Re: hijab vs. no hijab
lol -
being judged is no fun that's all I gotta say...
lol -
being judged is no fun that's all I gotta say...
I feel you.
I dont mean to get into the character assassination cross-hair, but I suppose it is a matter of personal choice. Just wrapping a scarf or a rag around your head doesn’t vouch your righteousness. Purity comes from within the heart. I personally know some esteemed examples of munaafiqat and double standards. So its not all bad :k:
^you post a lot....
You have a very sharp observation I must say.
NJ, try not to worry about people and how they view you. As long as we are living and breathing, there will be talk and gossip. I think even if you wore hijab, you would find people staring and critisizing. Because as soon as you wear it, every action is judged. Since you're hijabi you'd have to be perfect in order to make people happy. If you didnt wear it and someone around you did, you would be judged because people would think you should wear it. Yikes! Unfortunately, there are some pretty hurtful people out there. :(
However, it doesnt have to be a part of your life. :) As long as people arent imposing their practices on you, you should be fine. Let them stare and think to yourself: You WISH you looked this good!
are u content with the way you dress in public? if yes…then who cares what others say and think.
ignore their looks…desi’s will look no matter what you have on!! if you have on a hijab they will talk crap…if you are wearing sleeveless they will talk crap! if you dress normally they will still find something to bad mouth you about. it’s no-win situation with them.
^ sara is this ALL you got out of this thread? seriously? ![]()
dont be ashamed cuz what matter is Modesty...otherwise i have seen some really awful clothing of hijabis.
from this you can also clearly line out something which i hear alot k pardah is in ur heart .. *well this concept truely doesnt exist *.
Peace y'all :)
dont base your experiences as a universal fact.
jab khuda hai, to khudai bhi hai or khudai ka khauf bhi.
fbi786, I just don’t get it. you are always so quick to judge others wherever you think your version/interpretations of islam are under attack and that you have to defend them by insulting others indirectly. But then you go in another thread and say the opposite of what you just said in the first thread. I am not asking for any explanation or anything but may be you need to have a look at this hypocrisy. here just one example out of many for you.
Such a strong stance above ^ about Pardah by bringing in Allah and Holy Prophet and all and then your posts in the thread “Romaantic Memories”, especially the first post/song.
[quote=“fbi786, post:7, topic:197140”]
one of my most favourite ..my memory for the day in dedication for a favourite someone ![]()
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xhR7TrA4r7E)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yn-S5zAma7Q)
now I am sure you will come up with some very reasonable answer. may be
“what has that got to do with it?” or “I am just interested in the lyrics and music of those songs and not the video” or “that’s on computer not in public”
The point I wanna make is that you can have your holier-than-though attitude kid yourself but on GS you are kidding no one.
^Pardah is in your heart as well as in your attitude and behaviour and appearance, right?
shrugs
hijab/no hijab has been discussed to death. i just found somethng interesting ![]()
**Tox **- Rock n roll man! ![]()
^^ with 30,000 posts, that's understandable sara
yeh man, you just get fed up when in every other thread you are being told how you are not a good muslim. ![]()
i am all in favour of wearing the hijab, but people seem to forget that hijab is not just a piece of material on ur head, hijab covers a wide range of things, to include sharam, haya and also your manner of speech and conduct etc...no one should judge u for not wearing the hijab.
i do have a problem with girls/women these days who use the hijab as another fashion accessory, they could be wearing fitted and see through shalwar kameez or skinny jeans with short tops, or figure hugging outfits...totally defeating the purpose of wearing the hijab. if you want to wear the hijab wear it properly and wear it for the love of Allh SWT not just because your friend or neighbours wear it.
NJ InshAllah there will a day when you will wear the hijab, but only you know what level of Imaan you are at and Allah knows whats in your heart....so ignore these people, they are nobody's, also they sound like men who would check out hijabis and taunt them as well.
Don't let it bother u. My Mum wears hijab but I don't and I also wear sleeveless, tho usually just short/cap sleeves if it's hot and I'm out with her. An auntie of mine is in the opposite situation, her 15yr-old daughter has started wearing hijab but she doesn't, she often wears saris with sleeveless cropped short blouses and my family giggle about it but not in a malicious way, it's just the novety of Mum being the 'wild one' :)
i am all in favour of wearing the hijab, but people seem to forget that hijab is not just a piece of material on ur head, hijab covers a wide range of things, to include sharam, haya and also your manner of speech and conduct etc...no one should judge u for not wearing the hijab.
i do have a problem with girls/women these days who use the hijab as another fashion accessory, they could be wearing fitted and see through shalwar kameez or skinny jeans with short tops, or figure hugging outfits...totally defeating the purpose of wearing the hijab. if you want to wear the hijab wear it properly and wear it for the love of Allh SWT not just because your friend or neighbours wear it. NJ InshAllah there will a day when you will wear the hijab, but only you know what level of Imaan you are at and Allah knows whats in your heart....so ignore these people, they are nobody's, also they sound like men who would check out hijabis and taunt them as well.
I think a lot of the girls who wear the hijab that way are the ones who are pushed into wearing it by family or others so they basically do the scarf bit and then just push the boundaries that have been set for them as much as they can, kinda like those girls in Iran who wear their hijabs right back on their heads and show as much hair as they can get away with.
I really don't want to judge anyone, but I dunno how true this is. Back in college, there were several hijabi chics, who whore the scarf on their head but super tight jeans, super tight short shirts...etc....any tight pants...that left nothing to imagination....but I am not sure if they were forced. These same girls would have the nerve to go around lecturing others on how Allah will punish them for not wearing hijab..etc....and just looking down on others because they thought they were high n holy....I used to get a kick out of that crowd. I give credit to those who wear hijab with good niyyah and are trying, and don't judge others, regardless of how they are, cuz at least they are trying. But I really hate the fake hypocritical ones.
I remember wayyy back in high school, there were these 2 egyptian twins who called themselves with very american nicks, like Nancy/Jenny. I had no clue they were muslim, cuz in the beginning they wore tanks n shorts to school, mini skirts etc. In the 1st year got to know em a little as they were in my Homeroom. Anyways one monday morning, they came to school suddenly covered head to toe & wearing scarves, everyone was like huh? (i had no interaction with muslims/desis besides immediate family at all). And they said they are muslim etc.....im like oh friday u werent muslim huh? lol
But since then they were ALWAYS trying to preach to me, and even went so far as to writing me detailed letters of how I am going to hell because I don't cover my head. I thought they were psycho. Mind you i normally wear full sleeves, back then very baggy clothes etc. When I didn't "adhere" to their letters, they stopped talking to me and ignored me, which I thought was great cuz they were freaks. Now my luck, they went to same Uni as I did....and what's funny is they saw me at orientation and acted so buddy buddy like we were best of friends. I HATE fakes with a passion.
oh and i am not generalizing but this is just 1 incident that happened to me. I used to be cool with most type of folks and had all sorts of friends from diff. backgrounds/religion etc. I think this Filipino dude was on some project with me for some class, and we had to do a lot of work so we'd be working on our project along with other team members. Sometimes to kill time we'd just throw a football around n play catch. I remember this 1 gal try to play mommy and give me a huuuge lecture on how what I was doing was haram etc, studying with a boy......throwing a football to a boy was haram and i am sinning and God will punish me....blah blah blah.....ooohhhh and she did this right in front of them all. She even went into details that throwing the football, the guy can see my body move...and may be attracted....i was like WTF....as opposed to when i walk????
And the funniest part or sad i should say.....is that 15 minutes later....one of her bestest muslim guy friends comes by and her & him go together alone to have coffee together....how halal is that.......whatever. Just brought a random memory back. I had totally gotten a very sour taste in my mouth about "hijabis"....but learned that there are good/bad people in all walks of life, just try to stay away from shady folks.