he will not only look human, he may even get humiliated.

Yep..Actually this is what usually happens. Hardly any of Desi cricketters write themselves.

Yep. Rashid Latif writes stuff in urdu whenever he is due for an article and his cousin translates it eloquently in English.

Believe it or not Javed is right. Woolmer needs to stop experimenting and set up a good team. Also Shoaib Malik, Salman Butt and Hafeez are not quality, consistent bastmen they are wanna bees that need to be played in county cricket only. Get some good specialist bastmen that can be consistent.

Unless you plan to ‘buy’ these consistent specialist batsmen from Australia and India… we only have what we can get from within Pakistan. Kidher say layein ‘consistent batsmen’?

Miandad ka bhi koi haal nahi hai waisay. I think Geo got him in for some half-time comedy show. When Kaneria was playing, Miandad will say every time “aray ye Arshad Khan ko kyon nahi khilatay?” Now Arshad is playing and beaten to pulp, he is saying “mujhay samajh nahi aata, ke ye Kaneria ko kyon nahi khilatay”.

I swear, Miandad is as goofy as many arm-chair critics you see here. Those who are sitting in the dressing room make real-time decisions, and we all, including Miandad, second guess them with the benefit of hind-sight.

If-we-knew-then-what-we-know-now…

Anyway, one thing is for certain… in the classic match of the coaches, Wright certainly has the better of Woolmer for now. Indians play according to a plan. They know specifically where to bowl to each Pakistani batsman. Whereas Pakistani bowlers appear largely clueless. In 2nd ODI, in the initial slog, only Rana sahab bowled with incisive LnL that was hard to score off. Sami seems to have lost his confidence and the team, as a whole, appeared to lack any plan to get rid of Sehwag. Even arm-chair followers of the game can see that Sehwag loves to play on the off-side with minimal foot work, and invariably lofts a chance every now and then while playing out side the off stump, and still Pakistan refused to attack with that line. I am sure Woolmer with his laptop and yellow binoculars should have figured it out much earlier.

Good news, ofcourse, is that so far in the ODI, we seem to have neutralized Tendulkar, Ganguly, Yuvraj and Kaif. My worry is, that if we get rid of Sehwag early in the next games, one of these remaining four will suddenly prove destructive. Dravid is consistent, but his strike rate is not that worrying. Law of averages is now working against Sehwag, and Dhoni has already played his lone memorable innings of his life. His quota is over, hopefully, just as Kamran Akmal’s is done with his century againt Australia. Baaqi Allah Allah karr bhaiyya.

I think we can get consistent bastmen if we search, everyone know by now that Malik, Hafeez and Butt are not consistent but the coach just doesn't seem to get it. They have been giving chance so many times in so many tournments that it is getting old.

I assume you will limit your search to within Pakistan. The selectors have routinely picked up top performers from our domestic cricket, and usually they disappoint greatly at international level. Search is on… :slight_smile:

Sounds more like wishful thinking.what if he’s just started???

Ofcourse its wishful thinking. What else can it be? Do you think I have some kind of crystal ball :p

I agree with amost everything you said except this one. In the manner which Dhoni played He is surely destined for bigger things.. I know he will not be as consistant As Sehwag or Dravid but he will be around. He has talent. It was great to see how straight his bat comes and the confidence he has.
He is not going to be one match wonder. !!!

By the are you our good old Faisal bhai or some impersonator

Yep..they all have Ghost writer. Probably Javed said someone verbally and he wrote the article. Remember if article didnt have Javed’s name then who will read it.

The way u asserted ur point I thought maybe u had one:p:D

I agree with Faisal on Woolmer VS Wright. I think our bowlers have a plan against Sehwag but the moment he hits the first boundary, everything goes down the drain.

...selectors have routinely picked up top performers from our domestic cricket, and usually they disappoint greatly at international level.

Maybe because the picked batsmen are always under pressure to perform so that they stay in the team or atleast selected for the next match. I thought PCB is now moving towards contract where the players would be offered long term contract. This should atleast take the batsmen (or bowlers) mind off whether or not he'll be kept in the team and focus on performing.

On the side note, if you step back and look at the overall performace of Pakistani team over the last few years, I think the team is performing a lot better now than before.

Just my 2 cents..