Help needed for gluten-free diet

Hi guys, hope you can help me. i’ve just been diagnosed with celiec disease, doctors say i have to follow a gluten free diet. two years ago it was 8.6 detected in my blood which was borderline, but i had another blood test this year and its risen upto 17.9!! Hence im very aneamic, low in vit D and have hypothyroidism. im 28yrs, 5’3 & 38kg.
However im finding it very very difficult to adjust to gluten-free diet and the food choices are very limited. i dont have much of an appetite but i find normal desi food is more filling when i am hungry, like chappatti’s n curry for lunch/dinner, for breakfast i have tea with biscuits or cereal, which all contain gluten. i was prescribed a different kind of flour to use for chappati’s and bread, gluten-free bread tastes yuck!! and that fibre flour i cant make a nice dough for chappatis with. the cereals n biscuits taste yuck too. i rly dont know what to eat…how can i have rice with everything. if anyone else on here has suffered with the same problem and have found any solution, i would appreciate if you can help? Any experiences you can share? Thank you.

Re: Help needed for gluten-free diet

Gluten free yani no wheat , but there are desi stuff you can still have which are filling like kheer, pulao, biryani, zarda ... you can have anday ka halwa too and you can use besan to make besan ki roti ... and also use "corn" ka atta availiable in desi shop to make "corn" ki roti ... there are more which i cant think of now ...

drink more milk too ....

are you a girl? consult another doctor/blood test just to be sure maybe ...

Gluten free foods (i.e. gluten free bread etc)... apparently they are not good for you.

Need to learn to eat naturally without gluten.

yes, im a girl... this was my second blood test and doctor says i definitely suffer from it :/ once i go on this diet then 6/7months down the line my insides will heal itself and i can then absorb nutrients from a normal diet. Hmmm....

Fullstop, I think it's time to make major changes in your diet instead of looking for ways to eat the same foods. You will be disappointed (as you've already proven) with alternatives to your normal diet such as gluten-free bread. Instead, try finding carb-free foods that you actually like and try to eat them more regularly. Like you can have tacos but hold the tortillas. Turn it into a taco salad instead. That kind of thing. Opt for the "drier" desi dishes and eat them without rice or roti. You will get used to it eventually, and the best part is that you will want less salt in those dishes because you won't be pairing them with any carb.

use besan and/or rice flour for your roti....use xanthan gum in rice flour

Just an update, i had my annual review and my anti Ttg levels have dropped to 0.3 since following the gluten free diet, it's been a huge struggle but it's made a massive difference to my results. Unfortunately i gotta follow this diet for life :-/

Why stoppit ?

I stuck to natural foods too as the processed gluten free foods made me sick immediately after consuming. I spent alot of money on just trying to substitute for what i normally ate, The bread, cakes, biscuits, pasta all contain a mixture of ingredients and added chemicals, it's not easily digested by the stomach, let alone its horrible taste. its not worth it.

Help needed for gluten-free diet

Try corn tortillas in place of roti...I've been making this change just as a small experiment and I actually like it!

I try to keep my gluten free diet free of processed gluten products like the gluten free breads wagera. Once in a while i will indulge in it but my main carbs are rice, quinoa, corn tortillas, taco shells, roce noodles, rice paper found in Asian stores , and once in a while gluten free barilla pasta which actually tasted well enough to be approved by my family. For mornings, i make a huge batter consisted of maash daal powder and a touch of rice flour and I will have a crepe /cheela in the morning with chai. The best way to stay gluten free is to just plan your meals, eat more fruits and veggies, eat grilled because anything coated and fried does have some sort of breadcrumbs or all purpose flour in it. I use rice paper to make any kind of roll of sandwiches or you can even make samosas and just pan fry it.

Also try Shirataki noodles (made from yam), which are also available in Asian shops.

shirataki or konnyaku is gluten free but it is almost 100% gelatinous fiber. you'd need to get your calories from something else.

Koi baat nahi. Your whole body is way more important and precious than the satisfaction of few taste buds. I made that decision long ago that I will never let my taste buds rule my life. Life bohut achchi guzarti hai ab .

Well I dunno about you but I don't eat noodles on their own.