Hazrat Muhammad(P.B.U.H) knows how to read & write or not?

Re: Hazrat Muhammad(P.B.U.H) knows how to read & write or not?

^I expect better from you ravage than plain untiring disagrement based upon personal beleifs.

There are certain aspects of Prophet saw life that are unique to him only. Like number of marriages.

Look at the verses SOA posted. Plus find me a single reference in history that shows He was seen writing.

Yes He did encourage learning and what learning entails will be different in different times. Few decades from now, pen and paper may disappear.

I didn't want to bring shia-sunni debate in here, but if Shia Believes in the verses posted by SOA, then the incident of Qalm & Qartaas, will be left with no basis, and as many knows this incident have major role in Shia Religion.

So they along with many others, still argue against the reality that Prophet (SAAW) did actualy knew reading and writing.

Thanks Brothers & Sister

Can you tell me what is the other meaning of Ummi in Arabic language.I m living in Saudi Arabia i know Arabic don't play with words live pakistani molvi's Other meaning of Ummi is "Wellwisher of people" there are many other meanings of this word according to place.Meaning of arabic word always change according to circumstance.But this point meaning of this word is "wellwisher of people".

Our Holy Prophet (PBUH) knew the Holy Quran as revealed to him by Jibril (ES) and could recite all of it by heart!.....................:)

Re the verses… As shias understand those ayaat, he was unschooled (which is one meaning of Ummi) but not illiterate.

as for aspects of life being unique to him, I can understand marriage being something unique to the prophet, given that it served to bridge between tribes and so on. but why would this be unique? doesnt it seem like any time where you cant explain something it is easy to invoke this answer?

Can you list references for where other prominent personalities were writing? Say the second caliph, the third, if I give you an arbitrary personality could you find recorded evidence of just the act of them writing? It is reasoning by abduction. Hypothetically lets say there is no recorded evidence of the Prophet ever cleaning his teeth though he encouraged it. Is it fair to say he never did it, but encouraged others, and he didnt do it because certain things are unique to him?

There is evidence of him exchanging correspondences with people on the field etc, but to my knowledge it isnt certain whether those letters were written by someone else. There is this hadith too, although there are versions of the same incident where he merely crossed out certain portions instead of writing a different text:

http://www.usc.edu/dept/MSA/fundamentals/hadithsunnah/bukhari/049.sbt.html#003.049.863

At the very least there is significant doubt about the matter.

The SAHIH AHADITH themselves show that he knew how to read and write.

well he didnt write those agreements himself

nor did he knew how to read

the agreement that ur talking bout hazrat ali ra wrote it

and he read the agreement for prophet p.b.u.h

and when prophet p.b.u.h knew that ali ra wrote prophet of allah intead of muhammad bin abdallah he asked him to erase it and write muhammad bin abdallah and when ali ra didnt do that he asked him where is my name written and ali ra told him

and then prophet erased his name from the agreement

Yes you live in Saudi ARabia, right now i reside in Riyadh so if you are a humble muslim behave like one.

Go ahead explain what ummi is with different meanings (but with proof) dont explain to me stuff like that ummi has root word umm so it can be mother also.

Anyways pakistani molvi you are a funny guy, good assumption. Ok here are the answers to your well woven assumptions and you myth is shattered, because

1) I am also from Saudi Arabia and
2) I am an Indian

Now do you have any more assumptions, to create your own prowess. The thing is i want to know why have you basically come up with this topic, for simple reason if you want the answer you could have searched this on the internet.
So my assumption is, you have a specific purpose, and for obvious reasons you are not the only one, to have come up with this topic.

Lastly once you finish i have a surprise for you, because the answer i have provided is just 1/4th of it.

Believe me get the proof i will believe your words, it is as simple as that. When you claim something please bring it along with the proof, i will be very glad.
If possible send a PM.

Ok some more to go continued from the last explanation

As you can see above the word الأُمِّيَّ, appeared in both verses, regardless of what the verses say let's see how all translators did:

YUSUFALI: translated as the Unlettered
PICKTHAL: translated as who can neither read nor write
SHAKIR: was not translated and was kept as the Ummi

I would say all three are accurate, because the Quran told us clearly that the prophet never wrote nor read a book before, let me show you this then I will come back to continue the above:
And you did not recite before it any book, nor did you transcribe one with your right hand, for then could those who say untrue things have doubted.**
[The Quran ; 29:48]
وَمَا كُنتَ تَتْلُو مِن قَبْلِهِ مِن كِتَابٍ وَلَا تَخُطُّهُ بِيَمِينِكَ إِذًا لَّارْتَابَ الْمُبْطِلُونَ (48)

-> Clearly it says وَمَا كُنتَ تَتْلُو مِن قَبْلِهِ مِن كِتَابٍ, And you did not recite before it any book,, i.e. Mohammad never read a book before, then it says وَلَا تَخُطُّهُ بِيَمِينِكَ, nor did you transcribe one with your right hand, some may still argue and say this means that Mohammad may or may not be literate. I say, what follows next indicates that he was illiterate :** إِذًا لَّارْتَابَ الْمُبْطِلُونَ, **for then could those who say untrue things have doubted., i.e. Mohammad was illiterate before the revelation of the Quran and during the period of the Quran revelation because if he was literate, the people at his time would have doubted him. Also he might learnt how to write later on after the revelation but I never heard of it.

We can safely say that Mohammad DID'T READ NOR WRITE at least up to the Quran revelation and including the whole period of the Quran revelation, i.e. the word Ummi applies to him, remember that it applies to the following:

1) Those who don't read nor write (Mohammad belongs to this group)
2) Those who read but don't write

And that is why I said all 3 translators are accurate because if you don't know how to read nor write as we were told that Mohammad was alike, then you are any of the followings and according to each translator:

YUSUFALI: the Unlettered
PICKTHAL: who can neither read nor write
SHAKIR: the Ummi under the Arabic language of course, because Shakir did not translate it at all, I guess he was not sure what it means.

My important note here, the submitters cult deceive others by severely manipulating 29:48 and lie saying, Mohammad knew how to write, obviously this means that Mohammad also knew how to read, they also lie and say that he even wrote the Quran with his own hands before he died, this is an obvious clear cut lie that they only cooked to serve their low desires, Allah clearly told us that Mohammad did not know how to read nor write, the submitters on the other hand say but 29:48 stated that HE DIDN'T WRITE PREVIOUS SCRIPTURES BEFORE, total non sense because if the BOOK was mentioned without the Al, i.e. THE then it is called Nakirah, i.e. UNKNOWN. i.e. ANY BOOK that you can think of, here it is again: مِن كِتَابٍ, Min Kitab, NOT Min AL Kitab, therefore Allah clearly means Mohammad never wrote or read any book before. (any book you can think of including scriptures - UNKNOWN)

What proof u r asking my friend,

The authenticity of Qalam & Qartas or that Shia believe that Prophet (SAAW) knew reading and writing?

In later case, i guess a shia can provide with better proof about their religion then i do. So you May ask it from them and then wait for lengthy posts ( storries) talking about every thing else but on the topic.

Do let me know what proof u r looking for?

Assalam-o-Alaikum wr wb.

Hadees-e-mubarikah hay keh "anaa madina'tul ilm" (mai'n ilm ka sheher hoo'n).

agar likhna or parhna ilm hai'n to kaisay mumkin hay keh yeh uloom "madina'tul ilm" mai'n naa ho'n?

poori kaynaat kay tamam zahiri or batini uloom mai'n say sirf aik aisa ilm hay jis kay mutaliq quran paak mai'n irshad-e-Rabbani hay keh....

or nahee'n sikha'ee ham nay is Nabi ko shairi, or nahee'n thi is kay shayan-e-shan yeh cheez.....

soorah yaseen ayat 69.

*Sirf shairi ka ilm Allah paak nay Rasool Allah s.a.w.a.w., ko nahee'n sikhaya or iss bat par quran khud gawah bhi hay. *

ab agar kisi ko yeh sabit karna ho keh fulaa'n fulaa'n uloom bhi madina'tul ilm mai'n nahee'n thay to iss kay liay yaqeenan hawala darkar hay wagarnah Rasool Allah s.a.w.a.w., ki Hadees-e-Mubarikah or Quran ki ayat yeh baat samajh lainay kay liay kaafi hai'n keh shairi kay ilawah kaynat kay tamam uloom "shehr-e-ilm s.a.w.a.w.," mai'n mojood hai'n.

**The biggest problem with Muslims is that they accepted believes of Munafikeen who always wanted to degrade Prophet (PBUH)

You all have heard the Hadees " Mujhey Muallim bana ker bheija gaya hey"

If a teacher comes and dont know how to read and write how can he teach to students...

One of you guys said that Prophet was not a college teacher rather He was teacher of humanity.... So stay here and answer me that If i would be in the time of Prophet and would ask from Prophet to let me know how to read or Write would Prophet answer me that i dont know how to read or write....

Secondly if you say He was illetrate then why he after Badad asked from Kuffar that they can be free if they taught the muslims to read and write.....

Yes he was un Schooled as there is no one in this world who can be the teacher of Prophet yet the only teacher of Prophet (PBUH) is Almighty Allah and Allah directly give all sort of Ilm to Prophet (PBUH)**

Kehtay hain k hazrat Muhannad (SAW) nai akhri time kalum aur paper manga to keh deya ka nauzubillah aap ko nisyan ho gya hai.Agar parha likhna naihe atta tha to paper pen kyun naihe deya

• Muhammad(SAW)

Peace NetDevil

It is documented ...

If someone wanted to learn to read and write he (SAW) would send them to the people who had that knowledge.

The Arabian mode for learning and teaching was through the oral traditions. That is why they had expert memorisers because that was the main method transmission of information was maintained. By mouth!

I have been in Management Consultancy for over 10 years now, I personally knew some very successfull business owners who still cannot read or write and they have employees who read and write for them, Although it is very risky, but the point here is , IQ and Knowledge of doing certain thing is not depended on reading and writing skills of the one, although it can be an added value but not the mandatory..

Quran is live Miracle, I recall an incident, where a French Sailor ( might be navy person) heard the verses where, Allah Subhan.o.tala was referring the the darkness by giving the example, where the night was cloudy, it was raining and the waves of the ocean was covering every thing. Being a sailor he can imagine the situation, he asked the sailor did ur Prophet (SAAW ever went on voyage, the reciter said no, he never been on voyage, the Sailor said then how come he can give such example, the reciter said, It was not his words, they are the word of Allah which he are reavled to him, to delived it to us.

It is said that the Sailor, did bit more research and accepted Islam.

( i don't know if the above incident is true or not, but it surely tells u the source of the wisdom and knowledge of Prophet (SAAW))

Hazrat Muhammad was a teacher if you have some example that a teacher can't read & write tell us.what he will teach if he doesnot know himself to read and write?

Dear Brother,

Hazrat Mohammad (SAAW) was not here to teach a certain language or course or writing an essay kind of stuff.

He was appointed to teach people the system and art of living in a system by setting the examples by doing it himself. I think one can call it teaching by practice.

Now, coming back to my earlier example, These business owner surely in way are teaching us some new techniques, some new methods and /or strategies, although they are not running a school, they are teaching by practice.

A computer software knows how to read and write .. that does not make a computer software, teacher ...

Reading and writing are just the tools to transfer or accumalate knowledge, they are not the knowledge themselves

Prophet Mohammed never needed those tools