Health Tips from Doctor TLK

Re: Health Tips from Doctor TLK

Excuse me for being so detailed oriented story teller :snooty:

:smack: no wonder you see those brown spots all over the rim and commode cause everyone like you is waiting for ALL HELL to Break Loose before sitting on the throne.

Cant you go little early, like decnet people go, so you dont partciapte in creating that mess :smiley:

According to one TV programme here in the UK (How clean is your house?) the sponges we use in the kitchen harbour so many bacteria, that the toilet seat is actually safer!

I've never used sponges - I don't like them at all, especially whenever I have a meal at someones house and then they handover the grotty sponge to wipe down the dastarkhan!

EeeeW!:p

Oh and what is it with asians who bath their kids in the kitchen sink??
My friends daughter, when she was about 2 saw her foy wash her kids in the kitchen sink, and the poor girl had literally nightmares for days afetr!

I suffer from suspected OCD - honestly!

yucky

What do you mean? i always wash em by hand or put them in the cha'Na (that big pot with the holes), u mean ppl acutally put their food IN the sinK???

i dont remmeber about myself :@: but my nephews bathe in teh sink. but they ahve those special bathtubs for babies that u put ont eh sink so its not like theyre IN the sink.

I DONT GET IT!! :grumpy: do people actually REALLY touch raw food to be prepared in the sink??? We’ve always used dishes even in teh sink. my mom washes her hair in the sinnk sometimes and this past weekend our bahtroom was being renovated and i didtn want to use the bathroom sink in the downstairs bathroom (lets just say the tiny sink is more like a GIANT ASHTRAY :smack: )

idk abt sponges but my parents would use bounty tissue. just use em over and over and over. i suppose they are very strong and thus okay to use..but its still gross.

(I know i'm flooding here)

I think i'm really weird, i really dont have issue using public bathrooms. but then again it depends, like i know all the really clean/private/quiet bathrooms in school so i will even go out of my way to use those restrooms. i dk , if i cant use the bathroom, i get really sharp nasty pains. =//

And one last thing…

what do you guys normally do w/ food in the sink? Here, these ppl thrwo food in the sink instead of in garbage…its not like we even have hte garbage disposal :smack: and i absolutely hate it. its so nasty and just EWWW!! :frowning:

exactly.
living cleanly is half imaan.
living healthy follows that.
make sure your food is covered at all times.
clean bathrooms, baseboards and cabinets completely and often.
use windex, lysol, tolex, pine sole & clorex with swifer and a mop.
take out and dust window panels and clean door knobs every week.
use clean sheets and towels.

best,

Dushwari

Arrrgghhh - sick! My inlaws do that & they gargle too - the worse thing is that they start washing pots and pans there too - i had to use a stern tone of voice asking them not to do it…

They only gargle in the sink now…:smack:

I've seen some desi families brush their teeth at the Kitchen Sink.................YUK!

My uncle does the spitting and gargling thing - he's in the UK. I hate it when he does ot at mine after a dawat or summat. I always cringe as it sounds and looks gross plus then sometimes you have to put your hand to the plughole to remove excess food.........

I'm glad I had my lunch before opening this threa again!!!

ew! that’s not what I meant. I was simply saying..don’t use public washrooms unless you really have to as in you feel the need to go…not when you’v already let it out..a little bit..haha

ew .. that is not what I meant

This is my most favorite thread now, TLK bhai, thank you.. thank you.

Atleast we have sponges and dishwashing liquid, during my shopping trips in Karachi, I saw so many restaurants washing their dishes in ONE bucket of water.. over and over and over again. Here at dawats, I cannot stand those aunties who wipe tables, counters, sink with ONE sponge and then start washing dishes with it also. Sponge is not that expensive and I don't know why but desis hate to use paper towels. Since I like to wash my plate and glass after I eat food, no matter whos house I am at, I first have to spend 10 mins washing the sponge before I can touch the plate with it. This one aunty I know in particular who uses her sponge for EVERYTHING around the kitchen, I gifted her a set of paper towels and scotch brites for Eid.. it was about time that old disgusting sponge hit the garbage.

Because some desis think they can save some serious $$ by not using paper towels and reusing their sponges till there are holes in the sponges!!! And old habits die hard.

eww thats gross.

btw as a side note.... sponges can be disinfected in the dishwasher but I wouldnt do that more then once. After doing that one time I usually throw it and use a new one.

hahah .. what was her reaction when you were handing over that roll of paper towel as gift :D

paper towels can get expensive if you use them for everything.

So I bought a bulk pack of microfiber towels to wipe off my granite countertops and my kitchen table among other things. Because I have so many I never run out so after using them i throw em in the hamper and run em in the washing machine on laundry day :D

I too have those towels AE. And I do the same thing. I actually like them a lot! I have also been using a disinfecting spray which is good for all surfaces even for cleaning inside the fridge. So whenever I wipe the counter or sink, I always end with this spray.

First she was excited to see what was in the massive gift bag. So you can imagine the surprised look on her face when she found the much cheaper items in there than she expected. Then she said, oho inki bohot zaroorat thi mujhe, thank you. My mom however, gave me this really mean look and I haven't gifted any aunties sponges and towels since then.