Hermaphrodites/Transgenders

What does Islam say about transgenders/hermaphrodites?

I was having this discussion with someone last night…they said that when a baby is born with both genders, its an assumption that its a punishment for the parents…For various reasons that didn’t sit right with me…

I’m not too familiar with their status in Pakistan, except for being entertainers (dancing at weddings and such). Is that the only occupation they are allowed to do?

I ask b/c…gender roles in Islam are very clear…whats required and expected of men and women both…however, what about the in-betweens? It seems like, in society they are doomed to be one thing (whether htey use that to their advantage or not…its like they never had a chacne to be “normal”) but what about religiously?

Legally, they are equal citizens and are allowed in any occupation. But the society does not allow them so they stay in entertainment only.

Re: Hermaphrodites/Transgenders

in islam there are ways to differentiate or you can say label the person as a man or woman.. one of those ways is to look at which private part he/she urinates with, that determines their gender.. and there are those rare cases where it's hard to tell which gender they belong to.. it's sad really.

in the west these people are lucky they get treated when they're born, in poor countries like pakistan the treatment is hard to get so they grow up like this and society rejects them and they end up joining the various groups doing/performing evil.. shouldn't happen but that's how we all judge right?

its a shame, how we treat these people. its a nightmare just thinking about some people going to the childs home and then taking him/her away.

I don't think it's a punishment. I think it's just so low to judge that someone is getting punishment from Allah in that form. I know when new born babies develop some problems people say same things & judge that it's a punishment from Allah .

They are creations of Allah , they are His Makhlooq. Our society makes fun of them and don't give them respectable jobs so they end up taking dancing or begging as profession. After all they need to survive too ! If only we think that Allah Has created them & the way they are was not in their hands and we start giving them respect things would be alot different.

As a kid I remember my nani used to tell me to be kind with them because she used to say kay inki dua bhi bohat lagti hai aur bad dua bhi.

I've seen sunni scholars write that hermaphrodites should, through surgery, be adjusted to conform to the gender they resemble the most.

Transdgerism isn't allowed by any sunni scholars.

I think shia scholars may have a different viewpoint on transgenderism because western news sources often claim that Iran is a major hub of gender reassignment surgery.

the person who said it--he meant its a punishment for the parents...not for the child...i still dont think its right...and ur right...we should be kind to everyone but especially people who have no chance at a normal life..:(...

Yeah in a way they are lucky but then dont most transgendered ppl hvae psychological issues wiht it..b/c they want to be one gender but are another, they go through life confused and even depressed and undergo surgery as adults....

Transgenderism in what sense? that someone flaunts it and is proud of it, or doesn't get the surgery? B/c in poor countries like Pakistan, where treatment may not be available and the society doesnt' let them live a respectable life, they have no choice BUT to remain a transgender.

It's not about being poor country.... It's about acceptance/tolerance and it's a sad reality wherever psycho gay-mullahs and their followers exist we have this problem.

You and your kind should watch a documentary by PBS on bacha-bazi by mightiest Tribal monkeys of Afghanistan and Pakistan.

@Sara
I don't think so children has anything to do with anyone sin ... It's Gods will that's all. Being Muslim parents they should accept it... And treat as human being.

Well said ! I was trying to say the same thing .

thankss