here is what i made ....!:-)

so…
i made jelly rolls this weekend …bacha party was asking me to make these rolls for 'em since last week …at last i did spare sometime n made 'em,…!

i know pictures aren’t good enough but the reason isc …i operated my digicam first time ever :o

right after baking
[thumb=H]DSC00303j%20roll6873_6495545.JPG[/thumb]

end product
[thumb=H]DSC00304j%20roll6873_6849205.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=H]DSC00305j%20roll6873_9707736.JPG[/thumb]

Re: here is what i made …!:slight_smile:

:yummy:

Afia baji, recipe kahan hai?? :(

:yummy: recipe bhi batein na

i'll post the recipe soon inshaAllah!:-)

Looks yummie :yummy:

You can't just tease us with the pictures Afia........recipe please.

:eek:

Afia baji :mudhosh: :mudhosh: :mudhosh: :mudhosh: :mudhosh: :mudhosh:

well, :)
here is the recipe for all of u ..:-)

first of all take a 10x 15 inches tray ....grease the bottom n then line with baking paper/wax paper ...
preheat ur oven at medium
now take the following things n set aside .....

granulated sugar 3/4 cup
eggs 4
salt a pinch
flour first sift n then measure 3/4 cup
baking powder 1 tsp.
vanilla essence 1 tsp.

beat eggs till frothy ......add sugar slowly and add vanilla essence and beat at high speed ....till it thickens a bit ,...(for 5 min. at least)
add baking powder n salt to flour ....n then add flour to egg mixture n fold in it .....when its smooth .....pour in tray n put in the oven for 20 minutes

now while ur roll is in the oven .....take a clean kitchen towel ....n cover it with sifted ground sugar ......set aside!

after 20 min. take the tray out of oven ....turn the baked product on kitchen towel ....remove wax paper ....cut any hard edges ....n roll it ....in that towel

after sometime when its cool .....open the roll ....spread filling roll again n cut in thin slices ....! :)

for filling ....you can use any jam / jelly ....or make a cream filling of ur choice
i mixed cream sugar n cocoa powder .....beat till thickens as an icing ....n then spread !

may be it sounds complicated ....but i can tell you ...its easier than any cake .....n looks beautiful !

for filling

Thanks for the recipe. I will try it your way. My jelly rolls always crack. Can you please tell the oven temp? What is medium? 350 F?
Thanks so much.

trim those crust type hard edges before rolling it in kitchen towel...plus try to roll it as soon as possible when it comes out of oven ....just remove the wax paper , trim edges if any n roll ....!!

yes ....right oven temp. is 350 F/180C...!

Gud luck:)

swiss rolls are very tricky to make. Well done Afia! last time I made those were in home economics, some 10 years ago. hehe

hmm yummy, I learned to make them at school too.

yours looks delicious.

thanx catty n saadia ...:-)

so u both have studied home economics ...????

Yummm

Waisay home economics merey office ke bilkul saath hai ;)

*Originally posted by Afia: *
thanx catty n saadia ...:-)

so u both have studied home economics ...????

na didnt study home economics, but had cooking classes during evenings once in two weeks for a year.

Yummy :)

:love: :yummy: :love: :yummy: :love: :yummy: :love: