I agree with KKF and Maham - studying for women after marriage is just practically impossible, especially if you haven't started with a degree already. There are so many cases around me where the in-laws said they'll allow the girl to study as much as she wants but later they just keep dodging around the subject.
I do feel I need M-phil esp in my field - since m-phil is the new masters now.
It all depends on the in-laws, I know a couple who got married and then started masters together. I also know someone who did MBBS but then got married and had a child, so never got around to doing a housejob.
I did my HONS, thought i'd get some experience first - work and research, but i applied and got admission into an M-phil program... i just dont want to waste my time waiting till i get married... that'll be such a waste.
Thats great then! I'll suggest go for it immediately. Fresh graduates can do so much better than people like me who leave studies for a year or two and then start studying again.
i wud let my wife study if she wanted to. i think its wrong for men to derail what a wife wants to do with her life.
BUT if her studying is coming in the way of how she is bringing up the kids then he has every right to object. Unless ofcourse both were sane enough to discuss this before planning for kids or education.
Higher study is a plus no matter how you look at it and if someone has problem with higher studies, they themselves are not so highly educated I guess.
Also, YES women can study after marriage too. She will need little help from husband on this and these days, guys are becoming more understanding about the importance of women education
Thats great then! I'll suggest go for it immediately. Fresh graduates can do so much better than people like me who leave studies for a year or two and then start studying again.
I think I will... and then I can even work side by side... problem solved :)
Higher study is a plus no matter how you look at it and if someone has problem with higher studies, they themselves are not so highly educated I guess
BUT if her studying is coming in the way of how she is bringing up the kids then he has every right to object. Unless ofcourse both were sane enough to discuss this before planning for kids or education.
kids can be delayed...wait kar sakte haiN...it can be worked out b4 the kids are born. i wudn't mind to delay having kids for a few years.**
You def should go for M.Phil. Sitting around waiting for the right proposal would be a waste of time. Marriage is ordained by Allah, it will take place only when He chooses. Till then, focusing on your education, building a career or doing anything constructive is the right path.
After marriage, it really depends on one’s in-laws. I know of a girl who was a top notch student, straight A’s in her alevels… was passionate for medical field…and…got married…in-laws didn’t let her pursue even a bachelors degree since ‘it wasn’t the trend in either households for girls to study after inter!!!’
Higher study is a plus no matter how you look at it and if someone has problem with higher studies, they themselves are not so highly educated I guess.
BUT if her studying is coming in the way of how she is bringing up the kids then he has every right to object.
First they’ll think everything is a result of their education - they’ll hilite their degrees like crazy as if everything revolves around that
They talk a lot but most of it is empty words
Once you start discussing current affairs, or ask for their views on a recent headline… crickets
I think if men had to answer honestly, they wouldnt give a damn. It is the desi society which is ****ting their pants when they see a girl going for higher education for various reasons which seem to be unknown to me. It is the old aunties and uncles who will talk behind the families back and say "itni parhai ki kya zarorat hai?" or "yeh to parh parh kar chalak hogaye hai" .. Everyone should study as long as they want. I disagree with the person on here who said one shouldnt study for the tags, I say if the tag motivates you GO FOR IT! .. Afterall you do have some braincells otherwise you wouldnt even be touching the tags! .. ;)
Its NOT practically EASY...with kids, hubby and the in-laws, its next to impossible. u prolly dunno what a woman's life is like. i've seen professional women [one of them is a Program Director for Medicine in a Canadian University] and she has to cook, do laundry [after a long day at work] while hubby [an engineer], after coming back from work, sits home like a couch potato.
all men must be required to role play as a wife for just one day and only then they can understand what involves in running a household.**
my brother had a love marriage. when he got married bhabi had cleared only 10th grade (in her family, there was no good education system so she was not into studies) but when she came to our family she felt thigns are missing .. so she continued her studies and now she is taking her exams for B.Ed .. ..
I know its difficult .. but i believe if hubby and in laws supports her, then she can do it .. :)
With little help from husband, wife can study without any problem or effecting her mother's role. Only if husband pledges to devote his time to kids when he is home after job instead of watching hockey game or standing at street corner with friends eating pan.
For one reason or another, its understood in our society that kids are mom's job from morning till they go to bed which is WRONG. Kids are every bit husband's kids too. Father's responsibility goes far ahead of just providing food and shelter.
my brother had a love marriage. when he got married bhabi had cleared only 10th grade (in her family, there was no good education system so she was not into studies) but when she came to our family she felt thigns are missing .. so she continued her studies and now she is taking her exams for B.Ed .. ..
I know its difficult .. but i believe if hubby and in laws supports her, then she can do it .. :)
true, but this is rare or an exception. the rule is that its next to impossible. did they have children?