Hazrat Data Gunj Bakhsh

Hazrat Ali bin Usman Hiwiri, Comonly known as Hazrat Data Gunj bakhsh :rehm: was one of the most loved and adored sait in subcontinent. Death aniversary of
data sahab is held from 19~21 safar(islamic callender) 29 ~ 30th March this year. When hundred of thousand people attended the gathering and paid homage to this great wali Allah. His Parental lineage goes back directly to Huzrat Imam Hasan :razi: (The grand son of Prophet Muhammad)

Unparelled Forbearance

One of the greatest characteristic weaknesses of man is the control of his temper. How great Sufis have mastered this devilish evil is illustrated by the following few brilliant instances. Hazrat Shaikh Abul Hasan Ali Hujwiri of who is popularly as Data Ganj Baksh says, “insult or ridicule of the friends of God is their relishing food.” A true Sufi relishes all ridicule and takes no notice of any insult done to him

Due to the devotion and love of this saint by the people of Lahore, the city is also popularly known as “Daata ki Nagri”. At Daata darbar complex people visiting from various parts of country are offered free food and free lodging in the vast area. It is common knowledge that any poor person can not remain hungry for a long time as the many kind of edible are available at Data sahab 24/7 all year round.

One of his follower said these verses in praise of this great saint.
[thumb=H]GanjBakhshae16977_9813755.JPG[/thumb]

Re: Hazrat Data Gunj Bakhsh

So who pontified him....pope?

Actually Islam spread to 5 continents due to efforts of these great people. In Africa, Far east, Subcontinent due to efforts and hardship of these people who followed the footsteps of Companions of Prophet(pbuh). They travelled great distance to spread the message of peace.

i read his Kashf al Mahjub some years back, translated by Reynold Nicholson...

those verses written in his praise by his follower r full of shirk....
i am sure if he read this he wud have not liked his followers using such words for him....
just like he wud not have himself called "daata" and share an attribute of God....

Do you find anything objectionable in peotry of Allama Muhammad Iqbal ?

yes i do....
a good example of his poetry that i find objectionable is the one he wrote about nizam-ud-deen awliyaa....
a lot of shirk there....

i wish some one could destroy the center of shirk in lahore, and other similar centers in pakistan. the sheikh was good muslim indeed, and we love him but we do not do shirk and we ask Allah to guide us away from shirk. but those people who die on shirk will have no ease in punishment, no matter what their intention.

What shirk do you find in this poem Armughal?

http://www.iqbalcyberlibrary.net/books/b0001/pages/gif/p0122.gif

^^ "Massih o Khizar se ooncha maqam hai tera"......Thats highly dubious to say the least.....

u both r absolutely right…unfortunately shirk sirf hamaaray sub-continent main hota hai…daata , peer, mazaar sab pakistan, india, aur bangladesh main kyon hotay hain

“Shirk” can you define what this word means and implies?

In Islam, shirk means "association" of God's qualities with someone or something else, thus "idolatry," the one unforgivable sin according to the Qur'an.

Correct. Question of Tawhid or Onness of Allah cannot be challenged, diluted or shared. What makes you think that people who go to Mazaars are doing shirk? Simply because they are visiting graves? Or, it is because you believe that they are praying to the saints buried at these places? Former cannot be classified as shirk, some may term it as Bidaat while some will disagree. Latter presumes that someone offering Dua at a holy shrine is asking the saint buried for help, which is an incorrect assumption. Basic premise required to be a muslim according to all schools of thoughts is the belief in Tawhid or onness of Allah. Once that principle is established there is no question of sharing or dilution of ultimate authority.

Problem here lies in different Quranic interpertations of a certain ayat which deals with ‘Waseela’. Those visiting Mazaars and offering Dua are not praying to that saint, it is a prayer to Allah but asking for Waseela for the good deeds of the saint. I know, I know there is plenty of arguments which will be made to refute this kinda thinking, but then again there is another viewpoint.

buddy ur explanation is the same most desis who go to mazaars have given me..actually many realtives have debates with me over that…i am sick and tired of debating on this topic…even on GS…there are many threads dedicated to peeri muridi
I don’t wanna go further into it…u can debate with other guppies …going to mazaar is ok…i also used to go there when i used to visit pakistan (just to buy ganja)…but when i have to ask anything …I ask it directly from Allah…at the max i put durood shareef in the beginning and end of my dua :smiley: .
the definition of shirk itself is self explanatory…“not to associate anything with allah ki zaat”

Buddy, this is not my explanation or that of the desi’s back home. Iam referring to specific Quranic Ayath which are the basis of such practices. You are most welcome to do whatever you please, cause we all are answerable for our own deeds and all Muslims, even those who go to Mazaars are asking Allah for forgiveness.

the mushriks of makkah perioud also believed in onenesso f Allah, read over these ayahs
Surely, the religion (i.e. the worship and the obedience) is for Allâh only. And those who take Auliyâ’ (protectors and helpers) besides Him (say): “We worship them only that they may bring us near to Allâh.” Verily, Allâh will judge between them concerning that wherein they differ. Truly, Allâh guides not him who is a liar, and a disbeliever.
Az-Zumar (39):3
And they worship besides Allâh things that hurt them not, nor profit them, and they say: “These are our intercessors with Allâh.” Say: “Do you inform Allâh of that which He knows not in the heavens and on the earth?” Glorified and Exalted be He above all that which they associate as partners with Him!
Yunus (10):18
And (remember) when Allâh will say (on the Day of Resurrection): "O 'Iesa (Jesus), son of Maryam (Mary)! Did you say unto men: ‘Worship me and my mother as two gods besides Allâh?’ " He will say: "Glory be to You! It was not for me to say what I had no right (to say). Had I said such a thing, You would surely have known it. You know what is in my innerself though I do not know what is in Yours, truly, You, only You, are the AllKnower of all that is hidden and unseen
Al-Ma’idah (5):116

the question arises in this ayah, how many christians worship Mary? not many, no one calls her God, but they do seek intercession through her, and that is called worshipping them in Quran.

And (remember) the Day when He will gather them all together, and then will say to the angels: “Was it you that these people used to worship?” 40 They (angels) will say: “Glorified be You! You are our Walî (Lord) instead of them. Nay, but they used to worship the jinns; most of them were believers in them.” 41
Saba’ (34):40-41

Those whom they call upon [like 'Iesa (Jesus) * son of Maryam (Mary), 'Uzair (Ezra), angel, etc.] desire (for themselves) means of access to their Lord as to which of them should be the nearest and they hope for His Mercy and fear His Torment. Verily, the Torment of your Lord is something to be afraid of!
Al-Isra (17):57

so Iesa :as: himself wants to be near to Allah and if that is the case with him, who is sure that the so called “data ganj baksh” is even going to heaven? are you saying for certain that he is going to heaven? only revelation can tell us who is definately going to heaven and we did not have the prophet SAW say that data ganj baksh is going to heaven. so if they themselves are not certain to go to heaven how can we take them as intercessors with Allah?
on the side note, all the prophets ARE going to heaven, but even then they desire to be near to Allah even more…

If you invoke (or call upon) them, they hear not your call, and if (in case) they were to hear, they could not grant it (your request) to you. And on the Day of Resurrection, they will disown your worshipping them. And none can inform you (O Muhammad SAW) like Him Who is the All*Knowe)]
Fatir (35):14

so if we invoke some one for intercession, allah says that those people will disown our “worship”. thus invoking is called worship in Quran. and thus intercession while believing that only allah can give is shirk that the kuffar of makkah practised and for that reason all of them burn in hell for eternity. same is for those people in our countries going to mazars and asking for the intercession for the dead saints, they are mushriks and not muslim. they need to be invited to islam as we invite any kafir. if they die in that state, they are destined for hell for Allah never forgives Shirk, not even abu talib’s shirk was forgiven even though he helped the prophet SAW through all his life. he is still in hell so what about those people in our countries…
Allah o alam

Read the verse before and think again! Obviously, Allama Iqbal isn’t the kind of a person who would put a sufi saint above a Prophet. We know that that can never be a possibility.

Hint: Hazrat Khizar :as: and Hazrat Iisa :as: are still alive

khizr (as) being alive in itself is a belief rejected by most scholars....

and, even if they r alive, no person can take a rank above the Prophets....

and if u think that Isa (as), in his second coming, no longer a prophet, will rank lower than even the best of this ummah (Abu Bakr (ra)) then u r very very wrong....