Hiccups corner

i got this book today, cant wait to start it. woohoo..
sorry got a lil excited

^ is that suitable boy ur talknig bout?? i so wish i could get my copy back..

i had "life isnt all about ha ha hee hee" on order.. but its been like 3 months and noones contacted me

anyone else, beside humsa, read that yet?

YUpp, thats why as tempted as i was, i had to skip the discussion...

^ hehe... ur gonna love it

the politics bit is a bore though.. i had to skip thru that section

Ok, this Suitable Boy sounds like some sort of modern day Behashti zaivar or something. I've seen incredible similiarities among the people who have read the book.

1- They're all chics.
2- They're all depressing, depressed chics.
3- After reading the book, they become more depressing, depressed.
4- The book is something about that either they can't explain well, or what they can explain well is not what the book is about.
5- All chics after reading the book automatically start living the life of the main character (the female character), or the the life of the boy in the title "Suitable Boy".
6- Number five above makes those chics depressing, depressed, and confusing, confuesed.

I say you keep away from it and recite Bhagvant Geeta instead.

^ roman jee, isse patha chalta hai ke aapne book bilkul bhi nahin parhi aur yeh ke aap mujhe depressed aur confused samajthe hain.. aur woh mein hoon nahin… hmmm acha thori si confused :blush:

sadzzz, you’re always an exception to a rule. :blush:

oyeeeeeeeee Maan ko koi kuch nahi bolega :grumpy:

and sadzzz Meenakshis sis is Kukoo :smiley:

Up to chapter 5: so the Maan guy now sleeps with the local prostitute/ghazal singer.

The musican lurrves the "sister" of the singer ( i think shes the daughter)

Lata fancies the muslim guy (how the hell is it love already? she needs a slap again)

i do like the little 9 yr old kid now. The rest bug me (yea im fickle)

Dhaag you should know, im only reading this as u recomended it, we seemed to have a similar taste in books (atlas shrugged, etc)
plus its easier to throttle someone in london than someone in some far flung corner of the world.

Roman uncle, you are right. Prolly, if Icould understand what the hell u are on about.

I didnt get much out of "A suitable Boy". I think I'll read it again.

oh hiccy r u reading a suitable boy these days? that book is a total and complete waste of time. i suggest u skim thru it real fast.

*Originally posted by hiccup: *
Up to chapter 5: so the Maan guy now sleeps with the local prostitute/ghazal singer.

The musican lurrves the "sister" of the singer ( i think shes the daughter)

Lata fancies the muslim guy (how the hell is it love already? she needs a slap again)

i do like the little 9 yr old kid now. The rest bug me (yea im fickle)

Dhaag you should know, im only reading this as u recomended it, we seemed to have a similar taste in books (atlas shrugged, etc)
plus its easier to throttle someone in london than someone in some far flung corner of the world.

Roman uncle, you are right. Prolly, if Icould understand what the hell u are on about.

Saeeda bai is a character...she knows how to control Maan...and Bhaskar is a genius i tell ya...

its been a long time since i read a nice book...

i am planning to read Fine Balance, Life of Pie and A Suitable Boy again...

Official Bakwas, this is the first book in an awful long time I will not finish becasue to be frank its more torturous than fun.

Onto Virginnia Woolfe.

Just tell me what happens with all the main characters somebody?

OK fine, retardos don’t tell me :snooty:

I’ve finished “The Beach” by Alex Garland. and it is amazing :k:

The story of a traveller in Thailand (vietnam?) finding a perfect piece of heaven, a haven from the world an adventure, and things turns more than just subtly sour, they turn subtly evil.

You can almost feel the craziness building up, Mister Duck included.

Jed was one of my most favourite characters, the most sane perhaps?

And I really wish the other guy, Karl (?) wouldve begun to talk.

The film doesn’t even come clsoe to doing this book justiice, and it wasn’t called a “cult classic” for nothing

Considering it is a first novel, it is a piece of genius, definately all go and read it.

Heres an extract: Zeph, Sammy, thin German girl etc are all intruders onto the Island who got there by the map that this guy (Richard) provided before setting out for the Island themselves, only later they realised taht they in turn musthave left map, and thus they wanted them not to reach the Island. These poeple were captured by the drugs lords and killed, and left on the “beach” as a warning to the inhabitants, to stop other poeple visiting.

Sal is the leader of them all, Bugs is her boyfriend and others are fellow inhabitants.

Richard and 3 others are sober, the rest are doped up, with the stolen dope from the fields of the drug lords.

They live on opposite islands and are in peace as they both want secrecy.

"‘what a mess’ Sal panted and gave annother hard tug.
her grip slipped.
She fell backwards, twisting as she fell, and landed on Sammy’s corpse.
‘Clumbsy’ she exclaimed brightly.
Then she started screaming and clawig at her cheeks. Sal and Sammy’s faces had made coontact as she rolled off him, and Sammy had no lower jaw.

She screamed the way some people cry. The people who never normally cry, so you know the tears are coming from somewhere unthinkably deep inside. It was a sound that made my skin crawl, but for Bugs, it seemed to blow his mind.

I’ve thought alot about what he didand I’ve got two explanations. One is that he was angry with Sammy for having kissed Sal. The other is that he saw Sammy as the cause of Sala misery and he wante that misery to stop. Both explanations rely onBugs being insane, but thats OK. He was.

He called Sal’s name. Then he sobbed, only once, not loudly. Then he went over tothe seating area and picked up one of Unhygenix’s stubby cooking knives. Then he went over to Sammy and attacked him.

It beggan with kicking, which quickly became stabbing. In the chest, in the groin, the arms, anything.Next he straddled the corpse and began tugging at the neck…I only saw when he rose up. He’d cut Sammys head off. Cut it off and was swinging it by the hair.

And suddenly Jean had a knifeand was cutting at the thin German girl, slicing into her belly and pulling out her insides.Then Cassie joined them, hunched over Zeph, working on his thighs.

Etienne vomited, and within seconds the corpses were swarmed"

Its not all taht crazy btw and I possibly ruined it for you :roman:

I found Bridget jones diary just as funny and witty, could be the diary of any female to be honest. The male of the species may not understand however I do really recommend reading the books above watching the movies.

happy reading

Yes, the book is amazing, ithas nothing to do with paindooness. read on brother :flower1:

hiccup, did u finish reading "a suitable boy"? how'd that go?

^^ sadzz im readin a suitable boy, n im soo lovin it. Hiccy i say u finish It sweetstuff....

^ oh good!! i just got it for a friend as well.. i just think its one of those books u need to have :slight_smile:

i got mine back after 2 years, and then someone else borrowed it :bummer:

Sorry girlies but it bored me to death, it was way too long and mostly pointless. The beach however captivated me.

It was like one long melodramatic soap opera (the former)