hiking and mountaineering in the northern areas...

ok here are some old memories…
on our way to khunjrab pass, we tried some front pointing on this glacier…

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/THE-TEAM.jpg

on our way to hunza, this was captured from inside the bus… i missed a really nice oppertunity, the view a minute before this pic was taken was absolutely out of this world, u can see some pointed small peaks on the top left, the pic doesnt do justice to the actual scenery at all.

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/SCENERY1.jpg

this was another beautiful place on our way to hunza… taken from inside the buss… this shows an old wreck and remains of a village (bottomish right of the centre of the pic) taht was destroyed by a land slide..

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/SCENERY2.jpg

this is a place called Nilt, about an hour or so ahead of gilgit,its right at the base of Rakaposhi peak. heres where we tried different types n techniques of rapelling and rock climbing.
this was really fun..

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/HIKING1.jpg

another one

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/HIKING2.jpg

havin a prac class up in the mountains…

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/havin-a-class.jpg

a space man ready to take off…

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/space-man.jpg

on our way back from a tiring but exciting days climbing…

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/coming-back.jpg

sighhhzzz.. those were good days

…aur kucch ho na ho, banday ki baady honi chahiye…

some rapelling.. (spellings..?)

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/rapelling1.jpg

some more

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/rapelling2.jpg

udaas bulbul wandering in the mountains…

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/SCENERY4.jpg

more of udaas bulbul…

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/SCENERY5.jpg

i,ll look for more…

NIce pics

Are you the yellow shirt guy

*“na maiN momin vich masiitaaN, na maiN muusaa, na fir’aun!”

[This message has been edited by Ali_R (edited November 13, 2001).]

its not yellow,, its khaki,, the army uniform shirt.. n yeah thats mee,,, about 4 5 yrs ago.

...aur kucch ho na ho,,, banday ki baady honi chahiye...

The Khunjrab pass is on my next tour of Pakistan.

Cool pics Kake

Malik : I just visited K-Pass. It was a great feeling being there.
when u plan to go there also inform me. I may give u some hints

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/Khunjerab.jpg

True Love is so rear , so dont reject it…
A Rejected one

Excellent pictures kaakay!
dil khush kiya!

some more…

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/SCENERY3.jpg

following are some pics of passu valley, with a few pics with passu peak in the background…

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/PASSU2.jpg

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/PASSU2a.jpg

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/PASU.jpg

…aur kucch ho na ho, banday ki baady honi chahiye…

Definetly yaar, I will fly home to Karachi first then onwards. So we can inshallah meet up again next time.

[This message has been edited by Malik73 (edited November 13, 2001).]

Yeah rub it in to Mr. who---me

I will go home, scan a few too and post 'em here! hehe

Very nice pictures..

Kool, Kakay! It reminded me of my first trip to the Nothern Area when I went to attend a 3-week course at Mountaineering School at Nilt. It was run by Alpine Club of Pakistan and Army School of Mountain Warfare. Now, that has been moved to a place Ratu in the foots of Nanga Parbat. During traininfg we learnt rock climbing, snow climbing, and ice climing techniques. During that exercise we climbed Rakaposhi upto 16,000 feet and honed our ice climing techniques on Pasu glacier.
People who haven't been to that area, can't imagine how magestic and beautiful all those mountains are.

Pakistan needs to sell adventure tourism and it may become Pakistan's biggest foreign exchange earner. I know three gora Americans who by chance went to those areas and kinda fell in for it. One pitched a tent in the foots of Rakaposhi for 4 days waiting for the full moon to shine on Rakaposhi in a clear night. That scene is unbelievably magestic. I myself have spent 2 moonlit night in the foots of Rakaposhi. One of them went on to and spent next one year in Lahore exploring cultural wealth and teaching kids at the American School and dropped his two semesters at Harvard Law School just for that.

Alas! can't post pics from my mountaineering trips. All that stuff is left in Karachi.

What breathtaking pics! Thanks for sharing them.

Amazing that we have such picturesque scenery and are not able to handle tourism properly......

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/eek.gif

.. wow .. goodstuff!

I don’t think, yet I still eXist…

Oh my god! Never thought this day would come! Is that the great Mr. Abid Chauhdry and his "wilbee" Mountaineering club venturing out on the information highway.

From the pics I see that you're an Abdalian. So do you mind sharing your entry and name?

(To be continued...)

Kaka jee buhat hi nice pics!

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/biggthumb.gif

Is that Babar Shafi Khan, the adjutant with you?

Wow!

Another Abdalian! Why don’t you introduce yourself first? “wilbee aap newcomer hain na…”

I am Ahmed Zubair, H/W, 38th Entry.

There is no great genius without a mixture of madness.

Salams!

This is Bilal Ahmed (42/H). You were in our 2nd year.

I rememmber you BJ Ahmed. You and Hussain Nasir (if I remember the name correctly) were are always together. I don't know if you recall who I was. I actually left the college after O-Levels.

Nice pics Kaka....
thanx for bringing lot of memories in my mind. did u do with AFP?
if you have pictures of Fairy Meadows, plz post them here.