Help!

OK I have a story but it’s long and complicated, but I thought maybe you guys (and gals) could help me out a little. Before I start I just want to tell you a bit about myself, and where I am coming from…I am a Pakistani, and consider myself to be a fairly good Muslim…so please when you read this be open-minded and don’t judge me on something you would find anti-Islamic.

A few years back I started University, and moved away from home (although I was still supported by my parents). After a couple of days there I saw the most beautiful girl I had ever seen in my life; long, blond hair, amazing eyes, just perfect in everyway. I soon got to know her, and I found out she was a practising Muslim from the Middle-East. Over the next two years we became best friends (as plutonic as you can get) and we pretty much knew everything about each other, you could call us inseparable. Even though we were two really different people, with different backgrounds, we got along with each other extremely well and had the same views over religion and life. Eventually I realised I was falling in love with her…

Anyway, the following events happened about 2 years after we first met each other…One day I bumped into her and she seemed to be really upset (in tears) so I asked her what was wrong. She basically told me her father was setting up an arranged marriage for her. I was surprised, because from what I knew, she was really looking forward to getting married as soon as possible, with whomever her parents chose because she trusted their decision (I knew this from a general conversation a few of us friends were once having). I assumed she did not like the person her parents had chosen, but she replied that he was not the problem. Over the next couple of days I bugged her to tell me why she was so upset, and she eventually told me (something along the lines of) “I’m not the person I used to be, and I’ll never be satisfied with anyone my parents choose for me, because I know I have already found the perfect person”. I asked her who, and she reluctantly said it was me. Believe it or not I was totally shocked and I had no idea what to say. We just starred at each other for the longest time, it seemed like hours though it was probably just a few secs and I eventually kissed her (I know I shouldn’t have done that as a Muslim, but like I said earlier I make mistakes like everyone else).

We kind of avoided each other for a few weeks after that, I guess we were both finding it hard to comprehend that we were in love with each other. That was only for a short time and we eventually began seeing each other again (as friends). A few months later we decided that we cared enough for each other and wanted to get married. After we told our families, both of them had pretty much the same reaction, they wanted to have nothing to do with us and cut off all ties. They stopped talking to us, (I was not even allowed to see my younger sister, who I am really close with) they stopped giving us money to live off. We basically had to choose each other or our family, and we made the tough choice. Personally I find it frustrating that even though we are both Muslims, our families thought of the culture over it. I am sick and tired by the amount of times we have heard people tell us our relationship will fail. Sometimes I feel really guilty that I basically ruined her comfortable life by having her lose all her family. We’ve both had to make huge sacrifices, just to have future happiness.

I was just wandering a few things…Firstly I wanted to know if under Islamic law am I allowed to marry a girl, without her father’s permission? (I honestly have no idea)…do any of you have similar experiences?

~~

If the girl is adult yes u can marry her without her fathers permission. Although its better that both of ur families agree upon it, marriege is not just being two ppl as one, but two families.

If u think shes worth it, & u both love each other u can marry her, politly ask ur family to agree upon, if they dont u can always be polite even after marriege & ask them to atleast accept now.

I will be more happy if both of u ppls parents agree tho.

:bravo:

i would say that u aint going ne where without the happiness of your parents. although u love her very much but just for one person are u ready to give up a whole family and propably other relatives too? i would say that u talk to your parents about this and get to know why they are against this. i know many people in the situation u are in. as a matter of fact i live with one of them. newayz u know better your situation. newayz best of luck

*jab pyar kiya to darna kya ;) *

i say forget everyone n get married!! u already took the huge step of kissing ( the reason i assume u posted in corner room), u already talked to ur parents.. no one understands n listen .. so just forget it n get married.. she already sacrificed so much. ur parents will eventually come around.. they cant be mad at u both for long .. i am sure they'll be okay once they see u both happy.

p.s this story is perfect indian movie.. u have the hero n heroin and zalim samajh.. i just added a song as well.
consult yash chopra for further directions.

u shud try to seek ur parents' support on this....
and dont forget that parents' happiness has a great value in islam....

hey comeon man, you're luckier than most of us people here. atleast you got to kiss!

well dear,
if she really worth loosing your parents, then go for her,
I know , parents get mad at time, but you need to prove after wards that your decision wasnt wrong. and you need to convince them that she was the right person and she also need to prove that, by showing respect and care for your family.
parents have the highest rights after ALLAH , so you musnt forget them, try to convince them as much as you can, but only if she is worthy enough to get into such a headache.
waissay one more thing, could you tell us , who she is , I mean is she an Egyptian or a Lebanese or from Palestine. waissay all are :k: and gorgeous ;)… but beauty aint the thing,if she is a Muslim then there shouldnt be any problems … you need to have good sense making reasons to convince your parents…

waissay why last question,why you created a new id for posting this question. :smiley:

Grow up dude, ur here in this world becoz of ur beautiful parents. Don't rebel, & don't do anythin stupid. I had earlier mentioned in one of my threads that paki guys just wanna fall in love & marry without being really "independent". Talk with ur parents, Xplain this situation - shez a muslim & she'll live up 2 it - INSHALLAH. Now all u've got 2 worry about is that ur gal showz true loyalty & u work out somethin with ur parents & all of u r happy. All I can say is that ALLAH be with u.

Re: Help!

*Originally posted by 50Cent: *Firstly I wanted to know if under Islamic law am I allowed to marry a girl, without her father’s permission?

According the Hanafi fiqh, you definately can.

Two very simple things. JonyBr is right, it is a marriage between families. I suggest you two pressure your families to accept the marriage.

1. Find out what they have against the marriage? The simple issue would be that you did it without their permission and the common assumption would be that she roped you in and that you roped her in depending on which family you talk to.

Also play the cards right. If you want to talk to the girls family, talk to the mother, she is far closer to her daughter and most likely would yield to the pleading of her daughter.

If you its you dad. Your mother being Pakistani is by defintion smothering and highly protective (in the good way of course) Talk to your dad about it.

1. Dont marry without their permission, as that would be the final straw for both the families. Also i suggest you visit each family uninvited and unexpected and talk to them. I doubt your mother and father will throw you out of the house. Knock on the door and walk in.

Parents dont know always what is right. They are humans they look after you and they most likely feel that the girl has roped you in. Go with your wife to be etc etc. And stay there and get it settled.

If you get married without the consent of the parents. Forget having a peaceful and happy life.

"why you created a new id for posting this question."

Firstly, i did not create a new ID for this, i have been coming to the boards for a while and thought about joining now...

" and gorgeous ... but beauty aint the thing"

Some of you think i am in love with her because of her looks, and i just want to dismiss that. Yeah i admit my first impressions were shallow, but after that it's always been about her as a person.

“Grow up dude, ur here in this world becoz of ur beautiful parents. Don't rebel, & don't do anythin stupid. I had earlier mentioned in one of my threads that paki guys just wanna fall in love & marry without being really "independent". Talk with ur parents, Xplain this situation - shez a muslim & she'll live up 2 it - INSHALLAH. Now all u've got 2 worry about is that ur gal showz true loyalty & u work out somethin with ur parents & all of u r happy. All I can say is that ALLAH be with u.”

Don’t think this is me just tryin to rebel against my parents, I’m nothing like that. I didn’t ask to fall in love, it just happened. I’m not one of those typical guys, compared to many Pakistanis I know I am a saint, i never messed around with girls in my life….this is just different. We have talked to our parents a lot, and basically they are saying that because we come from two completely different cultures, our marriage will fail, even though we have the same religion. I see where they are coming from, but IMO its BS. In the near 3 years I have known her, we have never had any problems with culture…Also about loyalty, I know we are both 100% loyal, she is not the type of person to betray me and i know that.

The thing that annoys me is that no matter how much we talk to them, they keep saying that our relationship will fail, cos she is Arab, and I’m paki…

Anyway I didn’t have time to reply to all of you, but I think I pretty much covered all your points…

Thanks, i appreciate all your feedback and opinions :)

~~

I suggest you stick to your guns and stand by her. You've both gone through so much to be with one another. Now support one anothers' decisions by standing together. I think, over time, both families will come to accept your situation.....perhaps over a period of some years, but eventually will happen.

I wish you both happiness.

You didn’t ruine her life, it was a mutual decision. Your parents are wrong to push you away…typical reaction. What do you parents want, that you leave her go marry some other chick that you won’t even care about or be with her while you are thinking about whom you really wanted to be with…that would be adultry. Talk to your parents over and over. One day they will understand.

Compare to the other pakistani guy at least you didn’t mess around and than claim you were a saint :rolleyes: and end up marry some chick from back home who has no idea that you have been around the block. But i’m sure that would be ok versus this where you are wanting to spend the rest of your life with one person… the double standards of us desi people.

suroor_ca02 :rolleyes: grow up indian movies are not a guidebook for what to do in the real word.

I agree, however its not only pakistani guys or desi people its all sorts of Muslims…arabs sigh

Altough I am making some assumtions... I think your parents are not agreeble probably for three reasons.... 1) that they may have another girl..or atleast a vision of a girl in there mind...2) they are wondering how there grand kids will be...I mean lose there culture etc.... 3) there probably wondering what others in there society or relatives are thinking of them....
First two you can talk to them... I mean ask the girl to learn some customs language etc....perhaps convery to your parents of you desire to live in PAk for a little while..... and third...thats a tough one.... good luck!

Bhadsha...

1. Basically i agree with that, but it gets to me...i mean i am the one who is going to be married to that person for the rest of my life, so should'nt i have the right to be with someone i know and love, rather than someone who has lived in another country all their life and doesnt even speak my first language?

2. Also my parents brought me up in a highly cultural way, unlike all my cousins i was taught Urdu and Punjabi. So there is no way my kids will ever lose it, i believe in culture and i think it easy for children to have two seperate cultures.

3. Bhadsha, i really do not care what others think of me.

The lucky thing is, at the begining of the year a firm decided to sponsor me in Uni, as long as i work for them after i leave...so i have been giving her the money to support her and living of my savings (both our families stopped giving us money, which we relied on)

~~

*Originally posted by 50Cent: *
Bhadsha...

1. Basically i agree with that, but it gets to me...i mean i am the one who is going to be married to that person for the rest of my life, so should'nt i have the right to be with someone i know and love, rather than someone who has lived in another country all their life and doesnt even speak my first language?

2. Also my parents brought me up in a highly cultural way, unlike all my cousins i was taught Urdu and Punjabi. So there is no way my kids will ever lose it, i believe in culture and i think it easy for children to have two seperate cultures.

3. Bhadsha, i really do not care what others think of me.

The lucky thing is, at the begining of the year a firm decided to sponsor me in Uni, as long as i work for them after i leave...so i have been giving her the money to support her and living of my savings (both our families stopped giving us money, which we relied on)

~~

wow.........how soooooooooo sweet

but you know I have to hate you.........but in a good way sigh

nawwwwwwww..reallyy??? :eek: :rolleyes:

Please check your inbox(PM box) a little later today. I will send you some references, of what you asked.

Why this thread is in Corner room? I think it belongs to Family forum.