Hijaab!!

Okay. There is an issue surrounding hijab that I have been observing for many years. And it was finally time to write about it…
So I really hate being lied to. I suppose that’s why it makes me so angry to see the widespread deception caused by shaytan. There is this subtle deceptive tool becoming sooo pervasive—even among practicing people. And I’ve noticed how it plays out with hijab. Okay, before I get into how this trick works, let’s begin with the foundation:
#1. We are on a journey.
#2. Pleasing God is the destination.
#3. Obedience to God is the fuel.
Okay, now watch how this trick works. Shaytan says:
Step 1: “Hijab is a high spiritual destination. It is a ‘crown’ you wear once you’ve reached spiritual enlightenment/perfection.”
Step 2: “You aren’t there yet, spiritually.”
Step 3: “Therefore, you shouldn’t wear hijab until you first reach that level of spiritual enlightenment/perfection.” OR “If you already wear hijab, you aren’t at that spiritual level and you aren’t representing Islam well, so you should take it off until you can reach that level.”
Why this is a lie and a logical fallacy:

1. Hijab is NOT a crown you wear once you’ve reached spiritual enlightenment/perfection. Hijab is NOT a spiritual destination. Hijab is part of the fuel (obedience) to get there! It is part of the path to get to the destination: God.
  2. Therefore, saying that I need to get to my destination (pleasing God), by displeasing God, is a logical fallacy. And that’s exactly the point. Shaytan knows this. It’s like seeing you’re gas tank running empty while driving to Los Angeles, and saying, “I first need to get to my destination, and THEN I’ll fill up with fuel.”
    We need fuel in order to get to our destination.
    Conclusion: Of course hijab is not the only fuel that fills the spiritual gas tank! But it is part of it! Why? Because it is part of our obedience to God. And refusing it, is an active and daily disobedience to the One we are trying to reach. Hijab isn’t for perfect people. There are no perfect people. If there’s anything that boils my blood, it’s when people say things like, “She might as well take off her hijab because she did…” Or “She wears hijab and she did…” As if the assumption is that once you wear hijab you are announcing to the world that you have become angelic. Hijab is not for angels. Hijab is for flawed, beautiful, humans who are saying every day that they are trying. And there is so much beauty in that struggle. Allah sees it. Even if you’re struggling with other things, it could be this act of obedience that Allah accepts! And due to it, may even forgive your other shortcomings! So don’t lose hope and belittle any act of obedience–even if you see yourself as so flawed.
    Hijab isn’t a destination we get to. Hijab is part of the path. Just like everything else we struggle to do to obey and please God. Hijab is part of the fuel that is helping us reach our destination: God.

-Yasmin Mogahed

Re: Hijaab!!

I guess I am guilty of some of the things you mentioned regarding the perception of women who wear hijab.. Because I too, know of plenty of women who wear a hijab, yet act in extremely immoral ways..

"The crown" reference is a reason why I haven't worn it... I DO believe once you decide to put it on, you DO have to abide by Islamic rules, and not do any hanky panky on the side, or do it for the wrong reasons.. I never thought you have to be perfect in order to put it on, but at the same time, you can't do complete opposite acts of each other either.. For example, i dress modestly, I read my prayers, but by no means do I follow every single thing Islam has taught me.. So, I feel like I can't wear a hijab, not yet. I am not saying you HAVE TO follow 100%, but I do thing I would have to amp it up, which I am not ready to do.

Same goes for people who go to Umrah and/or Hajj, actually, they are held at a more higher regard than hijabis. Yet, I can give you plenty of examples of people that have gone to Umrah and still act in very very dishonest ways, which is sad.

Here are a few examples I have come across - and keep i mind, I am by no means saying all hijabis are like this, these are juts a few I have come across that in my mind, are going about it the wrong way.

1 - There is an unmarried girl who wears a hijab, doesn't leave her home without it and all that (lives in an Islamic country). YET - she is a s*x addict. and repeatedly asks a friend of hers (living in a non-Islamic country) to send her dirty videos and um, play things (if you know what I mean) to satisfy her needs. She also repeatedly sleeps with married men.

2 - I know a girl, who is a friend of mine actually who only wears a hijab during the winter because she says her head gets cold, and it keeps her warm. As soon as the weather changes, she takes it off. um... that's what hats are for???

3 - Another girl (unmarried, but has a muslim boyfriend).. prays 5x a day, fasts, wears a hijab, etc etc, all that good stuff. Yet, when she goes to the beach, takes everything off into a skimpy bikini. She told me she fights with her boyfriend all the time because he doesn't agree she should be doing this, especially with all the good stuff she does, she basically ruins it when she goes to the beach and takes her clothes off.

4 - There is a family living here where the women wear a nikab. However, they pick and choose who they do it in front of. For example, going to the mall, they won't, but when meeting certain family friends, they do it... huh ???

I think it's safe to say - that when a woman wears a hijab, she is held to a higher standard as well. She sets an example for other women to follow. But when stuff like the above happens, it makes you realize that it's just a perception, and nothing more. What is in your heart counts, but when you blatantly go against Islam like that at the same time ... well... it raises the question, what's the point?

I hate hate hate it when people say "you should be more like xyz, she's such a good girl, wears a hijab, prays namas, I pray you turn out to be like her" .. because you don't know what person does behind closed doors, and I certainly would not want to be one of them

I just said what's on my mind, no offense to anybody... peace y'all

I actually took a month and think about all of your point and I came to this conclusion. You are not judge of their actions. A good deed is a good deed. Allah is best judge.

The more you pick flaws in other people life, you will far away from your right path. You are not accountable of their life.

jannat ka thakedari sirf app ki zaat tak hi mehdod... app kisi aur ki zaat ka theeka nahi laisaktay.

I understand what you are saying, and I agree, Allah is the decision maker on everyone's deeds, I never said otherwise.. But at the same time, don't say I judge people, when every person who has ever walked this earth has at one point in time voiced concern over what someone else did, it's human nature. Doesn't necessarily mean its a bad thing. its a difference in opinion.

I am entitled to my own opinion about things. Just the same way it fuels you - **If there’s anything that boils my blood, it’s when people say things like, “She might as well take off her hijab because she did…” Or “She wears *hijab and she did…” As if the assumption is that once you wear hijab you are announcing to the world that you have become angelic. Hijab is not for angels

***That's the same way I get fueled when I see a girl wearing a hijab dancing in front of men shaking your bottom goodies and top goodies. What impression is she giving off? Yes, absolutely, she should NOT be wearing a hijab and dancing with random men like that. She has enough respect for Islam to cover her head, good for her, but shaking her body with men is perfectly acceptable?

umm... no.

And don't tell me I judge. Have you never raised an eyebrow when you see a person talk back to their elders? Or, question why an adult muslim doesn't know how to read the Quran? Or, what about the person who chews with their mouth open and has food falling out of it?

Who are you to say what they have done is bad, good, rude, or anything?

opinion. not judgement. I'm not handing out punishments, rewards.

Allah knows best.

:hmmm:

^^ ??

This topic went places.. :D

It should have been about why don't desi girls wear shorter skirts to get Uncle log to comment in this topic. Now, none of the regulars came by even jhutay munh.

PS Now, a bikini is extreme, but why not a onekini or one piece swimsuit? Wearing clothes while swimming would not be fun. Suffice to say, it sucks being a muslim woman..

because you are still showing skin.. while wearing a hijab.. is this really that hard to understand, that it's a double standard ? covering your head is necessary, but not your legs, arms, chest .. etc ?