Healthy, Tasty Restaurant dishes

The two don’t go together because when you’re trying to lose weight, going out for dinner is a joke. Whats the yummiest, tastiest low calories healthy dishes you’ve eaten at restaurants?

What’s the use of eating a sandwich if there’s no cheese it. I don’t mind the type of bread, if it’s healthy great, but the cheese cannot be the low fat, no taste kind.

Re: Healthy, Tasty Restaurant dishes

healthy nihaarii/paaye! :)

Desi restaurant = fattening, high calorie food. I don't think i've gone to a desi restaurant that has low calorie food that's super tasty ever.

If i go with family to Olive Garden, gaining 5 pounds after that visit is a guarantee and i'm already trying to lose 5 pounds. Still at 129.4!!

Almost all the chains have a healthy menu section. I agree that healthy and tasty don't go together. Maybe you can have regular food but have small portions. When the meal comes, ask for the carry out box right away and move half of the food in it before you even start eating. Or share the meal with your like minded friend.

The trick at Desi restaurants is to order from the grilled item menu. Chicken botis or the other bbq items. Skip the Naan & eat it with salads & Raita/chutneys.

As far as non Desi goes. As TLK Bhai said. Usually restaurants have a under 400 or 500 calories section towards the end of their menus.

Also eat a fruit or vegetable before heading out to eat. This way you tend to stick to your meal plan instead of ordering the high calories items on a hungry more like greedy stomach.

Another trick for eating out is asking for a to go box while ordering. Split the meal in half before eating & eat it later for another meal. This requires some self control but works great In satisfying our cravings while keeping us in check.

Never mind the last paragraph. I should have read his post thoroughly.

Agree. A sammich aint a sammich if it aint got no cheese or tomato or some sorta condiment...preferably the artery-clogging variety (mayo <3)...or the healthy kind that's still fattening (guacamole)....and if ain't made my someone else.....and served with something a bit less toxic than pepsi...such as chocolate chip cookie or chips. But by then you figure what the heck add the fizzed up kaala pani as well.

sigh Okay so no sammiches for me then since you put it that way :P. I said nothing about those chocolate chip cookies and chips. A sandwich without cheese is just wrong and low fat cheese doesn't even taste like cheese.

TLK bhai, since you eat from the healthy menu, tell me ones that do taste just as good as the fattening types. I think we have to change the way we see food, not as something to satisfy our cravings and taste buds but as something to fuel our bodies then I can actually ignore all the fattening tasty dishes and choose the low fat ones.

We eat food for the taste and for enjoyment. Look at how popular the “aaj kya pakaaya” thread is. http://www.paklinks.com/gs/household-affairs-and-cuisine-corner/283802-aaj-kya-pakaaya-khaaya.html

Who doesn’t drool looking at those pictures.

If we see food as just something that keeps our bodies going then, yeah, I can eat the low fat, no taste dishes…not! kidding

Where did I say that I eat from the healthy menu :D.

I think that instead of going for healthy style cooking that robs the flavor from the food, we can cut down our portions and add regular exercise in our routine. That is what I do.

almost every east asian restaurant has plenty of healthy yet tasty options. vietnamese, thai, burmese, indonesian, malay, japanese, korean - take your pick.

Can you list dishes that are tasty and healthy since you've tried the healthy dishes from east asian restaurants.

just off the top of my head

vietnamese: any pho, rice paper spring rolls
thai: larb, tom yum or tom kha soup, papaya salad, plenty of vegetables + tofu options
indonesian: padang style meals, meals with a bunchof assorted curries including vegetables
malay: similar, laksa, rojak with healthier items, gado gado
japanese: bento boxes with fish rather than meat, meat in smaller portions
korean: bibimpap bowl, soondubu jjigae, combos with lots of veggies and kimchi, seafood

Thanks queer!! If you know of any other dishes that are healthy and tasty from other cuisines, it would be great especially for us who might be going to a restaurant and don't want to gain weight.