Help me refrain from bad thoughts - Need duas?

I am not sure what you guys are going to think but please help cuz i need some serious replies here!

I read my namaaz Alhumdullilah and do dua for everyone esp my close family but yet i still get bad thoughts in my mind regarding the loved ones. I try to read Darood sharif etc but still doesnt go away. I try to avoid violent movies with swear words because i know if i start watching, bad thoughts will come to my mind again. Its scary! At one point, i cried so much and prayed alot and thoughts disappeared for a week but it wasnt long before they come back.

I know maybe my mind is not stimulated enough and thats why this is happening but i would really appreciate some duas and surahs to help me refrain from these depressing and sad thoughts! I hope i do not get judged!

Re: Help me refrain from bad thoughts - Need duas?

Your problem is that you are trying to get rid of some irregular thoughts. If you donot try they will not haunt you.

First step you have to take is that you welcome these thoughts and for 30 minutes a day think and try to collect more and more such thoughts, you do not like.

Better you consult some psychologist...if you do not want to face mental troubles in future.

What do you mean i am trying to get rid of irregular thoughts? I dont want to sit for 30mins and think about the bad thoughts!

You say psycologist? Uh no...I dont want to...that will be reaching an advanced level of seeking help! What kind of mental problems could i face God forbid?

Please explain more...

Just be persistant, keep trying to think good thoughts and yes avoid extremely voilent movies. Some of us have sensitive minds because our mind retain everything we see/watch/hear and later the thoughts still circulate in the head. You know how they say ‘It’s all in your head’…it’s really about you being able to control your thoughts and what your brain does. As far as surahs or Duas are concerned, everything in Quran is a blessing. The best thing is to ask Allah for forgiveness, whenever you start something read Aoozubillah and Bismillah and that makes a barrier between you and the shaitaan.
I’ve found duas on here to be very helpful, i hope they help you as well:

btw, if u do zikr that would divert ur mind from other thoughts.

Also adding to teggy, we as humans experience that. Things like these are nothing more than whispers of Shaitaan so you should seek help from Allah and ignore thoughts like these and divert your attention to something else.

Thank you both for your replies - it helps - but why am i getting these? I feel as if its a test from Allah to see how i cope with bad thoughts! When anjjan said seek help from a psycologist, i really got scared and thought that there really is something wrong with me!

There are several reasons why one might get these thoughts. One reason is that your fears (i don't know if you have any) usually come in the form of thoughts and that can be pretty frightening. Like you see something happen on CNN, you go to sleep and you have a nightmare as if the same happened to you. Sometimes something bad happens to someone else and you relate so well to it, you start to think 'what if this happened to me/my family/us'....and then that takes the shape of a fear and haunts you until u can convince yourself that nothing can harm you as long as you do the right things. Another reason why these thoughts may come is like you said just to test you, although i don't think Allah subhana-wa-tala likes to see his people in agony, which is again why you should just stay calm, think good thoughts. If you must watch some movie or something, consider comedy over violence, trust me it helps a great deal.
There are so many reasons why you would be getting any of the thoughts you're getting, from this standpoint i can ony predict and suggest so much because i personally don't know what it is that's bothering you. Also, do Wudu often, it keeps your body pure.
I hope Allah calms your soul, body and mind and may Allah bless you with refuge from such heinous thoughts. :)

How about instead of sitting for "30mins and think about the bad thoughts", you make it your habit to make some food (or go buy it) and feed some poor homeless guy. Or go to a hospital and give company to an old person on a death bed. Better yet, give him/her some comfort and if he/she is muslim, recite some verses of the Quran for them? Put your time to good use... why waste precious time in paranoia?

Du'a will not help if you do not act to correct yourself! The only way is to utilize your time for something constructive!

Wow Teggy! You have jst hit it in the nail. You stated that if something happens to someone else which has caused them hurt, I DO think what if it happened to this or that person and i get hurt by thinking like that. Its sad and depressing but i do read Lahowla Wala Kuwata...darood sharif and the 4 quls, then i send my duas to everyone and it really helps me. ONLY then my heart is at rest! I feel like im reading it too much - every other minute of the day which feels really good cuz i know inshallah everything is ok and will be ok. It didnt happen to me before marriage but as soon as i moved out of my parents place, it started. I think bad thoughts always come to my mind when people are far away from me. When i am close to people, i am fine AH. I just thank Allah(swt) for keeping me on the straight path and keeping everyone safe and sound.

Thank you to everyone for their help and guidance.

:dannyboy: You’re very welcome.

Teggy & HHL have said it very well.... trust me, everyone suffers from such thoughts in different degrees... if i could tell u the things that go thru mind when my bro/sis are late in getting home, and i am not able to get thru to thier mobiles... u'd think i need help as well :) i think; khuda na khaasta yeh, ya woh na ho gaya ho...

But whats really helped me is namaz-e-haajat... i'm addicted to the stuff... kuch bhi stress hota hai, i read this namaz and Alhumdulillah it helps a lot! u leave ur trust in Allah, and at the end of the day things will happen with the will of Allah, just pray that jo bhi ho, hamare haq mein acha ho inshallah.

Wassalam

Friend....you have to understand how mind functions......In fact the thought does not come but (in your case) your denial compels you to remember it. You are in fact conscious that such thoughts should not be near by and as a result they are there.

The remedy is the only one I have written earlier. If you go this way only then after some time period your mind will not remain conscious of these thoughts.
I do not know how long you have remained in this state of mind and your remedy will depend on your willingness to welcome these thoughts.

If possible go to a doctor, psychologist (not psychiatrist).
You may not like my words...but in your case, religion will not help you. More you reject these thoughts...stronger they will become.

I am not interested in explaining in why this all problem has started in your case. If you take a right step….after some time you will yourself understand the reasons. Reason is hidden somewhere in you childhood, in your deep conscious….but that is not important.

Do whatever I say…you have no other way.

There is nothing wrong with you.....Only you have to take a right step at this hour. Thats all.

I will give two answers and each have their own significance and value(atleast for me).

1. Let those thoughts come. Don't put pressure on yourself too much . as long as they are not implemented practically if those thoughts are harmful, it should be fine.

2. Those thoughts come too much if you have too many un-fulfilled desires which only makes you think more about them or if you miss something very badly in life. Cut down your number of desires drastically. As buddha says, desire is the root cause of all worries.

My 2 cents:

IMO you are becoming conscious of those thoughts which is understandable as they keep on coming back to you. I also used to get these thoughts and still do get some times but I do not take them seriously and let them pass.
These thoughts do not mean that you wish your beloved ones any harm or do not love them. It's natural and believe me they will stop coming in a few months. Do not consciously try to ignore them. Feel free, feel happy for what you consciously think and will do for your family and not what these thoughts indicate.

Again, it will pass, trust me :).

This sounds more very serious. One of my friend had similar problems and he was diagnosed with OCD. You may want to check with a doctor.

Exactly the same thing pinks. I do read namaaz and i dont think i would ever survive without namaaz. Can you elaborate on namaz-e-haajat? Is that just normal namaaz?

I havent got any un-fulfilled desires or i am definately not missing something badly, Alhumdullilah everything is great. I got the most amazing husband and life is great and i couldnt have asked anything better.

Thankyuo 2cents for your advice, it meant alot!

I am sure namaaz and seeking Allah's help will be better than going to someone who will just refer me to stupid professionals....and from the way you say its "very serious", its not - as the other guppies have said that it happens to everyone!

Dear friend...once again I tell you that your problem is in the denial and in the rejection of these thoughts and not the thoughts in fact.

Choice is yours! If you do not take a right step right now...at a later stage you will definitely seek help of some 'stupid' professional.

Have a nice day!

^^^Your opinion is very drastic and i appreciate your opinion, but i disagree with the above statement and the rest of your post. Why do you think i should do whatever you say? I believe in asking for Allah's help in refraining from these thoughts and Alhumdullilah it helps just like anything else that i want help with.

Long backI read a story of Mullah Nasirudeen.
Once three-four people compelled him to show way to jannat. To get rid of them he asked them to meditate in God for unique ten minutes, provided they do not remember any monkey during meditation. And after two three minutes, they started meditation, they started shouting that more they try to remove monkey from thoughts...more and more it comes back.

They said only if Nasirudeen had not asked them not to let a monkey interfering in meditation....but now it was only moneky left and no meditation.

Ps, I do not remember the actual story. But it was something like as I have narrated.