Help the 2013 and 2014 brides!! Please

Hi everyone, I can see a lot of threads coming up that are related to weddings halls and stuff from different brides to be, so, please can anyone list down the wedding halls, banquets, hotels. Also, what are their budgets and cost per head.
And what i have heard from some is that, the place, stage and seats are under one price and Food and flowers are completely separate Its insanely expensive these days but i know something can be done in a reasonable price. My budget is 4 to 5 lac for one event. Any one who can help, we will be grateful.

Lets just discuss it here.

Re: Help the 2013 and 2014 brides!! Please

no help :( i dont know where to start from?

What is your location? I see it's Pakistan based on the currency in your post, but you haven't stated where exactly in Pakistan.

I won't be able to help you because I'm not in Pakistan, but I'm sure once you've said where it is your based, then someone will be able to help you.

ohhh how stupid of me i didn't mention. I am from karachi. KARACHI halls and places please. :-)

Disney princess thank you so much for the correction.

Hello !
I am a 2014 bride-to-be myself and my wedding will be taking place Inshallah early 2014 in Lahore. have posted a thread on information in relation to Couple Shoot photographers in Lahore… might be useful :slight_smile: and while your at it, please feel free to drop in ur suggestions and share ur experiences.

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/wedding/610619-couple-shoot-photographers-in-lahore-information-and-questions.html#

I need help too. Early 2014 bride to be in shaa Allah

For those brides living outside of Pakistan and don't plan on going to Pakistan for shopping, where are you getting your outfits made from?

How do you trust people to get it made for you : (

hello!

i'm an early 2014 bride too IA and am now moving back to Khi after 6 years of living in Lahore. I don't even have like a girls' network here, haven't had a family wedding in ages and am just generally so far removed from the shadi stuff that I was feeling completely lost before I encountered this place. The forums have been very useful and so this is time to give some love back. :)

So, for the completely uninitiated (like me), here's the break down on the wedding event stuff. Here are the different categories of costs you will be paying for the event:

1. Rent of the venue
    Will generally include venue + electricity + generator backup + air conditioning ... unless it's a lawn I guess - don't know about those. This cost is often bundled in with cost number 2 when the venue people are covering that also.

2. Decoration
    Will generally include furniture, linen, crockery, waiters, valet service, etc. May include options for standard stage setups that you can pick from. May or may not include floral arrangements, centerpieces etc. These things vary based on the decorators. If you want something different or fancier, you'll probably have to pay extra (see 5). This is often a per head cost.

3. Food

4. Mineral water & cold drinks
    Contrary to intuition, this is done by the hall walas, not the food caterers.

5. Stage and / or floral arrangements charges
    These may be separate and can be optional.

Hope I haven't confused you. I just use this breakdown in my head to understand and compare costs and make sure I have everything covered.

So for my wedding research, I usually pull up the relevant page on Karachi snob and look up each of the items one by one. If I like them, I give them a call and find out details. I also add in names I pick up on the forum on to my list for each category. Oh yeah, and I'm a bit of a freak about this. I have a separate file for each major category (venue, caterers/decorators, makeup, photography) and folders full of pictures for inspiration. Sometimes I get a bad feeling about where this is heading...

Anyhoo, here are the details I have gotten together on different venues in Karachi:

DHA COUNTRY & GOLF CLUB
Tel: 021-35845309-10, 35845304, Ext. 318

They have 2 wedding halls:
1. Functions Hall
Capacity: 500-600
Rent: Rs. 135,000/- if your parents are members
Rs. 175,000/- if you know someone who's a member
Rs. 190,000/- otherwise (don't know if this is actually true coz heard it from someone, not from the golf club authorities)

1. Convention Centre Capacity: 1000 Rent: Rs. 350,000/- for members and non members alike

Charges include 4 hours of electricity, a/c, backup generator, rent. Have to pay Rs. 20,000 security deposit (refundable). They have a list of approved caterers and decorators which you are allowed to hire from (I don't have the list yet but don't think this presents a problem since the good ones will probably be on it).

I've seen the Functions Hall at a wedding and it is quite beautiful. It is a very serious candidate for my wedding venue, given that I can get a date. They were almost booked for Jan when I called on 20th July*.*

THE PALM
Shahrah-e-Attar, Clifton (right next to the new Dolmen Mall)
Tel : +92-21-35830575-6, Cell : 0300-9235400, 0321-933-6636
The Palm - Event Management - Wedding Planner - Decorators - Caterers

These guys have a venue and also have a catering & decoration service.

Venue: The Palm Garden
Two lawns here, with around 550 capacity each. Here are the details for taking up one:

Venue Cost: Rs. 50,000 (rent) + Rs. 35,000 (for 100 KVA generator with fuel)

Decoration: Rs. 450 per head
Includes pleated marquee, imported carpets, wall paneling, round tables, wooden polish cafe tables, head tables with mirror top, chairs (long back, napolean or carving), Jacquard or organza linen, string and spot lighting illumination, white leather sofa lounges with tables, gazebo, arches, chandeliers, crockery, cutlery, valet service, standard stage and uniformed waiter service.

This last para was copied straight from their email. I don’t even know what some of that stuff means. For the “standard stage”, their guy (Mr. Yasir Syed) told me they offer 10-12 different options for stage setups within this price and I think people generally stick with one of them. If you want something different, they have additional options, covered below.

Flower Stage (optional): Ranges from 30k to 150k. Includes platform, carpet, backdrop, imported fresh flowers arrangment, stage lights, lamps, sofa, and table.

Flower Arrangement (optional): Ranges from 40k to 150k. Includes imported fresh flowers elaborated floral and candle arrangement at tables, coffee tables, head tables, lounges, passage, buffet, entrance, and different props.

Soft Drinks: Rs. 20 per bottle

Mineral Water: Rs. 50 per bottle (1.5 liter)

Food: Lots of different options but for an example the following winter menu will cost around Rs. 500 per head

Mutton kunna / korma
Chicken biryani / pulao
Fried fish
Wontons
Bar b q bihari tikka
Fresh salad
Salad bar
Dessert
Garlic nan, taftan

You can hire them for any mix of their services. They can provide catering and decoration for other venues including all the DHA clubs. I still have to go see what their arrangements are like but I’ve heard their decorations are beautiful and I liked how professional they’ve been in their interaction so far. They are one of the people I’ve short listed for in person visits.

Incidentally, found this bad review of them from 2011 while googling for their website abhi:
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/wedding/518247-the-palm-luxury-gardens-karachi.html
Hmm…

A1 WEDDING LAWNS
**Location: Adjacent Nissan World Automobile, Park Towers, Clifton.
Tel: 021-3-581-0220, 3-581-0221, 0301-821-0803

Lawn rent: 100,000/-
Capacity: 1000
Decoration: Rs. 350-650 per head for everything except food, drinks, water and fresh flowers stage
(Don’t know if they have a marquee or not.)
AVARI TOWERS**
Tel: 021-566-0100, UAN: 111-282-747

Poolside only option for 500 + guests.
Rs. 1900 + tax per head.
Includes decoration items + food (2 mains & 2 desserts).
Only provide platform for the stage though, so you’ll have to do that separately.

**NIZAM
Tel: 021-3-538-4637, 3-538-4638
Catering, Pakistan, Wedding, Decorators, Planners, Party, Karachi, Nizam Event Solutions, Imperial, Clifton, Shahrah faisal, Lawns, Marquee

They told us they have a hall and 2 canopies. Don’t know what that means exactly but will probably be visiting them so will update this part after that.

Rent: Rs. 200,000
Decoration: Rs. 500-1200 per head (stage, flowers, upholstery, furniture, waiters, valet parking etc.)
Food: Rs. 500 per head (3 mains, 2 sides, 2 desserts)

These guys have their own venue and also provide catering and decoration services so you can use them for one or more of these things. They can provide catering and decoration for the DHA Clubs.

MAJESTIC
Location: Main Shahrah-e-Faisal, right next to Lal Qila restaurant.
Tel: 021-3-454-1445, 3-454-1446

Marquee A: Capacity 800 person. Rs. 800 per head
Marquee B: Capacity up to 500. Flat rate of 300,000 irrespective of how many guests you have

Rates include A/C, furniture, crockery etc. (except stage, mineral water, cold drinks and food).

They also own Asia Tent House and so can also do the food. I have more detailed rates for these people lying around somewhere but honestly don’t want to bother putting them up. I visited them a couple of days ago coz I’d stopped by to see The Court and they’re just down the road. The place literally stank! Imagine really bad musty carpet smell. The decor was barely passable, had absolutely no fresh flowers at all anywhere, just some corny artificial flower arrangements. Their carpets and wall coverings looked dirty. In order to get to the offices (and washrooms), you have to walk past all the crap that you don’t want your guests to see (cooking utensils, spare furniture, men working etc.). I popped open the door to one of the washrooms (yup, I’m the kind of person who checks these things - it’s important! I don’t want my guests to curse me when they have to go into dirty smelly bathrooms in their fanciest clothes!), and it looked very meh and smelled pretty bad. We went there at around 7 pm while the place was still being set up for the event that night. The furniture was in place and I came across a guy sweeping what seemed to be the previous night’s event’s kachra from the carpets, and he wasn’t doing a good job of it. Made me downright unhappy :frowning: yaar, at least hall saaf suthra tou hona chahiay! Given the fact that it is actually not that much cheaper than The Court (which was amazing), I think it would be better to just stay away from this place.
PEARL CONTINENTAL HOTEL
**UAN: 111-505-505

Marquee Hall: Capacity 600 people. Rent: Rs. 394,000 (including tax).
Different menu rates. They said they’d mail me but haven’t yet.

**SADABAHAR
**53/54 Alamgir Road / Hyder Ali Road, Kokan Society, Bahadurabad (this is apparently on a main road)
Tel: 021-3-493-7012, 3-493-7013, 0300-350-0002

Capacity: 1200-1300 people, start with minimum 500-600
Rates vary across the year but for January it’s Rs. 490,000 for everything except food, stage flower arrangements, cold drinks and mineral water.

GUL E BAHAR
55 Alamgir Road/ Hyder Ali Road, Kokan Society, Bahadurabad
Tel: 021-3-493-4265, 3-494-8419

Didn’t call up these guys but since they’re right next to sadabahar (above), the rates are probably similar.

THE BANQUET
CL 7, 14, Civil Lines, Main Fatima Jinnah Road
021-3-564-4939, 3-564-4940

Capacity: 1200, min 400
For 400-700 people, the charges are Rs. 400,000 + Rs. 700 per head for every person over 400.
(so e.g. for 500 guests, it will be 400,000 + (700*100) = 470,000)
Rates include rent + decoration.

Can someone please tell me names of the best cinematic videographers and photographers in Islamabad/Rawalpindi??? I can find so many in Lahore such as usman jamshed, bhattis etc but none of this standard in Islamabad??

Please help!!

Also, names of amazing wedding venues in Islamabad/Rawalpindi??

Any help would be appreciated??

Thank you

there is no problem at all seriously
the budget is enough for one dish menu. look for some descent event planner or management co. just tell them your budget they will quote everything included flowers and stages etc in your budget. if you go for a hall it could be a lil expensive too.
though you need to select some simple stage of flowers in this budget.

spam deleted

Dear Izzy i've replied in your thread
all you need to give a budget range i will suggest best in that

For rawalpindi Try topi rakh ,golf club,marqués in saddar,hotel de.mall,PC,blue lagoon,paradise complex on isb highway
For islamabad u have all the hotels on club road(the one with
islamabad club)
Hotel marriott ,serena,KRL wedding hall,HR lawns E11,islamabad hotel

I'm gonna be a late 2013 bride and since I can't make it out to Pakistan in time to pick out my own outfits, my sister-in-law will be doing most of my shopping for me. I know it's hard to trust someone with such a big thing, but we've been talking about my likes/dislikes. Also my in-laws sent me some gorgeous outfits for my Eidi, so it looks like she has pretty great taste :)