Help: I'm coming to pakistan!

Asalaam Alaikum and Ramadhan Mubarak to everyone,

Insha allah I will be going to Pakistan in December for 2 weeks I’ll mostly be staying around Rawalpindi and will be visiting Lahore for a Day for the first time!

I want to visit the following; can I cram all this in one day?

1. Minar –e- Pakistan
  2. Badshahi Masjid
  3. Shalimar Gardens
  4. Daata Darbaar

And maybe the following aswell if possible:

1. Shahi Qila
  2. Elama Iqbal’s Maqbara ?

And would like to try out

1. Food Street - Gawal Mandi for lunch

And for shopping (heard a lot about these)

1. Anarkali Bazaar or liberty

How far are each of these located from one another? BTW we will have our own transport.

Hotels – If we do decide to stay for the night then can any1 recommend an inexpensive bed and breakfast/hotel with quality service? Preferably Under 3000 rupees ?

In Rawalpindi:

For shopping I have heard a lot about Saddar, Muree Road, Motchi Bazaar, Baara Market which is the best for shopping? Do they have indoor shopping centers?

What is the best place for eating out? And where are the pizaa huts, McDonalds etc located?

I’ve seen Shah-faisal Masjid, Muree, Shakar Pariyan, and Rawal Damn, apart from these what else is there in rawalpindi/Islamabad?

I would like to visit Ayub Park this time round,

Your help will be very much appreciated

Jazak Allah Khair

LUC just read ur post when are you going? I’ll be going around xmas.

Re: Help: I'm coming to pakistan!

1) Minar –e- Pakistan
2) Badshahi Masjid
4) Daata Darbaar
5) Shahi Qila
6) Elama Iqbal’s Maqbara ?

These are all in one neighborhood.. Please note traffic is very congested on weekdays and on weekends there are lots of people visiting these places.. so your best bet is getting up very very early and start with the Badshahi masjid. It'd have to be really fast to be able to go in and out.. there won't be much 'seeing' except just 'touch' them and move on. I strongly suggest at least two days.

7) Food Street - Gawal Mandi for lunch
8) Anarkali Bazaar or liberty

I don't think the Food Street is 'open' during the day.. but then things may have changed. You'd be better off visiting Anarkali instead.

3) Shalimar Gardens

that's on the opposite end of the city .. preferrably for early morning trip the next day..u can then go to Food Street the first night.

don't know much about hotels.. try some around the Liberty area.

Lahore:

PA, you are right. There's no lunch at Food Street. In Ramadhan they have Sehri/Iftar and after that only dinner as far as I know.

With the exception of Shalimar Gardens and Liberty all the other places are quite near to each other. But as PA said, traffic is really bad there.

Regarding a hotel for 3000 Rupees a night. I'm sure there are plenty of them. I know about the five-star rooms (at Pearl Continental, Avari, etc.) which cost around 7000 Rupees, so I think you should be able to get a decent hotel for 3000 easily.

Rawalpindi:

Indoor shopping malls in Rawalpindi? I haven't heared of any, but they might have built some in the meantime.

Ayub Park is a really nice place, located in Rawalpindi Cantt, just where you'd enter Pindi when your coming from Lahore on the GT Road.

Re: Help: I'm coming to pakistan!

*Originally posted by coolmunda_2000: *
will be visiting Lahore for a Day for the first time!

What is the best place for eating out? And where are the pizaa huts, McDonalds etc located?

a) Just 1 day for Lahore - suggest at least 3. Remember to go to purana Lahore, Wazir Khan's mosque is a must see.

b) you're asking about McD, Pizza etc. when in Pakistan? Shame on you, with such delicious desi food available.

HEEEELLLPPPPP!!! God save us !!! coolmunda_2000 is coming to Pakistan!!!

:smiley: sorry i cudnt resist :hehe:

p.s.

Saddar, Muree Road, Motchi Bazaar, Baara Market

add Raja bazar and moti bazar there as well i guess :smiley:

there is nothing to see in rwp if u have visited lhr, it's all the same, but do pay isb a visit some places are worth checking out.

PakistaniAbroad and Umer Bhai thanks for the advice, really appreciated.

Due to time constraints i'm limited to just a day....i'll try and extend this by an extra day if possible.

So that means i'll get to see Lahore's main attractions :

Minar –e- Pakistan

[thumb=H]images1699_9606749.JPG[/thumb]

Badshahi Masjid
[thumb=H]badshahi1699_7759734.JPG[/thumb]

Shahi Qila - What does it cost to go inside?
[thumb=H]SHAHI-QILA1699_7759734.JPG[/thumb]

Elama Iqbal’s Maqbara
[thumb=H]41699_7759734.JPG[/thumb]

Daata Darbaar

Can't wait....

It's a shame about Food street, so can you guys recommend any good and not too over the top restaurants? how much does a typical family meal cost?

So is anarkali close by to these places or is Pace or liberty?
[thumb=H]ak1699_6893997.JPG[/thumb]

Umer, Yes i'll definately be visiting Ayub Park aswell...not to far from where i'll be staying.

[thumb=H]rawal1699_8854899.JPG[/thumb]

Thanks once again guys!

Thanks!

:hehe: Irem, zara bach kay rehna

*Originally posted by fatalist: *
there is nothing to see in rwp if u have visited lhr, it's all the same, but do pay isb a visit some places are worth checking out.

i think i have visited most of them, can u recommend any others?

Just out of interest has anyone visited Taxila, in Punjab?

[thumb=H]tex11699_6304237.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=H]tex21699_6304237.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=H]tex31699_6304237.JPG[/thumb]

Originally posted by coolmunda_2000: *
Just out of interest has anyone visited **Taxila
*, in Punjab?

Yes. I've been there twice. A really amazing historic place. I specially liked the Museum of Taxila and the surrounding ruins.

Breathtaking.

As it has been said, few of the places you mentioned are in same neighborhood and you can see them in one day if you want to. Yes, traffic is an issue but it still is possible. Liberty is far away from this neighborhood but you can always go there at night.

Originally posted by coolmunda_2000: *
Just out of interest has anyone visited **Taxila
*, in Punjab?

Yep I have. Museaum certainly has some ancient stuff, like the remains of budha temple. Awesome stuff and a must-visit place.

Thanks Umer and Saby, So how long does it take to get there from Rawalpindi? I think i'll add this to the list of places i want to visit over the two week period.

I'd love to visit Gilgit , Swat Valley and Hunza, how long would it take from rawalpindi to get to these places and how far apart are these located from one another?

[thumb=H]swa11699_6143443.JPG[/thumb]
[thumb=H]hun1699_3036118.JPG[/thumb]
[thumb=H]gil1699_3036118.JPG[/thumb]

you guys have been very helpful, I really appreciate it.

walikum asalam wa rehmatullah, coolmund' i'm going on 18th december yeah xmas holidays to, enjoy it yaar if possible meet us {gs clan} lot in lahore around 26 december a few will be their for more info contact praetextatus :D i'm visiting lahore inshallah in dec' for the 1st time 2 to attend a friend's {pra'} fam' wedding.

do go to gilgit, nanga parbat, hunza etc they r beauties honestly totally gorgeous.

*Originally posted by #let uz chat#: *
walikum asalam wa rehmatullah, coolmund' i'm going on 18th december yeah xmas holidays to, enjoy it yaar if possible meet us {gs clan} lot in lahore around 26 december a few will be their for more info contact praetextatus :D i'm visiting lahore inshallah in dec' for the 1st time 2 to attend a friend's {pra'} fam' wedding.

do go to gilgit, nanga parbat, hunza etc they r beauties honestly totally gorgeous.

Hope u have a nice time at the wedding insha allah, I'm only visiting Lahore for a day or two so dont know whether i'll be able to meet up with u guys,

Where are you flying from?

I'd love to visit Gilgit , Swat Valley and Hunza, how long would it take from rawalpindi to get to these places and how far apart are these located from one another?

Hunza is around 20 hours away from pindi and swat is around 12-13 hours away from Pindi, not sure about Gilgit because I havent been there.

Hope u have a nice time at the wedding insha allah, I'm only visiting Lahore for a day or two so dont know whether i'll be able to meet up with u guys,

Where are you flying from?

i'm flying out from manchester airport inshallah on the 18th of dec if not sooner, depends what we do @ uni on last week of semester.

If you are around in lahore on 26th then if you can make it do come forthe planned guppie meet.

have a good trip yaar

*Originally posted by #let uz chat#: *

i'm flying out from manchester airport inshallah on the 18th of dec if not sooner, depends what we do @ uni on last week of semester.

If you are around in lahore on 26th then if you can make it do come forthe planned guppie meet.

have a good trip yaar

Well i may just see you at the airport then! coz i may be flying on that day aswell!