hi im Omar From lahore and i have done olevels and currently studying in intermediate(sp?) Ics part 1.I have been recently planning to go to canada ,uk,us or wherever for further studying.The major thing im concerned abt is abt the Inter im doin rite now.Some of my friends told me that inter of Pakistan is not internationally accepted and this does make sense, so i just want to know am i wasting time? … And one more thing can i still apply for studyin abroad after olevels..Hope u guys got the gist what im trying to say,Thanks in advance to those who reply..
Re: hi studying abroad..
well, I did FSC in Pakistan and then came to the US for bachelors.. my FSC did count and atcually played a significant role when it came to choosing my classes as well as for scholarships. The only draw back was that I didn't get my college credits transferred or probably if I had tried hard I might have been able to because I do someone who had done inter through Pakistan Fderal board and got some elective credits transferred here very easily.
Also, I know someone who had done A-level from Pakistan but still couldn't get a lot of her classes transferred because of grades/course policies here and still had to do the bachelor in 4 years.
So, in my opinion, Inter does count!
Here in Canada, you can get admitted into an undergraduate program after your F.Sc. if you have 75% or better in your best six courses. This is of course in addition to TOEFL requirements and also the cut off can be as high as 85% for the top universities.
On the other hand, incoming applicants who have A-Levels only really need to show three main subjects with a grade of C or better, and for any subjects where the applicant has an A grade, he/she can get a first-year credit for an equivalent course. I personally got three credits for Business, Calculus and Physics.
So all in all, F.Sc. is not useless but you need to work hard at getting good marks to avail admissions into the better universities. With A-Levels, if you play your cards right, you can get transfer credits for some first year courses as well.
wow thanks for ur help guys..FSc is tuff though
if u have done A level in pakistan then in U.s ur first year of undergraduate is wavied off as according to one of my professor in U.S
You can apply to study abroad on the basis of your O levels, but it will probably be at a community college. There is nothing wrong with that, you simply transfer to a 4 year school after 1-2 years.
I would advise that rather than take my chances with Inter, some universities can get fussy about that.
majority of people i know from pak who came to US for theri undergrad had done their inter and had no problems. it is considered equivalet to US highschool i.e. 12 years of education. the damn canadians have some other mess with 13 years and what nots, but thats a whole diff issue.
not anymore they dont.. nazar jo laga di apnay :(
hi guys im a bit scared at this moment abt inter..i might not be able to get 70% , and if i don t does this mean i cant apply for studying abroad?? im trying my level best but fsc thing mostly requires rata stuff and im not used to it there fore im going no where....Waiting for ur reply bye!
A-Levels will most certainly be a safer choice... and you need to make sure you get Bs' to ensure admission in decent Universities. Of course, As' would be nice, esp. if you're aiming for scholarships.
and btw ratta A-Levels mey bhi hai... aur ratta Intl. Universities mey bhi hai... there's no denying that except that the ratta comes for subjects with a more technical and theoretical scope. So all in all, get used to ratta... and yes... A-Levels is a much safer bet.
@Umer Taalib:
u said that 'ratta A'Level mein bhi hai aur intl. univ mein bhi'. I didn't quite get u. I hope u don't think that preparing for an A'Level examination is the same as preparing for an F.Sc one. In F.Sc ur sole concern is to cram each and every word in the book - and although u may not understand much, u can still score very high; whereas, in A'Level it's exactly the opposite. Though u do have to memorise some things, let me make it clear that 'memorise' is entirely different from 'ratta'. Memorising may mean that although u may READ the entire text, ur only supposed to keep in mind the key points. I've got many relatives who're high achievers of F.Sc (they've usually topped in their respective boards), and they've told me that cramming is the key to acquiring marks - certainly not the case in A'Level.
In other words, u do have to memorise some things in A'Level, but the questions are BASED on wat u have learnt; they don't ask u to vomit everything u know onto the answer sheet.
positive negetive, A level would be accepted easily, with FSc is not useless at all, some uni may allow you to start BA/Bsc but some may ask you to complete 1 year foundation program in UK.
umer is right, u are wrong
aaj kal aik he hisaab hai.