headaches

i know we’ve discussed this issue thousands of times in this forum. But i think i have the world’s worst headache right now. i have had it since last night. i don’t feel like doing ANYthing except burying my head in a soft pillow. What is the cause behind headaches - we can shoot people to the moon but we haven’t figured out a headache cure :mad: This is insane.

i hate headaches… i’ve had them since i was a child. It used to be worse, used to have one at least once a week. Ab tau at least kam ho gia hai (Alhamdulillah for that). But they still occur and when they do, i feel like just sleeping - i already took one tylenol last night and don’t want to take anymore. i can’t go to sleep cuz we are having guests later today… what if i puke while they are here. It’s a high possibility. i feel so sick :mad:

Yes this is a self-pity thread. Shoot me. :frowning: i hate headaches. What is the logic behind them - what is your body trying to tell you, there must be some cause behind it. If we can send people to the moon and relay pictures of Mars back to Earth, then surely some brainiac somewhere should be able to come up with a headache cure that actually works :mad: Non?

Been stressed lately?

hhahah stress is my middle name. :smooth:

Everyone has stress. But not everyone gets headaches :mad: jaylus None of my friends seem to ever get them.

:(

hmmm...nadz is it migraines? do u wear lenses? do u get proper ventilation, enough sleep? are u anemic? are u eating properly? do u have weak eyes and dont know?

did u ever go to a doc for this?

hugz

hmmm..what can u do...i think if its not going away at all, take a medicine a bit more potent than tylenol?

Stop reading the newspapers (yes, even those online editions too). Stop reading GS's political forums and also stay away from certain topics in General. Spend maximum time in Jokes forum (I won't subject you to Cafe, cz that may likely make it worse) and Insha Allah, you will feel a heck of a difference in only one day.

I am not kidding, actually. My mother has severe headaches when she is in Pakistan. But she never gets them when she is here with me. Part of the reason is, you guessed, we don't have Nawa-e-Waqt here.

same here Nadia!! These headaches just don't go away :(

hmmm the only time i get headaches, alhamdulillah not that much, is if i’ve pulled an all nighter and spend the next day in front of the computer

or if i go out wearing my lenses and do some exercise *

or if i go out in pollution or heat, esp if im wearing lenses

some ppl get headaches by reading in poor light

nadz does any of this apply to u yaar?

there is a good desi cure for headaches…try to do the SAJDA position…and let the blood gush to ur head…it helps sometimes…

but i think u shud go to a doc :flower1:*

I have the same problem nadia. I don’t know what causes these frequent headaches…mines don’t last for extended periods of time (Alhamdulilah), but a few hours if i take medicine or take a nap. I’m almost certain that I don’t have migraines Alhamdulilah because they aren’t severe…it’s just slow annoying pain. Sometimes the headaches are random and just occur out of nowhere, other times I’ve realized that I get headaches if i spend a few (like 5 or more) hours outside the house doing whatever…usually in not so good weather.

There’s various types of headaches, I know i get sinus headaches because they are usually occur with seasonal allergies that I have :sigh: I seldom take medicine for headaches because I donno I just don’t liking taking too much of it…it’s a thing i’ve become strict about over time :-b

Anyway, the point of my reply was to give you some of the things which cause my headaches so that maybe you can understand if there’s a pattern with which yours occur. You should also make an appointment with your doctor and see what he/she has to say about it.

Are you staying hydrated??I get headaches if I am not drinking enough water. Or if I havent had enough sleep. Or if I dont get my usual 2 cups of coffee :(

funny u started this Nadia .. i had a worse headache of my life yesterday… … n i really felt puking all day… i couldnt work.. i couldnt talk.. hell i couldnt do any thing … at first i thought a good strong tea would make it go away.. but no! … i even had to get off from work early cos i couldnt concentrate on anythin.. then guess wut… i couldnt even drive back to home.. but i did sum how…it was so hard driving with this stupid headache of mine .. :mad: …then i tried sleeping.. but that didnt help either.. i still had this headache when i got up… atlast i went out for a long walk at night or ‘hawa khori’ in other words.. n it faded then Allah ka shukar hay … mayb all u need is a little air… try goin out for the long drive or walk .. mayb that will help :flower1:

Headaches can also occur when your 'Red light' is near...i.e. ur periods are due...

I usually get caffeine-withdrawl headaches early morning on late evening, which is relieved after I drink coffee and if it doesnt go away then Motrin usually does the magic :p

In your case, it may be a migrane which is triggered by certain factors in your daily routine. It may help if you kept a diary for a few weeks to help you pinpoint some of the factos that trigger it such as food you ate, sensitivity to bright light or noise, stress or some other activity, visual blurriness. Headaches can also be triggered by menstrual cycle in females.

Taking Over-the-counter or prescription medicine ofcourse can relieve the headache but in time you will develop a dependancy over them and your headaches will get more frequent and severe and relieved only when you take the medicine.

Suggestions:

1. Eat regularly, dont miss a meal
  2. Follow regular sleep patterns
  3. Relaxation excercises. Daily excercise relieves stress in muscles which can trigger tension headaches.
  4. Get you eyesight checked by a professional.

*Originally posted by Rukhsarbibi: *
same here Nadia!! These headaches just don't go away :(

Rukhsar bitwa,

Start meditating for 15 minutes in the morning. If there is a yoga class in the vicinity, try that too. A friend of mine with severe migraine reduced the severity and frequency of migraines considerably with yoga. Good luck.

ugh. Sorry for the late replies. :~( i absolutely appreciate everyone’s taking the time to respond in here. i am so sorry for the late reply, but thank you so much to everyone who took the time to help me out. (There is a reply to a pm that i still have to send it too).

Irem, i think we have discussed the answers to your questions on msn, have we not ? :~/ Correct me if i am wrong.

Digital Surgeon, Yes you are right i think.

Faisal Bhai, Aap bilkul theek kahtay hain. i have tried to take your advice, to some extent i honestly did. Newspapers hon ya no hon, there are other things in one’s real life (apart from gupshup entirely) that can still give stress. i don’t know how to separate myself from that.

RukhsarBibi, Thank you so much, at least i know i am not alone.

Sehar, Thank you so much. That really was extremely thoughtful of you. i’ll pm you a more detailed reply to what you wrote.

Ira, Thanks for the reminder. i definitely don’t drink as much water as i should.

Aleezay, i know exactly how you feel about puking! :smiley: i did go out for fresh air; Alhamdulillah weather here has been gorgeous recently so i’ve been trying to get some more fresh air. You’re right, it makes a difference sometimes. Thanks yaar.

5Abi, Thank you yaar :slight_smile: :flower1: That was extremely thoughtful of you. i really appreciate it. sigh i wish i would follow your advice.

Arvind, yep…i’ve read yoga is a great stress-beater and perhaps by extension therefore, headache-eliminator.

nadz u late lateef :stuck_out_tongue: :hehe:

:hug:

I had a major headache at work today and a co-worker suggested I drink a lot of water!? I was not even the slightest bit thirsty but I tried it.... it actually worked!!!