People of Pakistan are very generous, mashalah, they just need credibility, which is there. So with the help of fellow Pakistanis, Imran khan will make this hospital in less time, this time inshallah.
‘Pakistanis ain’t conservative’
This one’s a record of sorts, or so it would seem. “We collected Rs 21 crore,” :k: says actor Aamir Khan about his recent visit to Pakistan to help raise funds for Pakistani former cricketer-turned-politician Imran Khan’s cancer hospital. **“I’ve been doing charity in India for 15 years and I haven’t seen that kind of money being raised here.” ** :jhanda:
It’s a visit that completely changed his perception about Pakistan, said the actor. "I had imagined an extremely conservative society and realised I was mistaken." The seeds of his recent visit to Pakistan were sown many years ago. “Imran had mentioned it to me long ago,” recalls Aamir. "But five months ago when I was holidaying in London, we happened to meet and he proposed the idea once again. And I agreed to do it in December."
Nothing had prepared him for the value his bat (the one he used in the film Lagaan) would fetch at the charity auction. “It went for Rs 60 lakh,” Aamir recalls. “It took even Imran by surprise because he told me about how the bat with which he had won the World Cup for Pakistan had gone for only Rs 10 lakh!” In fact, money poured in during his visit. **“We collected Rs 6.5 crore during a three-hour telethon. And during an impromptu session with another actor, Rs 11 crore poured in within 40 minutes – and one guy donated Rs 6.5 crore!” **
edit–
1 crore=10 million
Rs 6 crore = $1 million
Rs 21 crore = $3.5 million(approx.)
Re: Help Imran Khan !
Imran khan is in US for fund collection :)
^ again ![]()
I want to collect imran khan for my fund too:blush:
^ yah he is single, you got a chance :D
He certainly is fit for a man in his 50s. :love:
He looks even better in real than he does on tv Mehnaz :love:
Immi needs money to support his ******* child in USA. I beleive they both got some settlement.
**Karachiites contributory to 70 per cent of all donations made and philanthropic activity undertaken across the country ** :k:
In pictures by YKKB
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/gallery/browseimages.php?do=browseimages&c=58&page=1
For donations …
the best critics pakistan has is Imran khan
I just don't like this guy - the buddha khan has no say in pakistani politics... he behaves like a gora and should be deported to England... look he will make pakistan a westernized society.
No doubt he is a failure in politics, But he is an established philanthropist.
And what he has given to Pakistan is Priceless. i.e Cricket World Cup 1992 and World class Cancer Hopital and research institute. Not to mention,sleepless nights to millions of females ![]()
The NEw Yorker newspaper made an interesting comment about Imran Khan
NEW YORKER
The one person most directly responsible for touching off the current frenzy over alleged Koran abuse by American interrogators at the Guantánamo Bay detention camp, more than anybody at Newsweek, was a Pakistani politician named Imran Khan. Khan is an Islamic populist, not exactly a rarity in that part of the world, but with a difference. Several differences, in fact. He is, first of all, a wealthy sports celebrity—a global cricket star for two decades—and a national hero not only for that but also because he built his country’s first cancer hospital. He is a graduate of Oxford, and so thoroughly Westernized that his private life is fodder for the tabloids. After he laid down his cricket bat, he became increasingly devout, and in 1996 he founded his own political party. He is its only member of parliament, but his voice is listened to in Pakistan and beyond. Initially a supporter of General Pervez Musharraf, Pakistan’s President, he now attacks him as an “American puppet.” Khan says he wants Pakistanis to be America’s “friends, but not lackeys.” He has no sympathy with terrorism or dictatorship. He has even suggested that only democratically elected governments should be allowed to vote at the United Nations. In other words, he is pretty nearly the beau ideal of the sort of Muslim leader we want, and need, on “our” side.
For five days, nothing. Then, on May 6th, Khan, in a press conference in Islamabad, waved a copy of the offending issue and thundered, “This is what the U.S. is doing—desecrating the Koran.” And, rhetorically addressing Musharraf: “This war on terrorism is self-defeating if, on the one hand, you are demanding that we help them”—that is, us—“and, on the other hand, they are desecrating the book on which our entire faith is based.” Khan’s remarks were broadcast repeatedly throughout the Muslim world. The riots began on May 10th; in Afghanistan, seventeen people died and more than a hundred were injured.
well at least he speaks out in the crowd where all become dumb for their personal benefits.
moreover if he lives like a foreigner that does not affect any1 else.
the masses in pakistan are really illiterate and directionless . ppl appreciate and try 2 follow imran khan as he has earned a good place in their hearts bec of the reasons as by Code _ red.
whether he does good or bad , but he indicates and points out and speaks abt the idea which may not be generated in any1s mind for a next decade.
It’s awesome he’s making this research center and all – the cancer hospital is a huge success and really this guy is the only political leader in Pak with 100%credibility!
We need Imran for the prime minister, like now!!! ![]()
Hey now that’s interesting, something which I didn’t know! That’s like a new angle to his political persona – labelling him as an “Islamic Populist”, is however totally wrong and unfair. Imran Khan is anything but that.