Just a question. Is it absolutely written in stone that whatever is said in the good book must be followed? Maybe the particular scripture is anachronostic in this society.
Sp "anachronostic", is actually anachronistic, and no, none of the rules and laws mentioned in the Quran are anachronistic, i.e., out of date. Quran is here for all times and all societies.
Infoman if you are muslim then you have to follow whatever is written in Quran! and none of the material in Quran could be anachonistic and as zman said Quran is for every society and definitely it is here for all the times and for all the generations!
masoom si: I agree with you ke pardah to nazar mein hona chahye but it doesnt mean that you dont cover yourself. Hijab is a must and you have to do it at any cost right! plus dont talk about faaida or nuqsaan coz no one knows but Allah ke kon faida mein hai aur kon nahin!
Hijab isn’t just what u wear..ie head scarf or an abaiya.
Hijab also deals with how a person acts, talks and associates with people..especially with members of the opposite sex.
Also, people tend to forget that Muslim men must also observe hijab.
"The basic requirement of the Muslim woman’s dress apply to the Muslim man’s clothing with the difference being mainly in degree. Modesty requires that the area between the navel and the knee be covered in front of all people except the wife. The clothing of men should not be like the dress of women, nor should it be tight or provocative. A Muslim should dress to show his identity as a Muslim. Men are not allowed to wear gold or silk. However, both are allowed for women.
For both men and women, clothing requirements are not meant to be a restriction but rather a way in which society will function in a proper, Islamic manner. " This was taken from Jannah.or http://www.jannah.org/sisters/hijab.html
“Indeed whosoever purifies himself shall achieve success, and remembers (glorifies) the name of his Lord and prays”
Quran 87:14-15
Originally posted by Mindless:
*to those who think niqab is not important, here is the reference I got from Quran:
O Prophet! Tell your wives and your daughters and the women of the believers to draw their cloaks (veils) all over their bodies (i.e.screen themselves completely except the eyes or one eye to see the way). That will be better, that they should be known (as free respectable women) so as not to be annoyed. And Allâh is Ever OftForgiving, Most Merciful.
(Al-Ahzab, Ayat 59)
as we can see that how clearly it is mentioned here in this Ayat that all of your body should be covered! and this means that covering of face is as important as hairs plus hands and feet should be covered as well!
that i.e. part is an interpretation.
ThE MuChaChO, man with the plan..
amigo lets foget whats written inside the bracket, now the Ayat says:
O Prophet! Tell your wives and your daughters and the women of the believers to draw their cloaks (veils) all over their bodies*
now you tell me what do you understand from this Ayat? there is no specification that this should be covered and that shouldnt be right? then how can you say that covering of face is not necessary? we cant assume anything ourselves amigo. What I understand from this Ayat is that your whole body should be covered and if you consider face, hands and feet as the part of the body then this should be covered as well right!
A transalation is also considered a interpretation.
I have myself seen the same verses beeing translated (interpreted) differently.
YUSUFALI: O Prophet! Tell thy wives and daughters, and the believing women, that they should cast their outer garments over their persons (when abroad): that is most convenient, that they should be known (as such) and not molested. And Allah is Oft-Forgiving, Most Merciful.
PICKTHAL: O Prophet! Tell thy wives and thy daughters and the women of the believers to draw their cloaks close round them (when they go abroad). That will be better, so that they may be recognised and not annoyed. Allah is ever Forgiving, Merciful.
SHAKIR: O Prophet! say to your wives and your daughters and the women of the believers that they let down upon them their over-garments; this will be more proper, that they may be known, and thus they will not be given trouble; and Allah is Forgiving, Merciful.
KHALIFA: O prophet, tell your wives, your daughters, and the wives of the believers that they shall lengthen their garments. Thus, they will be recognized (as righteous women) and avoid being insulted. GOD is Forgiver, Most Merciful.
look Amigo I am not any scholar or Aalim so I might be wrong here but what I understand from all these references is very clear to me! in your refernces I still cant find any specification that face shouldnt be covered and hairs should be covered etc etc…only one thing I understand is “body” should be properly covered and body means each and every part of your body!!! so thats what I believe!
u are totaly right …its it…cuz i think har ek insaan ke andar bi uska ek apna roop hota hai our wo roop sari dunya se ap chuppa ke rakh sakte ho lekin Allah tala se nahi…kyunke usse sab nazar a raha hai wo dil ke haal, apki soch sab dekh raha hota hai..for that i use this word faida …our kissi bhi nazarye se maine nahi kaha…
issi lye mai ne kaha tha Pardha karna ahi to dil se karna chahye cuz khudda niyyat samajhta hai…
and please dont understand me wrong…ok than bye
there is a general consensus amongst the most reknown scolars that face and hands are permissable to be shown. You may search on this subject in different internet sites as well.
www.understanding-islam.com www.islam.org www.islam-qa.com
[This message has been edited by aMiGo (edited March 24, 2001).]
Assalaamu Aliakum
this topic is an important topic
i have been reading the posts hmade on this issue.
it is abundantly clear that women are obliged to wear himmar and jilbab in public life..
ie a loose outer garment (like an opaque long rain coat) and himmar a headscarf.
the controversy appears to be over nikab.
the classical ulama have different on this point.
and the tafisr of the evidences on this point.
some argue that the verse highlited above is in reference to the wives and daughters Of Rasullaha saws only, and is not a verse in amm (generallity)
a full discussion on this subject matter with evidences can be found in a book published by Hizb ut-Tahir entitled The Social System of islam. it has a full chapter on this specific subject matter therin, and the importantce of the discssion and the effects on women, through the implications of nikab, and the stregth of islamic evidences against nikab being fard.
all interested can download, this book from .. http://www.khilafah.com/1421/books.php
further you can download other books on the islamic system of lifes affairs including economic, ruliing and other systems of the islamic way of life.
Barrister Ahmer
KHILAFAH THE NEED OF THE TIME !
visit : www.khilafah.com.pk
Jazakallah Khair (may Allah reward you) for your sincerity but I'm sure the moderators will agree that the bro is somewhat doing a bit of publicity, I'll leave it up to you to judge that, forgive me, I do not mean to offend.
Well first of all, from reading all the posts I think what comes out is that we must be careful when reading hadith and quotes from the Quran when using a certain translation. Can I recommend Ibn Taymiyah's and Maulana Maududi's tafseers of the Quran to bring all the relevant quotes into context from the scholar's study of the Quran and hadith.
Someone mentioned that some verses from the Quran may become out of date, this is not the case exactly, some verses are abrogated by ones which were revealed later eg praying in a state of drunkenness etc which became archaic when alcohol became non-permissable. We can only know of these by reading the tafseers (explanations) of the verses by known scholars; it requires more effort but think of the implications of applying a verse to a situation when it actually means something else.
Last of all to all de boys out der...the men have an aura (area to cover) as well which goes from the navel (belly button) down to just below the knees. Again this depends on fiqhi issues but generally this is it. So I know it gets hot in the summers (but not where I live) but sometimes we forget this as well.
dear Muslim Brothers and Sisters
inviting muslims to islam
enjoining maruf (the righteous actions of islam) and forbiding munkar( evil) is not publicitiy but an islamic obligation.
it is very pleasing to know that forums like this exist, where muslims from across the globe, may come, learn and educate fellow muslims about the deen of islam.
it is through polite and sincere discussions that we may guide ourselves closer to the Hqaa, aim to revive the muslim ummah, and be lead closer to the path of siratul mustaqeem.
i pray Allah swt guides us all closer to his deen, gives us the strength to carry the haqq, and protect us from the batil
fi aman Allah fellow muslims
your brother…
Barrister Ahmer
KHILAFAH THE NEED OF THE TIME !
visit : www.khilafah.com.pk
salam
There is a verse in the Holy Quran (24:32)
it is quite long so i did not put it here.
This verse contains the basic comandments with regards to purdah, as enjoined by islam.Islamic purdah has two purposes. It enjoines privacy and reccomends degnified behaviour.women are expected to observe certain rules when leaving the house. They should wear an outer wrapping garment, which should cover their heads and bossoms in a manner that the that the garment should come down from head to bossoms covering their body including face.
According to the Quranic commandments observance of purdah protects women and safeguards their honour.Holy Quran reqiures muslim women to dress modestly.
How ever we must understand that the physical purdah is only the first step to develop true purdah.The full observance of purdah is achieve when it extends to a man or women's heart or mind.This means that one should shield his/her mind and heart of impure and immoral thoughts when in contact with the opposite sex. A women who is following the rules of purdah is unlikely to be treated in a disrespectful manner by men. Thus purdah provides muslim women freedom by the problem faced by the western society. There also is a ahadith of the holy prophet Muhammad (SAW) of the punishment to the women who do not observe purdah.
This is quite long !
Allah hafiz
Taken from THE QUESTION OF HIJAB: SUPPRESSION OR LIBERATION http://www.jannah.org/sisters
“And say to the believing women that they should lower their gaze and guard their modesty; and that they should not display their beauty and ornaments except what must ordinarily appear thereof; that they should draw their veils over their bosoms and not display their beauty except to their husbands…” (Qur’an 24:30-31)
These verses from the Qur’an contain two main injunctions: (1) A woman should not show her beauty or adornments except what appears by uncontrolled factors such as the wind blowing her clothes, and (2) the head covers should be drawn so as to cover the hair, the neck and the bosom.
Islam has no fixed standard as to the style of dress or type of clothing that Muslims must wear. However, some requirements must be met. The first of these requirements is the parts of the body which must be covered.
Islam has two sources for guidance and rulings: first, the Qur’an, the revealed word of Allah and secondly, the Hadith or the traditions of the Prophet Muhammad (S) who was chosen by Allah to be the role model for mankind. The following is a Tradition of the Prophet:
“Ayesha (R) reported that Asmaa the daughter of Abu Bakr (R) came to the Messenger of Allah (S) while wearing thin clothing. He approached her and said: 'O Asmaa! When a girl reaches the menstrual age, it is not proper that anything should remain exposed except this and this. He pointed to the face and hands.” (Abu Dawood)
The second requirement is looseness. The clothing must be loose enough so as not to describe the shape of the woman’s body. One desirable way to hide the shape of the body is to wear a cloak over other clothes. However, if the clothing is loose enough, an outer garment is not necessary.
Thickness is the third requirement. The clothing must be thick enough so as not to show the color of the skin it covers or the shape of the body. The Prophet Muhammad (S) stated that in later generations of his ummah there would be “women who would be dressed but naked and on top of their heads (what looks like) camel humps. Curse them for they are truly cursed.” (Muslim)
Another requirement is an over-all dignified appearance. The clothing should not attract men’s attention to the woman. It should not be shiny and flashy so that everyone notices the dress and the woman.
In addition there are other requirements:
(1) Women must not dress so as to appear as men. “Ibn Abbas narrated: ‘The Prophet (S) cursed the men who appear like women and the women who appear like men.’” (Bukhari)
(2) Women should not dress in a way similar to the unbelievers.
(3) The clothing should be modest, not excessively fancy and also not excessively ragged to gain others admiration or sympathy.
Salaam,
Here is a short, but very good answer about hijab. It gives logical arguements and helps answer non-muslims effectively.
Q. Why does Islam degrade women by keeping them behind the veil?
A.
The status of women in Islam is often the target of attacks in the secular media. The ‘hijab’ or the Islamic dress is cited by many as an example of the ‘subjugation’ of women under Islamic law. Before we analyze the reasoning behind the religiously mandated ‘hijab’, let us first study the status of women in societies before the advent of Islam
- In the past women were degraded and used as objects of lust
The following examples from history amply illustrate the fact that the status of women in earlier civilizations was very low to the extent that they were denied basic human dignity:
- Babylonian Civilization:
The women were degraded and were denied all rights under the Babylonian law. If a man murdered a woman, instead of him being punished, his wife was put to death.
- Greek Civilization:
Greek Civilization is considered the most glorious of all ancient civilizations. Under this very ‘glorious’ system, women were deprived of all rights and were looked down upon. In Greek mythology, an ‘imaginary woman’ called ‘Pandora’ is the root cause of misfortune of human beings. The Greeks considered women to be subhuman and inferior to men. Though chastity of women was precious, and women were held in high esteem, the Greeks were later overwhelmed by ego and sexual perversions. Prostitution became a regular practice amongst all classes of Greek society.
- Roman Civilization:
When Roman Civilization was at the zenith of its ‘glory’, a man even had the right to take the life of his wife. Prostitution and nudity were common amongst the Romans.
- Egyptian Civilization:
The Egyptian considered women evil and as a sign of a devil.
- Pre-Islamic Arabia:
Before Islam spread in Arabia, the Arabs looked down upon women and very often when a female child was born, she was buried alive.
- Islam uplifted women and gave them equality and expects them to maintain their status.
Islam uplifted the status of women and granted them their just rights 1400 years ago. Islam expects women to maintain their status.
Hijab for men
People usually only discuss ‘hijab’ in the context of women. However, in the Glorious Qur’an, Allah (swt) first mentions ‘hijab’ for men before ‘hijab’ for the women. The Qur’an mentions in Surah Noor:
“Say to the believing men that they should lower their gaze and guard their modesty: that will make for greater purity for them: and Allah is well acquainted with all that they do.”
[Al-Qur’an 24:30]
The moment a man looks at a woman and if any brazen or unashamed thought comes to his mind, he should lower his gaze.
Hijab for women.
The next verse of Surah Noor, says:
" And say to the believing women that they should lower their gaze and guard their modesty; that they should not display their beauty and ornaments except what (must ordinarily) appear thereof; that they should draw veils over their bosoms and not display their beauty except to their husbands, their fathers, their husbands’ fathers, their sons…"
[Al-Qur’an 24:31]
- Six criteria for Hijab.
According to Qur’an and Sunnah there are basically six criteria for observing hijab:
- Extent:
The first criterion is the extent of the body that should be covered. This is different for men and women. The extent of covering obligatory on the male is to cover the body at least from the navel to the knees. For women, the extent of covering obligatory is to cover the complete body except the face and the hands upto the wrist. If they wish to, they can cover even these parts of the body. Some scholars of Islam insist that the face and the hands are part of the obligatory extent of ‘hijab’.
All the remaining five criteria are the same for men and women.
-
The clothes worn should be loose and should not reveal the figure.
-
The clothes worn should not be transparent such that one can see through them.
-
The clothes worn should not be so glamorous as to attract the opposite sex.
-
The clothes worn should not resemble that of the opposite sex.
-
The clothes worn should not resemble that of the unbelievers i.e. they should not wear clothes that are specifically identities or symbols of the unbelievers’ religions.
-
Hijab includes conduct and behaviour among other things
Complete ‘hijab’, besides the six criteria of clothing, also includes the moral conduct, behaviour, attitude and intention of the individual. A person only fulfilling the criteria of ‘hijab’ of the clothes is observing ‘hijab’ in a limited sense. ‘Hijab’ of the clothes should be accompanied by ‘hijab’ of the eyes, ‘hijab’ of the heart, ‘hijab’ of thought and ‘hijab’ of intention. It also includes the way a person walks, the way a person talks, the way he behaves, etc.
- Hijab prevents molestation
The reason why Hijab is prescribed for women is mentioned in the Qur’an in the following verses of Surah Al-Ahzab:
“O Prophet! Tell thy wives and daughters, and the believing women that they should cast their outer garments over their persons (when abroad); that is most convenient, that they should be known (as such) and not molested. And Allah is Oft-Forgiving, Most Merciful.”
[Al-Qur’an 33:59]
The Qur’an says that Hijab has been prescribed for the women so that they are recognized as modest women and this will also prevent them from being molested.
- Example of twin sisters
Suppose two sisters who are twins, and who are equally beautiful, walk down the street. One of them is attired in the Islamic hijab i.e. the complete body is covered, except for the face and the hands up to the wrists. The other sister is wearing western clothes, a mini skirt or shorts. Just around the corner there is a hooligan or ruffian who is waiting for a catch, to tease a girl. Whom will he tease? The girl wearing the Islamic Hijab or the girl wearing the skirt or the mini? Naturally he will tease the girl wearing the skirt or the mini. Such dresses are an indirect invitation to the opposite sex for teasing and molestation. The Qur’an rightly says that hijab prevents women from being molested.
- Capital punishment for the rapists
Under the Islamic shariah, a man convicted of having raped a woman, is given capital punishment. Many are astonished at this ‘harsh’ sentence. Some even say that Islam is a ruthless, barbaric religion! I have asked a simple question to hundreds of non-Muslim men. Suppose, God forbid, someone rapes your wife, your mother or your sister. You are made the judge and the rapist is brought in front of you. What punishment would you give him? All of them said they would put him to death. Some went to the extent of saying they would torture him to death. To them I ask, if someone rapes your wife or your mother you want to put him to death. But if the same crime is committed on somebody else’s wife or daughter you say capital punishment is barbaric. Why should there be double standards?
- Western society falsely claims to have uplifted women
Western talk of women’s liberalization is nothing but a disguised form of exploitation of her body, degradation of her soul, and deprivation of her honour. Western society claims to have ‘uplifted’ women. On the contrary it has actually degraded them to the status of concubines, mistresses and society butterflies who are mere tools in the hands of pleasure seekers and sex marketeers, hidden behind the colourful screen of ‘art’ and ‘culture’.
- USA has one of the highest rates of rape
United States of America is supposed to be one of the most advanced countries of the world. It also has one of the highest rates of rape in any country in the world. According to a FBI report, in the year 1990, every day on an average 1756 cases of rape were committed in U.S.A alone. Later another report said that on an average everyday 1900 cases of rapes are committed in USA. The year was not mentioned. May be it was 1992 or 1993. May be the Americans got ‘bolder’ in the following years.
Consider a scenario where the Islamic hijab is followed in America. Whenever a man looks at a woman and any brazen or unashamed thought comes to his mind, he lowers his gaze. Every woman wears the Islamic hijab, that is the complete body is covered except the face and the hands upto the wrist. After this if any man commits rape he is given capital punishment. I ask you, in such a scenario, will the rate of rape in America increase, will it remain the same, or will it decrease?
- Implementation of Islamic Shariah will reduce the rate of rapes
Naturally as soon as Islamic Shariah is implemented positive results will be inevitable. If Islamic Shariah is implemented in any part of the world, whether it is America or Europe, society will breathe easier. Hijab does not degrade a woman but uplifts a woman and protects her modesty and chastity.
--------taken from http://www.whyislam.org/faqs/
by Dr. Zakir Naik