I want to start making more healthy food for kids … so I need a nice recipe for Vegetable lasagne for kids.
My daugher had it in her K-G and was praising it so much that I want to start making it at home.
I want to start making more healthy food for kids … so I need a nice recipe for Vegetable lasagne for kids.
My daugher had it in her K-G and was praising it so much that I want to start making it at home.
Re: Healthy food for kids
You do layers of cheese, spinach, mushrooms, over the lasgana pasta and bake.
But yes, yesterday my older daughter had her well check up [8 yrs] and the doctor stressed on healthy eating. She was pleased to see that my daughter was skinny :D] as she commented on the growing obesity in children these days. SO our focus should be on cooking in ways where the maximum nutrition is transferred to their bodies instead of fat and spice and sugar.
Morning breakfast should contain grains and protein. Lunch should have carbs, protein and vegetables. Same with dinner. DO not forget fruits. Try to get 5 servings of fruits and vegetables every day. I'm working on it!!!
My older daughter is skinny too and I can feed her cheese all day and it will not change a thing. :D
But she doesnt take milk or she will not eat her vegetables at home. Yes u are right Nikki, I want to focus on healthy eating.
I am so out of ideas of healthy food.
my kids can live only on milk for whole day, they love dairy products , be it yogurt, cheese, milk , egg. no problem with fruits as well thry like apple, banana, grapes, oranges, melon. but i hardly get to feed them veggies. so thinking may be i can put veggie in rice or paratha. would really love to hear some more ideas regarding veggie and how add them to kids lunch box.
^- you can grate some veges and add to pasta sauce just near the end. Also, when we will younger we used to love leftover salans stuffed in parathas such as spinach, keema gobhi etc.
soups are great way of getting kids used to vegetables, when I am cutting up vegetables for salan/pasta/salads I ask my son(3 yrs) if he he wants to try that, if he agrees (which he does 99% of the time) I give him raw cucumber, peppers, turnip, moli, carrots, spinach, green beans, gobi, cabbage, zucchini, olives, onion (LOLZZZ), whole bunch of different greens, everything other than garlic, ginger and karela, I even asked him if he wants tori(he said no) so I tried it infront of him and he asked me to give him that :) and ate couple of pieces before saying 'basso mama' he mashallah eats all the vegetables, he was a bit ehhnn with peas, but now he is eating peas too, he loves all sort of beans too.
Me and my husband eat a lot of vegetables, kids eat whatever parents eat (eventually) if your child refuses to eat veggies don't get disheatred keep introducing vegetables to him/her, it is just the matter of developing the taste.
I make salan, pakoras, pastas, sandwiches, soups with vegetables, there is a lot of variation out there. Keep trying, don't give up, inshallah slowly they acquire the taste.
One of the problems with desi parents is that even when kids are of proper eating age(lets say 2ish) they still feed them khanas that are made seperately for kids, kids eat well when the whole family eats same thing togather atleast once a day.
so I bougut some different veggies and steamed it in the cooker and mashed it in the grinder, mixed with ricotta cheese and made the lasagne … but u think they eat it .. some of it … later they were hungry again and i had to make ‘schnitzel’ thats a austrian speciality made out of chicken breast, dipped in maida, then anda and later bread crumbs and fried in oil .. that both eat ![]()
so today I am making brocioli soup from the leftover broccoili and mushroom sauce with fish and potatos .. lets see how it goes today.
Ok the broccoli cream soup was a hit, both eat that ... then the fish dipped in flour with salt/pepper and lemon, fried in a bit of olive oil was a huge hit, making a second round ... the mushroom sauce was liked too, only the potatos were not eat, but then I like and eat them.
Tomorrow I am trying .. potatos and mushroom gratain.
good stuff, keep adding and introducing new veggies to the meals...yesterday my son had bhindi for the first time, after few bites he was a bit grossed out from the stickiness but he did like the taste. I also made beetroot and he gobbled that up.
Thanks dosa, I need a new idea for tomorrow.
make vegetable cutlets