So my hubby’s got some friends leaving town and he wants to invite them over along with a few other families. There’s about 30 approximately. Problem is i’m a really really bad cook. Most nights we have grilled chicken and salad, roast veg and salad, spaghetti etc. Really basic stuff that can’t be burnt. I just don’t have that ability to make good food in my hands… Can anyone suggest me recipes that have been tried and tested but are very difficult to stuff up?
I can do tandoori chicken, cos that marinade comes in a packet, and last night i was able to make butter chicken with shaan masala, and made good rice that i boiled with some butter and cumin seeds.
So yeah any recipes wiht lamb or beef keema, a veg recipe??
you can make chicken handi and serve them with naan. chciken handi or karhai is easiest to make.
also make vegetable fried rice with it plus dry beef chilli or chicken Manchurian.
or simply make aloo aur cholay ki bhaji. fry frozen poris with it and also make sooji ka halwa.
lol comon...she said she can't cook that much....
KS09: I will suggest you to make whatever you make best and a comfortable in. I will not suggest you to try anything new when you are inviting 30 ppl over.
You said you can make:
Pasta
Grilled chicken/Tandoori Chicken
Grilled vegetables
Butter Chicken
Boil Rice
Salad
Ice cream and/or fruit
If I were you, I will stick to the above menu, just add some sort of roti (pocket pitta or flat pitta)
I do not consider it a desi dawat if , it does not have :
Paya,
Nihari,
Biryani ,
Poola-o
Qorma,
Firni
Kheer,
Qulfi
Seikh kababs
Bihari kababs
Sheermal
Paratha
Naan.
No , no , I do not mean all of them should be served in one dawat , but at least 4 four of those items make it an authentic desi dawat.
Take your pick.
if ur husband is inviting a lot of guests then i suggest plz dont try anything new and stay with what u are good at
first off buy some nimko/chips etc n place on coffee table as appetizer
for main course serve chicken tandoori w/naan n chutney/ketchup
for side dishes serve keema spagetti desi style or make chicken keema it is v easy to cook just ask the buthcher to ground it v finely n ground it with onion,ginger n green chilli ,so all ull have to do will be to add some salt n pepper n oil n cook it for 15 mins ,u can add aloo or noodles to it
boil sme rice and add veggies,chicken,egg ,soya sause ,salt n oil to make fried rice im sure ull find its recipe on youtube
make a fancy salad ,rather make 2 salads one veggie n one fruit
u can also serve beef stir fry with veggies
if u want to really fancy the menu buy a lamb leg n roast masala ,marinate it n leave overnite n bake for 1 hr at 350 ,check if needs more time leave it for 10 more mins n check again,its just like tandoori chicken but takes a little more time
for dessert make trifle ,its just plain cake,friut cocktail, custard n dry fruits like almonds n pistachio n then add jelly n repeat
best of luck n if ur husband agrees try getting a salan from a good restuarant n ull be good to go
aaawww you guys are great!!! I knew you wouldn't let me down.
Hubby said i shouldn't try anything new, i'd probably fail. I'm not able to do salan's so everyone will just have to eat my type of food. They eat salan and roti at home every other day anyway.
So we've decided on the following:
- lemon and herb grilled chicken
- roast veg ( potato, carrot, sweet potato with rosemary and salt)
- chicken satay's ( hubby will make them on the bbq for that smoky flavour)
- lasagne - i can make that pretty good
- i need something with lamb i guess... roast a leg of lamb? which shaan masala should i use?
dessert:
I make this nice dessert, i was pestering an aunty for her famous kulfi recipe but she wouldn't give it, so i made my own version: rooh hafza blended into vanilla ice cream with pista badaam elaichi.. and then refrozen, and served with all the trimmings (noodles, tukh malanga, jelly, fruit) so it's kinda like falooda
and maybe bake a frozen sara-lee pastry (is that okay??)
All of our guests are well educated, decent people so i'm not tooooo worried that they're missing out on salan roti.
I can tell you a marinade I used some time ago ( i did a roast leg recently but its got lots of masala) But some time ago I mixed yoghurt and Shaan Chops Masala for the marinade it turned out good.
argh! it's D-Day!!! so far everything seems to be under control! He ended up inviting around 30 ppl, and when he went grocery shopping today for the daawat, he said himself he was such a knuckle-head...should've just taken them to a restaurant for dinner...lolz... $400 later.. ha ha
Thanks CB, everything went well. Was too hectic to take pics only have left overs now. Now i think i'm going to the parenting thread and grumble on how parents should make their kids behave at dawats!