Help Needed Please - Can't listen to Audio Gallerry songs!

hey guys

salams

i am having a problem listening to GS audio gallerry songs on my work PC and my bro’s PC

i tried uploading screenshots of the error mssgs but the popups on my comp are blocked so i cant – and i dont know how to turn the thing on.

hmmm…k, basically when i open a thread in audio gallerry which has a sound file in it, it gives me a green rectangle in the place of the thingie which has that freedom audio thing.

and at the top of the window next to the address bar it says “To help your security, Internet Explorer stopped this site from installing ActiveX control on your computer. Click here for options…”

when i click on this message it gives me the option to Install Active X control

when i click on that then i am taken to a new window

here’s what the error mssg in this new window says:

Internet Explorer - Security Warning

Windows has blocked this software because it can’t verify the publisher.

Name: freedominstaller.cab

Publisher: Unknown Publisher

To protect your computer, Windows will block software when it cannot verify the publisher.

its a Windows popup.

HMMMMMMMMMM so like does anyone know whats goin on and can someone help?

gracias,

wa salam
irem

Umm try this.

Tools >> Internet Options >> Security

Take the vertical bar to low or medium-low. Try now?

I'm having the same problem.

• I unchecked "Check for signature on downloaded programs" (in Advanced settings)
  • Enabled all ActiveX component options in Security
  • Security is set to low

Freedomaudio's ActiveX components are downloaded as "unknown publisher" What can we do in Internet Explorer settings to allow such downloads (other than what I have mentioned above).

Thanks

Service Pack 2 FireWall is the mole here :snooty:

I'm having the same problem as well :(

http://www.gupistan.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=168083

Read this dear, ur not alone. It still remains unsolved. Waisay I’ve found an alternative thanks to my evil brain :dixsi:

Use the shortcut winamp to play your music, if u have winamp or iTunes installed, you’ll be able to stream the entire song, & if you have those irritant dialogue boxes popping upp, just ignore them

P.S Im trying on a new workaround, if its successful, I'll let everyone know

Shukar hai I’m not the only one…

I’m DYING to listen to that Ataullah song pp bhai kindly posted for me.. :crying:

When the error message pops up, hold Ctrl key and then it'll stay on the screen instead of popping up and then disappearing. Then we can take it from there.

I had the same problem Irem but now all i can see is this :(
[thumb=H]audio6392_3966597.JPG[/thumb]

Sandleen That's what I see on my PC but I see all the bottons on my Laptop. It has to do with Java. You can still listen to the songs, just click on the winamp icon. I like it better this way because then you don't have to stay in that thread til the song ends.

Do we have to have the word “Madahnee” in our posts to get an official response in this section? :hehe:
Is there a ceo, director, admin or any other bigshot who can help us out here? :slight_smile:

:) Techie(s) are busy at the moment, please hang in there, abhi fix ho jae ga, agar ghaib na ho gaya tau :o

and it worked as a charm!

Re: Help Needed Please - Can’t listen to Audio Gallerry songs!

thanks all for replies.

YKKB pointed out the root of the problem to me. thanks YKKB :k:

The issue is that freedomaudio software (which is the software being used by GS audio gallerry currently) is not avlbl anymore on www.freedomaudio.com

(check out the website http://www.freedomaudio.com )

thus, it follows that the software author is not verifiable, since the software is not there in the first place.

so those who already have the software installed on their pc’s are able to listen to /upload audio files normally, while for others there is no way to obtain this software (unless it is provided by someone who has it already)

salams
irem

Re: Help Needed Please - Can’t listen to Audio Gallerry songs!

Shikra, thanks for the replies. The problem with that is that those of us who have slow net connections like me for example can’t listen to the song in one go on winamp as that is real time streaming and so gets choppy. i usually open the thread with the song i want to play in another window and then let it run once using the inbuilt freedomaudio player and then even if i am offline and as long as that page is open i can listen to that audio file unintrrupted as it plays fine offline as long as its been played once. (hope i’m making sense).

Re: Help Needed Please - Can't listen to Audio Gallerry songs!

Freedom Audio went out of business LOL!
It was a crappy software to begin with. I can prolly find a copy offline, but wouldnt recommend anyone installing it. Winamp is the way to go :p

Re: Help Needed Please - Can't listen to Audio Gallerry songs!

^^

Hmmm

yah you're right winamp is cool but for slow connexions (like mine :/ ) winamp is not the ideal software coz winamp means real streaming and real streaming is choppy in slow connexions..

question for GS techies: since it went out of business i'm not sure what GS is doing abt freedomaudio now...are you guys going to stick with that or replace it with some other software? if you are going to stick with FA are you going to provide users with a copy of it? and if you are going to switch to some other software, by when do you plan to do that? [in case u r planning to stick to winamp only... plz read what i wrote above abt that...shukran..]

thanks
wa salam