Hear Ye Hear Ye!!! Calling all guppies/guppans!!!

Ladies and Gentlemen,

I will present to you one single ingredient. [OK fine, I copied Iron Chef, so?]. I require you to present a soup, and appetizer and a main entree using the same ingredient. You need to post the recipe of your items. You can post pictures off the Internet if you wish but that will not affect the grading since they may not be your original pictures. We have every spice and side in our pantry. At the end of the week [December 22nd], the secret judges will select the best entry.

Ingredient of the week:

**Tomato **

Let the cooking begin!!!

Re: Hear Ye Hear Ye!!! Calling all guppies/guppans!!!

(do we have to write out the recipe or just the name of the recipe)

you have to write out the recipe. Lemme make that clear.

1. Anglo Indian Tomato Soup

Ingredients
1 tbsp butter
1 tsp vegetable oil
1 large bay leaf
1 small onion, chopped
1 large carrot, chopped
1 celery stalk, chopped
2 garlic cloves, finely chopped
2cm/¾in piece ginger, peeled and cut into thin strips
1 tbsp cornflour, mixed to a paste with a splash of water
650g/1lb 7oz ripe tomatoes, chopped
½-1 tsp sugar
salt, to taste
¾-1 tsp freshly ground black pepper
100ml/3½fl oz milk
300-400ml water
Preparation method
Heat the butter and the oil in a large non-stick pan over a medium heat. Add the bay leaf and fry for 20-30 seconds.
Add the chopped onion, carrot, celery, garlic and ginger and stir well. Cover the pan with a lid and fry for 10-12 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the vegetables have softened and the onions are pale golden-brown.
Add the cornflour paste and stir for 1-2 minutes (do not allow the cornflour to burn).
Add the chopped tomatoes, sugar, salt and black pepper, bring the mixture to a simmer and simmer for 20-30 minutes, or until the tomatoes have reduced to a thick pulp.
Turn up the heat and continue to cook the tomato mixture for 5-6 minutes, or until the tomato skins have turned golden-brown. Discard the bay leaf.
Transfer the tomato mixture to a food processor and blend to a purée. With the motor still running, add the milk and water in a thin stream until the mixture has the consistency of double cream and is smooth and well combined (you may not need all of the water).
Return the soup to the pan and return to the boil. Serve immediately with coriander and garlic bread.

2. Mozzarella and Tomato Salad (Appetizer)

**Ingredients **
4 large tomatoes
4 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
freshly ground black pepper to taste
275g (10 oz) mozzarella cheese, thickly sliced
8 to 10 leaves fresh basil, torn into strips

Preparation method

1. Chop tomatoes in half, then slice thinly; arrange on four plates. Drizzle a tablespoon of olive oil over each serving, and sprinkle with black pepper. Lay slices of cheese over tomatoes, and strips of basil over cheese.

3. Mixed Tomato Tart(main)

Ingredients
375g pack fresh ready-rolled puff pastry
2 heaped tbsp fresh basil pesto
3 vine tomatoes, sliced
40g sun-dried tomatoes, roughly chopped
A handful baby plum tomatoes and orange cherry tomatoes, both halved
125g mozzarella ball, torn

Method

1. Preheat the oven to 200°C/fan180°C/gas 6. Unroll the puff pastry, trim to a 30cm x 20cm rectangle and score a 2cm border around the edge. Prick the centre of the pastry all over with a fork, place on a baking sheet and bake in the oven for 15 minutes.
  2. Spread the fresh basil pesto over the centre of the pastry. Arrange the vine tomatoes, the sun-dried tomatoes, the baby plum tomatoes and orange cherry tomatoes on the pastry.
  3. Scatter the mozzarella and season with salt and freshly ground black pepper. Return to the oven for 10 minutes.
  4. Scatter with a few fresh basil leaves and serve.

Tomato key chutney.

Fresh Tomato one pound- Diced
Hari mirch two three
Onion one
Garlic paste/crushed/chopped one table spoon
Ginger paste/crushed/chopped one table spoon.
Salt and red mirch - suited to taste
Cooking oil 6 table spoons.
Garam masala - suited to the taste
Fry Onion in oil till they become soft (not brown)

Add all the above ingredients in oil and cook it all till oil comes to the top.

The best tomato chutney is ready to be served with garam paratha , daal chawal , kababs or whatever your imagination fancies.

Niksik what if its Desi dishes? Can we post appetizer, curry & a rice dish maybe?

Starter - concentrated tomato water

Mains - tomato curry with tomato roti

Dessert - tomato cheescake

Well you can post recipe of Rice Papad (PaapaR), Biryani and Kheer (Rice Pudding). All rice made dishes, all 3 courses.

Mirch bhai, your entry is incomplete. Is the chutney your main dish? Then you need a soup and appetizer. See Hareem’s entry for examples.

Maroush, chup ho ja kuri :emmy: Now post a sensible meal.

Bint-e-Naeem, this time, we ask you do the soup, appetizer and entree which can include rice as a side.

That is all I know how to make , I cannot make any other exotic dish or soup out of tomato. I will use it as main dish with paratha, side dish with daal chawal , no soup for me , I do not like soup. I have small stomach and when I drink soup I cannot eat much.

It’s not for you :emmy: It’s for me :balley:

Now go build some creative powers :snooty:

looks like i’m gonna win. :icono:

:D Ask Psyah to contribute also. Maza aye ga :D

^I will. :D

nahinnnnnnnnnnnnnn abhi time hai!

Hurry up folks!!!!

TLk Bhai I'll keep kheer in mind for if & when rice will be the main ingredient.

Here is what I got. I don't have pictures though.

Thick & Rich Creamy Tomato Soup

Ingredients:

3 tablespoons butter
1 small onions, very finely chopped
1 1/2 teaspoons dried oregano
4 garlic cloves, (minced or finely chopped)
2 pinch crushed red pepper flakes
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1 cup milk
3 cups tomato juice, divided
1 (28 ounce) cans crushed tomatoes
3 -4 teaspoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt or to taste
Parmesan cheese (optional)
Croutons
Fresh ground black pepper (to taste)

Directions:

1 In a bowl combine 2 cups tomato juice with crushed tomatoes and milk.

2 In a saucepan melt the butter over medium-high heat.

3 Add in onion and dried oregano; saute until softened (about 3 minutes).

4 Add in garlic and red pepper flakes; cook stirring for 2 minutes.

5 Add in flour and stir for 1 minute.

6 Slowly add in the tomato/milk mixture whisking constantly to remove any lumps; bring to a boil stirring frequently until bubbly and thickened, then season with sugar, salt and pepper (the mixture will be quite thick).

7 Reduce heat to low, add in remaining 1 cup of tomato juice (or more) and simmer uncovered for 45 minutes to 1 hour (can simmer longer if desired, if the soup is still too thick for your liking add in more tomato juice and keep seasoning with salt and pepper if needed during cooking).

8 Ladle into bowl then sprinkle with Parmesan cheese and croutons.

Stuffed Cherry Tomatoes

Ingredients:

40 cherry tomatoes
7 1/2 ounces tuna
4 ounces cream cheese, softened
2 tablespoons onions, grated
salt and pepper
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1 tablespoon heavy cream, to moisten

Directions:

1 Cut thin slice from stem end of each tomato.

2 Remove pulp, and invert on paper towel to drain.

3 Combine all other ingredients to form a creamy consistency.

4 Stuff tomatoes using a small spoon.

5 Garnish with parsley.

6 Make ahead and chill.

Caesar Club Sandwich

Ingredients:

• 2 split (1 whole) chicken breasts, bone in, skin on
• Olive oil
• Salt to taste
• Freshly ground black pepper
• 1 large garlic clove, chopped
• 2 tablespoons chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
• 1 teaspoons Dijon mustard
• 1 1/2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
• 1/2 cup good mayonnaise
• 1 large ciabatta bread
• Lettuce washed & dried
• 1 large tomato sliced
• 2 to 3 ounces Parmesan cheese shaved

Directions

1 Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

2 Place the chicken breasts on a sheet pan skin side up. Rub the chicken with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Roast for 35 to 40 minutes, until cooked through. Cool slightly, discard the skin and bones, and slice the meat thickly. Set aside.

3 Place the garlic and parsley in the bowl of a food processor and process until minced. Add mustard, lemon juice, and mayonnaise and process again to make a smooth dressing. (Refrigerate the Caesar dressing if not using it immediately.)

4 Slice the ciabatta in half horizontally and separate the top from the bottom. Toast the bread in the oven, cut side up, for 5 to 7 minutes; cool slightly.

5 Spread the cut sides of each piece with the Caesar dressing. Place half the lettuce on the bottom piece of bread and then layer in order: the tomato slices, shaved Parmesan, and sliced chicken. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and finish with another layer of lettuce. Place the top slice of ciabatta on top and cut in thirds crosswise. Serve at room temperature.

Hmm lets see what i can make with tomato :hmmm: … Ketchup ..Its perfectly safe and healthy to eat with the traditional british Fish n Chips and you can add chicken Tikka and voila ..:smiley:

#1. Soup: Oven Roasted Spiced Tomato Soup:

2 Pounds of Roma tomatoes
2 Cans of plum tomatoes
Handful of basil leaves
2 Jalapenos
3 Medium onions, pealed & quartered
1 Garlic head pealed
Extra-virgin olive oil
Salt, to taste
Freshly crushed black Pepper
1 tsp Turmeric
1 tsp Red pepper
1/2 tsp Black zeera
1/2 cup Milk
Greek yogurt

Heat oven 400 degree F. In a large roasting pan combine everything, but the milk & yogurt. Coat well with olive oil and roast; stir occasionally until everything is caramelized.

After roasted well, run everything in the food processor with milk, add more if too thick.

Serve hot, with a dollop of Greek yogurt!!!

#2. Appetizer: Fried Green Tomatoes with horseradish dressing

3-4 Large, firm green tomatoes
Salt
1 Egg
1/2 Cup panko
Oil for frying

1/4 Cup mayo
4 tbs Fresh horseradish sauce
2 tsp hot sauce

Freshly ground black pepper
Salt, to taste
1 Avocado, peeled, sliced
1/4 Cup crumbled feta

Preheat oil to 350 degrees F. Slice tomatoes to desired thickness, place on paper towel and sprinkle salt to pull the water out. Coat tomatoes in egg, then panko and fry to golden brown.

In a small bowl mix: mayo, horseradish, hot sauce, black pepper, and salt.

On a platter, alternate the fried green tomatoes and avocado slices. Sprinkle feta cheese over. Drizzle the dressing. Serve immediately.

**#3. Main Entree: Baked Shrimp in Tomato Sauce with Blue Cheese **

2 Cans of diced tomatoes with juice
1 Medium onion diced
2 Cloves garlic, minced
2 Tbs olive oil
1 Pound medium shrimp, peeled and deveined
Freshly ground black pepper
Salt, to taste
1 Tsp minced dill
1/4 cup minced parsley
2/3 Cup blue cheese crumbled

Preheat oven 425 degrees F. Heat the oil in oven proof skillet. Add onions, cook until softened, then add garlic and cook for 1 minute. Add tomatoes with juice and bring to boil. Reduce heat, until tomato juice thickens.

Remove from heat, add dill, parsley, and shrimp. Season with salt and pepper. Sprinkle blue cheese. Bake for about 10 minutes, or until shrimp are cooked and cheese is melted.

Serve warm with baguette.

yummyyy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!