Hazrat Sultan Bahu

One of the great Sufis of the Indian Sub-continent, who devoted his life preaching humanity to masses in the northern Punjab, was also a great poet. Born in the 17 century to an influential land owning class, he dissociated himself from a life of luxury and lived as an ordinary Punjabi, often going without a meal for days.

He has written some 40 books, but his most celebrated work is “Abyat-e-Bahu”, a collection of his poetry in Punjabi. All his lines end with “Hu”, a term that he refers the Almighty with. His poetry is magnificent and fluid. Here is a little sample for you:

Alif-Alla Chanbay di bootey, Meray Mun wich Murshad Lai Hu
Nafee Asbat da pani Mulyus, Har Ragay Harjai Hu
Andar Booti Mushk Machaya, Jan Phulan tey Aai Hu
Jeway Murshad Kamil Bahu, JaiN Ay Booti Lai Hu

Translation (please note that this is my own interpretation of this great work and it may not do justice to what Hazrat Bahu might have meant, but I hope it is close enough).

God has planted a tree of “Chanbay” (a fragrant plant) in my heart
He waters that Plant with my sinister deeds, that make my veins so restless
Inside me that Plant is so active that it is a riot in there
All praise to the Almighty who has planted that tree in me

Yes, I have heard the NFAK version of that in Qawalli form...very haunting.

The last line:

Jeway Murshad Kamil Bahu, JaiN Ay Booti Lai Hu

I think it translates literally as; 'long live Kamil Bahu who has planted that tree in me'. Just for the record.

Thanks Xtreme Yaara..

You are absolutely right. Kamil Bahu was his Murshad, but he raises his mantle and status to that of a very high spirit.

Here is one more for you:

Dil Darya Samoondro DoNgay, kon DilaN diaN Janay Hu
Wichay BeRay, wichay JheRay, Wichay WanGH Mohanay Hu
ChodaN Tabak Dilay dey Andur, Jithay Ishk Tamboo Wang Tanay Hu
Jo Dil Da Mehram Hoeway Bahu, So-yo Rab Pachanay Hu

If anyone wants translation, please let me or Xtreme know.

Kalaam Bahu in Gurmukhi is a book of about 50 pages which sits in the head board of my bed along with some other Sikh scriptures. When I cann't go to sleep at late night, it is my last refuse.

bey bismillah isam Allah da ihh bhi kehna bhaara hoo.
naal safaiyat sarwar aalam chhutsi aalam saara hoo.
hadoN be-had darood nabbi nooN jisda aidd pasara hoo.
mein qurban tinah thiN Bahu jihna miliya nabbi sahara hoo.

sey saabat ishaq tinah ne ladha(found) jihna tarati chauRh cha keeti hoo.
na ohh sufi na ohh bhangi, na sijda karn maseeti hoo.
khals neel puraney utte nahi chaRhda rung majeethi hoo.
kaaji aan sharah vall Bahu kadi ishaq namaaz na keeti hoo.

che chaRh channa kar rushnai, zikker karende taarey hoo,
shala na koi musafir theeve te kakh jehna de bhaarey hoo,
galiaN de vich phiren namaane laalaN de vanjaarey hoo,
taaRi maar uda na Bahu, asiN aapey uddan haarey hoo.

pe paRh paRh ilam hazaar katabaN aalam hoye saarey hoo,
ikk harf ishaq da na paRh janan bhuley phiren bechaarey hoo,
ikk nigah je aashaq vekhey lakh hazaaraN taarey hoo,
ishaq, akal vich manzil bhari saiaN kohaN de paaRhey hoo,
ishaq na jehna khareediya Bahu ohh dohiN jahaani maaRhey hoo

bey-beadbaN na saar adab di, gairaN karde saanjhay hoo.
jehRay thaal mitti de bhaNday kadey na hunday kaanjhay hoo.
jehRay muDh kadeem de KhaiRay, kaday na hunday Ranjhay hoo.
jeiN dil mangeya Bahu gai, dohiN jahani vaanjhay hoo.

pe-paRh paRh ilam lok rijhavan, kia hoyea iss paRheyaN hoo.
hargiz makhan mool na aavey, phatay dudh kaRheyaN hoo.

pe-punj jehl punjaN vich chanan, deeva kit vall dhariye hoo.
punjay ,mehar, punjay patwari, hasil kit vall bhariye hoo.
punjay imaam, punjay qibley, sijday kit vall kariye hoo.
Bahu saheb je sir mangay, hargiz dhil na kariye hoo.

jeem-jioNdeyaN mar rehna hovey taaN vais faqeeraN bahiye hoo.
je koi suttay gudaRh kooRha, vaang aRooRi sahiye hoo.
gila, ulahmaN,bhanD, khuwari, yaar de paaroN sahiye hoo.
**kadar de hath dor asaadi, Bahu jioN rakhe tioN rahiye hoo.

dal-dil kaalay kanoN munh kaala changa, je o issnu jaanay hoo.
munh kala dil achha hovay, ihh dil yaar pachhanay hoo.
ihh dil dost de pichhay hovey, dost mattaN siYaanay hoo.
sei(hundreds) aalam chhoRh maseetaN naThay Bahu, jad laggay ne dil tikaanay hoo.

daal-dardmandaN de dhukhdey dhooyeiN, darda koi na saikay hoo.
uhnaN dhooyeaN de taa(temp.) tikhairay(high) mehram hovey taaN saikay hoo.

daal-dard ander da ander saaday, baahar karaN taaN ghaiyal hoo.
haal asaada kiveiN oh jaanan, jo duniyaN te maiyal hoo.
(haye maar sutteya)
baahar summandar ishqay wala, hardam vehNda haiyal hoo.
pahunch hazoor asaN na Bahu, asaN naam tere de maiyal hoo.

Chann Vira, Dil khush kar dita e!

Fajri Wailey, Waqat Swaley, Nit aan karan Mazdoori Hu
KawaN, IllaN, Haksi GillaN, trigee (3rd) rul'ee Chandoori Hu
Maran ChekhaN, tey Karan Mushaqat, pa’t pa’t Sut’an Angoori Hu
Sari OmraN PaiNdiaN guzree, Kadi na aai Puri Hu

Chann Yaar, Hazrat Sultan Bahu is one of my most favorites also. I have a lot of his stuff, all written in Punjabi. Although his metaphysical accent on “spirituality” is somewhat “raw” but again, when you read his stuff, heavens can wait. Or as your brother NYA will put it (heavens can go to hell).

I think it is sad that his work in not in mainstream literature courses taught in Colleges in Pakistan, but I hope that more effort is made to popularize this gold-mine of wisdom.

All you and I can do is to introduce our heritage to our younger brothers and sisters, so that the torch can keep burning.

Is s translation of his available in english/urdu along with the original ofcourse?

Dear Baarishh, I am not aware if his work is translated into any other language. I am sure one can find an Urdu Book (he authored some 40 books, and was literate in Arabic and Persian). You can find his books in any decent bookstore in Pakistan, in Lahore, Ferozesons is the best place to buy books. But his “main” book is “Kalam-e-Bahu” (the one that Channmahi mentioned); is sold in different variations. Some books list his poetry alphabetically (see footnote), like the what Chann posted, other books just print his work in random order. In Punjabi, this book is sold as “Abyat-e-Bahu”. The poetry is written in Urdu. If you can read Urdu, it should be fairly easy for you to follow his thought process, as most books will give you an index at the end translating difficult words (just so you know that Punjabi in fact is the “mother” of Urdu language).

Here is a little phrase for you:

Punjabi: Ma’l Murshad diaN Tal’iaN
Urdu: Pir ki Khidmat karo
English: (unfortunately there is no concept of “Khidmat” or “Saywa” in the English language).

If you have any more questions, please feel free to post. Chann and Xtreme and I will help you find answers (if we don’t have them already).

I appreciate your want to learn about this great personality and his work.

Footnote: Hazrat Bahu would start a verse by taking on an Arabic Alphabet (e.g., Alaf; Bey; etc.) and build the poem on that alphabet. Each “Rubai” (set of 4 versus) of his any given poem will start with that letter of the alphabets. This is his unique style and not found in any other poet’s work.

nya, Writing couplets, poems starting with the name of a alphabet letter or name of a month etc was very common in Persian, Punjabi, Hindi, Sindhi, Urdu and other Indian languages. Poets used to write poems called "baraN maaNh"(twelve months), "seharfiyaN"(couplets starting with alphabets), dohay(or dohRay) etc. These poetic techniques actually existed much before Ghazal, azaad nazam, kissay etc. These days most poetry is either Ghazal or Nazam......and then you got some bhangra songs:)
Ghazal is by for the most difficult one to write and has best impact on the reader or listener. Azaad nazm is the easiest one to write but listeners could go to sleep listening or even worse decide to committ suicide.

Chann

[This message has been edited by ChannMahi (edited September 22, 2000).]

Originally posted by NYAhmadi:

If anyone wants translation, please let me or Xtreme know.**

Yes, I would please. This is really interesting, I'd like to know more, especially since my knowledge on this is highly limited. Thanks!

Dear Cat Woman,
Here is my lousy effort to translate:

(No one knows the depths of thoughts, as the Matter of Hearts are deeper than any ocean)

(All the Boats, with all the animosities, together with Bamboo (sailing pedals) and sailors live in there)

(14 entrances to the Heart are secured by Love (of Allah) as tensely raised as a Tent)

(Only the heart that is in love recognizes the Almighty)

Chann Yara, Thanks for your detailed explanation. I am not that familiar with Persian and Arabic poetry (except for general stuff) and my knowledge of even Punjabi poetry is pretty casual; but I am a great admirer of Hazrat Bahu. When I was a little kid, one of our farm workers in our Pind would sing Sultan Bahu’s poetry and it was in my childhood that I developed affection. His Punjabi work is only a few pages (as you mentioned) long and it is no uncommon to find people in my part of Punjab (Sultan Bahu was born in Zila Jhang; which is the neighboring Zila to my ancestral village) who can recite (by heart) all his Punjabi poetry in one sitting.

I was basically comparing his style with that of two other icons (Bulhay Shah and Shah Hussain) and there is a distinct difference in 3 styles; with perhaps Sultan Bahu’s being more fluid. But the other two are also great.

Please correct the above translation if you find any errors.