Never ever having visited the Motherland before, I am very curious about its customes, cultures, historic places, and general environment. One of them is Heena Mandi: is it still there or just a myth? Have any of you ever visited that place? Please share your experiences. In a book “Taboo”, I read that this red district is only open to general public from 11PM to 1AM before the VIP crowd takes over. Can someone just walk right in and start looking around, take pictures, and talk to people. Is there any danger to people who’ve never walked the streets there before and seem totally out of place? (I’ve heard that in Paksitan people can differentiate between a foreigner and a native.) In simpler terms, will I get kidnapped if walking aimlessly through the streets alone or with a guide? I know it might sound very naive to many of you but some of us would like to experience everything that Pakistan has to offer.
Simple Answer to all of Ur Questions…
ITS SAFE and U can mover around safely… ![]()
Do you really have nothing better to do in Pakistan? ![]()
Ok so yu are going to Pakistan and you want to go to Hera mandi?
First of all its not the way usually people portray it. When i went to Lahore with my friends we walked in there without even realizing that we were there. We ate there and it wasnt untill the waiter came and asked us what our "preferance" would be, that we realized that we are at the wrong place. By the way its located very close to Badshahi mosque, Shahi Qila and Minar-e-Pakistan.
I really dont know what happens there after 1am, but i heard that it gets pretty colorfull after dark.
By the way its pretty sad that among our culture, historic places, general environment and customs the biggest concern for you is hera mandi.
*Originally posted by proudpakistani: *
Ok so yu are going to Pakistan and you want to go to Hera mandi?
First of all its not the way usually people portray it. When i went to Lahore with my friends we walked in there without even realizing that we were there. We ate there and it wasnt untill the waiter came and asked us what our "preferance" would be, that we realized that we are at the wrong place. By the way its located very close to Badshahi mosque, Shahi Qila and Minar-e-Pakistan.
I really dont know what happens there after 1am, but i heard that it gets pretty colorfull after dark.
By the way its pretty sad that among our culture, historic places, general environment and customs the biggest concern for you is hera mandi.
yarr why cant we let someone do what he wants to do....why do we have to lecture....
anyway there is nothing special about heera mandi anymore...yes there is a lot of history attached to it but now it is pretty sad and out of action...no good mujras either...all big names and khandaniee mujra girls have moved either to iqbal town, garden town or defence...half of defence is occupied by old heraa mandie occupants.....yarr if you have some connections, go to defence..that is new and modern heera mandie of lahore.....but in original heera mandeee, you can go any time and if you roam around, a lot of low profile ugly pimp will start talking to you no matter what time it is.....there is some very good food there....go to Bhajjay Kay Payeee..really nice payeee...have fun....
and bhai fallenpietayeah no one will kidnapp you......dont worry....if some one approaches you, just smile and say yarrr shukiriyya i am not interested....dont talk in your weird abcd accent english.....shakal to tumhareee pakistaniyoon jaiseee ha...bus munh band rakhnha....fee aman allah
*Originally posted by phoenixdesi: *
half of defence is occupied by old heraa mandie occupants
hain ji????
*Originally posted by phoenixdesi: *
...there is some very good food there....go to Bhajjay Kay Payeee..really nice payeee...have fun....
Yaar its not about giving lecture. Its sad that someone calls hera mandi as culture and history of Pakistan. At the same time when someone goes from US/UK to Pakistan the last thing he should be doing is critisizing hera mandi.
Anyways I have eaten phajjay day paye and they are awesome. That was where I think we were approached by some guy asking that he has untouched 16 year material. We didnt get it in the beginning, but as time passed by we realized what they were asking us.
Yeah, thanks.
So there are no more of those "baithaks" inside where women are just sitting with doors open for men to check out the merchandise? No one walking around with motia keh haar wrapped arounf the wrists? It seems like the picture I have in my head of heera mandi conflicts with the reality of heena mandi. Disappointing. Nonetheless, I still plan on visiting the old whore house neighborhood if only to take one stroll through it.
A friend of mine originally an Iranian told me about the place. He had gone to Pakistan to study. He was pretty young. Maybe not even 20. Some of his Pakistani friends introduced him to the place. He told me it was in late 80s. And he had actually tried some young 16 year old merchandise himself. Regrets followed later but it was too late but anyway. The point is the something of my own city I didnt know about, I had come to know of from an Iranian.
WHAT!!!
“PHAJJAY KE PAYE” heera mandi se miltay hein??? Hummmm… abhi ja ke abbu ki khabar leta hun ![]()
HAANNN!!!
HEIN Ji!!! ![]()
phoenixdesi are you RECOMMENDING that people head to defence...for action?
Woah, that's a new low I've seen on GS.
Why would someone, living abroad, want to go all the way to heera mandi to watch a mujra when there are better strip clubs right here in NYC.
Has anyone watched a mujra? From what I understand the dances there are a display of sexual vulgarity to entice a man into spending more vail and perhaps convince him to stay for something extra after the dance.
Actually I would watch a mujra if it resembled one from the movie Umrao Jan
wat u can get from diamond market beside diamonds ???? and BTW these diamonds r original or fake ???
15714.Umrao Jaan - Dil Cheez Kya Hai
^^ That is a great song. Asha Bhosle at her best.
Why would someone want a Pakistani woman any way?
^^ beats me. I've never really been attracted to Pakistani women. My heart desires Japanese women. I know some guys, whites, who love the pakistani/indian look; people are weird.
Wah! Yeh hamaray "Mujahid" sahab karo-bari aadmi lagtay hein :D
*Originally posted by YAaRrOo: *
wat u can get from diamond market beside diamonds ???? and BTW these diamonds r original or fake ???