Well, Quran says in Sorah Banni Israel, Ayah no. 93.
" Don't act like jews who had made sects and broke their religion into pieces."
"The one who makes sect has no connection with Islam anymore."
I want to add up, with this Surah 3:31.
If you love Allaah, then follow the Prophet then Allaah will love you.
Surah 4:59
If there is any contradiction between the men then refer back to Allaah and Prophet.
Surah 3:103
Hold tight to the rope of Allaah and do not make sects
The above 3 are the ones which come to my mind always for unity of Muslim Ummah.
Though I have just paraphrased it.
Respectable OMG
In my humble opinion, the sect which is the chosen one is actually a group, and not a sect. Let me elaborate my humble submissions.
We know and believe that Muslims worship ONE TRUE ALLAH and consider HOLY PROPHET MUHAMMAD (MPBUH) as his last true messenger.
We also know and believe that Muslims will go to Heaven as it is for the righteous.
But there is another thing which we at times tend to ignore i.e., Muslims who do not act according to the Islamic commandments, will be sent to Hell. What I am trying to infer is that Muslim is a broad term which encompasses not a particular sect. The muslims in Hell will be from from all sects, and similarly, those in Heaven will also be from all sects. But that Heavenly group will be the chosen one. It will be one group, that 73rd sect who;
1. Will believe and worship Allah.
2. Will consider Holy Prophet Muhammad (MPBUH) as his last true messneger.
3. Will believe in other fundamentals of Faith like, Prophets, Holy Books, Angels, Hell, Heaven, Taqdeer etc.
4. Will offer prayers, give Zakat, observe Fast, perform Hajj, do Jehad.
5. Will love and respect Holy Prophet (MPBUH), his Ahle Bait (AS) and his Sahaba (RA).
6. Will take guidance from Quran.
7. Will take guidance from Hadith.
8. Will strive for the establishment of Sunnah.
9. And will hold fast to the rope of Allah.
Just look around and find for your ownself who are the chosen ones. At least I see those Chosen ones in every Sect. Regarding others who will go to Hell, only Allah knows best.
Wassalam.
I extremely sorry you contradict the Hadith of Prophet may peace and blessing of Allaah be upon him and talk about a whole lot of People then who follow the Quran and the Sunnah.
Sir the Hadith is pellucid and there is nothing cryptic about it. When asked which is the sect which will go to heaven then you guess whats the answer. I do respect your thoughts but how can you find this people on all sects going to heave can you please elaborate.
I know of so many sects in Muslims, where the leaders or Scholars have committed bida'h though we might feel they are pious but go against Quran and Sunnah Wa kullu bidah dallaalin, wa kullu dalalatin fin nar.
All innovations leaves you to astray, and all astray leads you to hell fire.
If the above words if you have written with ignorance its fine but Prophet Mohammed may peace and blessing of Allaah be upon him clearly in his Authentic hadith mentions Someone who lies about my saying, let him reserve his seat in hell fire.
When Allaah is told dont divide into sects, then how can we ever say that in every sect they are pious ones. Then if they hold on to the rope of Allaah then how can there be sects no way. During the time of Prophet may peace and blessing of Allaah be upon him there was only one sect.
The above word of Allaah is compatible with Hadith of Prophet may peace and blessing of Allaah be upon him.
I think the thread was opened to actually remind us that there is no sect in Islam except that you are Muslam and you follow Islam. Dr Sufi and yo_wasim I think you guys are hijacking this thread. :)
There is no sect... sunni and shiah are sects not hanafi/shafi/maliki/hambali they are madhabs: the good understanding of the Prophet's action with the Quran.
My Respected Sir
May Allah Almighty in his ultimate mercy forgive a humble man like me. I would never ever dare contradict anything stated by My Holy Prophet (MPBUH).
For your very kind perusal I am attaching this Hadith from Jame Tirmazi in Arabic.
Sir as you can see, that those, who have been promised salvation and an abode in Heaven have been collectively called as Millat-in-Wahida, so if I in my humble capacity, call them as ONE CHOSEN GROUP, it is in line with this Hadith and not in contradiction. Moreover, I can give you refernces from Holy Quran as well;
Verily this Ummah of yours is a single Ummah, and I am your Lord and Cherisher; therefore serve Me (Anbiya 21:92)
Verily this Ummah of yours is a single Ummah, and I am your Lord and Cherisher; therefore fear Me (Mu’minun 23:52)
The believers are but a single Brotherhood; so make peace and reconciliation between your two brothers; and fear Allah, that ye may recieve mercy (Hujurat 49:10)
Sir you see, even Allah Almighty considers all believers to be ONE UMMAH, ONE BROTHERHOOD. And in my humble opinion, if you use the word UMMAH, BROTHERHOOD, MILLAT and GROUP, it is all one and the same thing. On the contrary, Sect is synonymous with division and schism. I as a humble Ummati of Holy Prophet (MPBUH) would like to draw your kind attention to two Ahadith.
Hazrat Abu Huraira (RA) stated that Holy Prophet (MPBUH) said, To have a good notion (*Husn-e-Zan) *towards others is an excellent Ibadat (Husn-il-Ibadah), (From Masnad-e-Ahmad and Sunan Abi Daud).
Hazrat Ayesha (RA) states that once, the camel of Hazrat Safia (RA), became ill. Hazrat Zainab (RA) had one extra camel. Holy Prophet (MPBUH) told Hazrat Zainab (RA) to give her extra camel to Hazrat Safia (RA). To this Hazrat Zainab (RA) obeyed by repling “I hereby give my camel to this Jewess”. After hearing this Holy Prophet became furious and did not visit her for Zil-Haj, Muharram and some part of Safar, (From Sunan Abi Daud). Mind you, all these ladies were Umhat-ul-Momineen. Hazrat Safia (RA) had converted to Islam from Judaism.
Just see, on the remark of Jewess, (which was not malafied or with a bad intention), Holy Prophet (MPBUH) remained angry with Hazrat Zainab, his wife for more than two months. Imagine how much anger will he show towards those who intentionally, willfuly and knowingly call other Muslims as Kafir, Heretic, etc etc. I once again reiterate, that we are nobody to testify as who is Kafir and who is not. Similarly, we cannot judge as who will go to Heaven and who won’t. For this I humbly suggest to follow the Ayat at serial 3 and Hadith at serial 1. Lets have a Husn-e-Zan for all Sects and leave the matter of Heaven/Hell to the ONE WHO owns them and ONE WHO is ALL KNOWING i.e., ALLAH SUBHANA HU TA’ALLA.
Wassalam.
Respected Sir
Sir please read my post once again. You are saying that there is no sect in Islam. I am saying that all sects are Muslim. It is one and the same thing. If you think that I am somehow trying to hijack this thread, I offer my applogies for this misunderstanding. Please also check my previous mail which I just posted before reading your comment. It says it all.
Wassalam.
Dr. Sufi, i have lots of respect for you, and I have read all your post word to word, I dont miss out because of your articulate and crystal clear writing. I was shocked from a few written words, in my humble capacity to understand Islam.
I just read your thread completely. I am sorry but never have I mentioned that my Muslim brothers are kafirs, in turn I will be a kafir, never will i do that. I am concerned about Ummah following the right path, if Allaah is talking about Ummah in my understanding it is the Ummah which follow the Quran and Sunnah according to Verse 3:31 of the quran. To add to your above explanation, I dont have anything against my Musim brothers i will always stand beside them though he might be innovating in matters of Quran and Hadith but once it comes to internal matter I would love him and pass on my knowledge as told by Allaah so that s/he can follow the right path. My success is not with you, or my parents its with Allaah, I would just love to propagate the message of the Truth.
May Allaah guides to the right path, and may our final abode be Paradise
Ameen wa rabilalameen
We are making an effort to come to one united stand, with consensus or ijma. By evidence in Quran and Hadith.
Just because if Dr. Sufi or wasim provides with something our value is big zero. To better understand the meaning, we are trying to come up with more evidence.
bhai sahib I am sorry if I blamed you for something you didn’t do. I just hate when people start to argue on every single thread. There are threads one learns from it, says jazakAllah to the writer. But people here start to derail by counter arguing and so on.
Join that Muslim group which is all for the Love of Allah, His Prophet :saw:, the Prophets :as: before him, Sahaba :ra:, Tabaeen (r), and Buzurgaan-e-Deen (r).
Thanks for the effort for writing such a nice article above. Sorry but I find it a bit flawed.
I am very aware that you have much knowledge and are always looking for Unity within the Ummah and studiously avoid controversy. [May Allah (swt) reward you amply for your noble and sincere efforts] But that does not mean that we must gloss over the Truth and cover up it just so that we appear to be nice to everyone.
The Prophet (sallallâhu ’alayhi wa sallam) had warned that his Ummah will be split into 73 sects and that 72 will go to hell for their incorrect or flawed beliefs and deeds as punishment. These people once having paid the price will have their abode in Jannah just like other Muslims.
Even those who hold the correct Aqeedah (set of Beliefs) will enter Jannah with deeds and not just because they happen to have the right Aqeedah.
Of course Allah (swt) out of his immense Mercy can forgive everyone and anyone who has not committed Shirk.
Now coming to the following quotation from your post:
In light of following two hadith of Rasool Allah (sallallâhu ’alayhi wa sallam) [there are many more], will you still consider that those who hold the view that the Sahabah (raa) (except for a few) all turned hypocrites and renegaded from true Islam?
Do you hold those who curse the three the Rightly-Guided Khalîfahs as from the saved sect?
The Prophet (sallallâhu ’alayhi wa sallam) said:
“I advise you to have taqwâ of Allâh and to hear and to obey, even if an Abyssinian slave becomes your leader. Those of you who live long after me will see a lot of differences, so hold fast to my Sunnah and to the Sunnah of the Rightly-Guided Khalîfahs after me. Cling to it tightly and beware of newly-invented matters, for every newly invented matter is an innovation, and every innovation is misguidance, and all misguidance is in the Fire.” - Related by Abû Dâwûd (no.4607), at-Tirmidhî (no.2676)
The Prophet (sallallâhu ’alayhi wa sallam) also said:
“Indeed, the people of the Book before you split-up into seventy-two sects. And this nation will split-up into seventy-three sects, seventy two are in the Fire and one is in Paradise.” [5] And in another narration: “All of them are in the Fire except one.” It was asked: Who is that one? He replied: “That which I and my Companions are upon.” Related by at-Tirmidhî (5/62) and al-Hâkim (1/128)
Here I am not pitching for Sunnism for in it there are tons of people fully merged in rituals which are alien to Islam.
Only those who belief and practice Islam in its pristine form – as preached and practiced by Rasool Allah (sallallâhu ’alayhi wa sallam) and his Companions (May Allah Be pleased with them all).
I am sorry brother Dr. Sufi to take issue with you – you are such a polite and knowledgeable brother – but the truth must be told even if one appears to be awkward and controversial and undiplomatic.
Authenticated hadith of Rasool Allah (sallallâhu ’alayhi wa sallam) should be our ‘guiding light’ rather than what we think ‘sounds nice and palatable to everyone’.
May Allah (swt) guide us all to path that pleases Him and that He forgives ours misdeeds.
“I advise you to have taqwâ of Allâh and to hear and to obey, even if an Abyssinian slave becomes your leader. Those of you who live long after me will see a lot of differences, so hold fast to my Sunnah and to the Sunnah of the Rightly-Guided Khalîfahs after me. Cling to it tightly and beware of newly-invented matters, for every newly invented matter is an innovation, and every innovation is misguidance, and all misguidance is in the Fire.” - Related by Abû Dâwûd (no.4607), at-Tirmidhî (no.2676)
“Indeed, the people of the Book before you split-up into seventy-two sects. And this nation will split-up into seventy-three sects, seventy two are in the Fire and one is in Paradise.” [5] And in another narration: “All of them are in the Fire except one.” It was asked: Who is that one? He replied: “That which I and my Companions are upon.” Related by at-Tirmidhî (5/62) and al-Hâkim (1/128)
Authenticated hadith of Rasool Allah (sallallâhu ’alayhi wa sallam) should be our ‘guiding light’ rather than what we think ‘sounds nice and palatable to everyone’.
May Allah (swt) guide us all to path that pleases Him and that He forgives ours misdeeds.
Ibn siddique, the above hadith is always send chill down my spine. May Allaah bless us and refuge us from the evil.
This is what i am pitching for always, the above hadith is what i wanted to explain to Dr. Sufi, but later teaser made a derogatory statement.
Teaser i dont argue on topics which i dont have knowledge, but on topics which i have knowledge and I know the truth, thats when I put my point across, i know at times it provocating. To tell you all overall those are not my points again but in detail Quran and Hadith, as authenticity is required.
As in the Hadith, if someone possesses knowledge of truth please propogate and even in the Quran otherwise i would be sinning.
Because though i know my muslim brother is doing a mistake, i keep quiet.
I would conclude by saying If you feel my arguments are baseless, please do correct me with the truth, but get me the proof.
Just tell me which sect did Sayyedna Muhammad :saw: practiced?
About ahadiths, yes he predicted that there will be 72 or 73 sects. But he didnot order us to make any as Quran forbids us to do so.
Jews have 72 sects. And Allah forbid us to act like jews, check my first post.
Barelvies commit shirk, on the other hand Wahabies pay rude to Sayyedna Muhammad :saw:. Shias accuse Sahabas and Mothers of Muslims (Umhat-ul Mo’mineen). And so on.
I don’t understand if Allah has chosen Islam for all mankind, why people make sects? It not only biddah but they commit a forbidden deed. **
They make sects to fulfill their desires. That is all. Shias who commit shirk are considered kafir by Alhe-sunna and so are Barelvis who commit shirk and all the others...
Just tell me which sect did Sayyedna Muhammad :saw: practiced?
Prophet Muhammad (sallallâhu ’alayhi wa sallam) did not belong to any sect and practiced Islam as ordained by Allah Almighty, full stop.
*Refer to the ayah below and see the Allah Almighty has named us as Muslims and ordered the Muslims to “hold fast, all of you together, to the cable of Allah, and do not separate. And remember Allah’s favour unto you” (3:103)
And strive for Allah with the endeavour which is His right. He hath chosen you and hath not laid upon you in religion any hardship; the faith of your father Abraham (is yours). **He hath named you Muslims *of old time and in this (Scripture) that the messenger may be a witness against you, and that ye may be witnesses against mankind. So establish worship, pay the poor-due, and hold fast to Allah. He is your Protecting friend. A blessed Patron and a blessed Helper! 22:78
About ahadiths, yes he predicted that there will be 72 or 73 sects. But he didnot order us to make any as Quran forbids us to do so.
True. But he did Prophesize and forewarn the Muslims that they will break into 73 sects. What he prophesizes will come to pass and we are witness to it that it did.
*Being the last Messenger from Allah Almighty, Prophet Muhammad (sallallâhu ’alayhi wa sallam) did advice the Muslims how to make sure that they are on the correct path.
“Indeed, the people of the Book before you split-up into seventy-two sects. And this nation will split-up into seventy-three sects, seventy two are in the Fire and one is in Paradise.” And in another narration: “All of them are in the Fire except one.” It was asked: Who is that one? He replied: “That which I and my Companions are upon.” Related by at-Tirmidhî (5/62) and al-Hâkim (1/128)
And it is true that every sect in every religion always believes to be on the right path. This fact is confirmed by the Quran too.
Turning unto Him (only); and be careful of your duty unto Him and establish worship, and be not of those who ascribe partners (unto Him); 30:31
Of those who split up their religion and became schismatics, each sect exulting in its tenets. 30:32*
Barelvies commit shirk, on the other hand Wahabies pay rude to Sayyedna Muhammad :saw:. Shias accuse Sahabas and Mothers of Muslims (Umhat-ul Mo’mineen). And so on.
Pray, tell me how are ‘Wahabies’ rude to to Sayyedna Muhammad :saw
**I don’t understand if Allah has chosen Islam for all mankind, why people make sects? It not only biddah but they commit a forbidden deed. **
This is the weakness in Human nature that it opts for differences and division. And that’s what the Quran and Rasool Allah (sallallâhu ’alayhi wa sallam) had warned us against.