HAZRAT ASMA BINTE AMEES (RA)

Assalam-o-Alaikum

Dear GSians!

The Islamic history is full of the gloriuos accounts, attributes and virtues of Ahl-e-Bait (AS) and Sahaba-e-Karam (RA) of Holy Prophet Muhammad (SAW). No one can truly know their calibre but Allah Almighty and His Prophet (SAW). Amongst a long list of Ahl-e-Bait (AS) and Sahaba-e-Karam (RA), a lot is said, read and written about the well known. But there are others who though equally virtous are not known as much. On of them is a great Sahabia (RA) of Holy Prophet (SAW) Hazrat Asma Binte Amees (RA). I, in my very humble capacity, have tried to summarise just a few of her great virtues here. If anyone could correct me or add more, it would be a favour for an illiterate like myself.

HAZRAT ASAMA BINTE AMEES.

1) MARRIED TO 3 SAHABA AT DIFFERENT TIMES
She is probably the only Sahabia (AR) who has this unique honour of being the wife of three different Sahaba (RA) at three different times viz. Hazrat Jaafar-e-Tayyar (RA) till his martydom in Ghazwa-e-Mauta in 8 Hijri. Then Hazrat Abu Bakar Siddiq (RA) till his Rihlat in 13 Hijri and then Hazrat Ali (KAW).

2) MARRIED TO 2 RIGHTEOUS CALIPHS AT DIFFERENT TIMES
She is the only Sahabia (AR) who has this unique honour of being the wife of two Righteous Caliphs (RA) viz. **Hazrat Abu Bakar Siddiq (RA) **and Hazrat Ali (KAW).

3) MIGRATED TWICE
She had the honour of migrating twice, first to Abbysinia and then Madina-tul-Munawarrah with Hazrat Jaafar-e-Tayyar (RA).

4) MOTHER OF ABDULLAH BIN JAAFAR (RA)
She was the mother of Hazrat Abdullah bin Jaafar (RA) who was the first baby born in Abbysinia.

5) MOTHER OF HAZRAT MUHAMMAD BIN ABU BAKAR (RA)
She was the mother of Hazrat Muhammad bin Abu Bakar (RA) who was the son of Hazart Abu Bakar (RA), ward of Hazrat Ali (KAW), half/step brother of Hazart Imam Hussain (AS) and Hazrat Imam Hassan (AS), guardian of Hazrat Usman (RA) in 35 Hijri, lieutenant of Hazrat Ali (KAW) in 36 Hijri and governor of Egypt in 37 Hijri.

6) OTHER CHILDREN FROM HAZRAT JAAFAR-E-TAYYAR (RA)
Apart from Hazrat Abdullah bin Jaafar (RA), other children are probaly Hazrat Awn bin Jaafar (RA) and Hazrat Muhammad bin Jaafar (RA). These two probably got martydom in Karbala.

7) OTHER CHILDREN FROM HAZRAT ABU BAKAR (RA)
Other than Hazrat Muhammad bin Abu Bakar (RA) she also gave birth to Hazrat Umm-e-Kalsoom (RA) who was raised by Hazrat Ali (KAW) and later married to Hazrat Umar-e-Farooq (RA).

8) CHILDREN FROM HAZRAT ALI (KAW)
Hazrat Yahya bin Ali was the son through Hazrat Ali (KAW).

9) UNIQUE AMONG SUNNI HISTORIANS
She on account of the a/m attributes has a unique place of respect among Sunni Historians.

10) UNIQUE AMONG SHIA HISTORIANS
Shia historians also respect her a lot on account of her qualities, plus her relation with Hazrat Muhammad bin Abu Bakar (RA). Moreover, the wife of Hazrat Imam Baqir (AS) and mother of Hazrat Imam Jaafar-as-Sadiq (AS) was one of her great grand daughters i.e. Hazrat Umme Farwah binte Qasim bin Muhammad bin Abu Bakar (RA).

11) UNIQUE AMONG SUFIS
Some Sufia of the Naqshbandi Mujadadi order trace the lineage of Faiz from Hazrat Abu Bakar (RA) through one of the grandsons of Hazrat Asma binte Amees (RA) i.e. Hazrat Qasim bin Muhammad (AR).

12) RAVIA OF HADITH
A lot of Sahaba-e-Karam (RA) have narrated Ahadith on her authority.

Wassalam.

Re: HAZRAT ASMA BINTE AMEES (RA)

Dr.Sahab..very useful information ..thankyou....

But plz. clear few things....

• muhammad bin abi bakr was not guardian of usman but pulled his beard in his last times..and involved in sabai movement...

*umme kalsoom was from ali...not abu bakr..and when married to umar...umar happily said that ..now i m also in ahle bait....

i will be grateful if you clear those points ..thankyou...

:salam:

JAK Dr. Sufi. Nice thread.

Would like to add another personality. Its Nusaibah bint Kaab. I think I got the name right. She was among the 73 that came for the second Pledge of Al-Aqabah before the Prophet SAW migrated to Al-Madinah.

As for women warriors among the muslims, she is one example. In the battle of Uhud when the Prophet SAW was left alone and many Ashaba formed a cricle around him to protect him SAW, it was not only men, among those was a woman as well i.e. Nusaibah bint Kaab. She received 16 wounds while fending with a sword but still survived. Subhanallah.

Salaam

JazakAllah Dr Sufi and USResident for the beautiful information...please post more detail on Nusaibah bint Kaab(ra).

:wsalam:

Sis, don’t know much more about her. I was recently reading the Sirah by Dr. Sallaabee. I found this mention in there. I will try to find more information, should I do Inshallah! I will post it. I know she participated in another battle in which she received 12 wounds but I can’t which one one it was.

^ok inshaAllah.

Thanks for the compliments brother.

The other personality i.e., Hazrat Nusaibah binte Kaab (RA) which you have mentioned, I think you must start a new thread on that great lady. In that way, we can share exclusive knowledge about her.

Wassalam.

Dear Brother

1) Regarding your first querry, no doubt in some books it is written like that, which incidentally is improbable. The fact is that the group of people who encircled the house of Hazrat Usman Ghani (RA) had come out of Madina. While Hazrat Muhammad bin Abu Bakar (RA) was already in Madina and was on the side of Hazrat Ali (KAW). Hazrat Ali (KAW) had send Hazrat Imam Hassan (AS) and Hazrat Imam Hussain (AS) alongwith others including Hazrat Muhammad bin Abu Bakar (RA) to safeguard the house of Hazrat Usman Ghani (RA).

• Moreover, the accusation of pulling the beard of Hazrat Usman Ghani (RA) was was later on coined by the enemies of Hazrat Ali (KAW). It was done to include him in the "Qataleen-e-Hazrat Usman" (RA) to justify his martyrdom in 38 Hijri by those who wanted to equal the score of Battle of Siffin.

• More important, had he been involved in any case in the martyrdom of Hazart Usman Ghani (RA), both Hazart Ali (KAW) and Hazart Ayesha Siddiqa (RA) would not have felt sad at that point. Hazrat Ayesha Siddiqa (RA) who was very much against the "Qataleen-e-Hazart Usman" (RA), used to curse his killers after her prayers (ref; Nasahe Kafia, Murawaj-as-Zahab, Hayat-al-Haiwan, Noor-ul-Absar, Tabari etc etc).

And he was not included in the **Sabais. The very first mention of the word Sabaiya appears around 37-38 Hijri, when a group of people loyal to Hazrat Ali (KAW) was apprehended by Ziyad bin Abi Sufian. He apprehended 12 people including *Hazrat Hajar bin Udi (RA)** and sent them to Hazrat Muawiyah (RA) with a letter. He labelled them in that letter with two words viz, Turabiya and Sabaiya. The word Turabiya was probably derived from Abu Turab i.e., Hazrat Alis (KAW) and Sabaiya probably from Ibn-e-Saba who is said to take Harat Ali (KAW) to a level of divinity. There was no mention thereof Hazart Muhammad bin Abu Bakar (RA) as a Sabai in that letter. Clearly the words Turabiya and Sabaiya were used to clearly state that those people loved Hazrat Ali (KAW). It does not however mean that those 12 persons were the followers of Ibn-e-Saba. On the contrary many of the Shia Historians even question the presence of Ibn-e-Saba.

• In a strange twist of fate and history, later the word Turabiya which had a postive connotation and a link with Hazart Ali (KAW) through Abu Turab vanished somewhere in history books while the word Sabaiya which had a negative connotation through Ibne Saba remained which is extremely ironic. (ref; As'af-al-Raghabeen, Hayat-al-Haiwan, Noor-ul-Absar, Tabari etc etc).

2) Regarding your second querry, it is said that it was Hazrat Umme Kalsoom binte Abu Bakar (RA) who was married to Hazrat Umar (RA). It cannot be Hazart Umme Kalsoom binte Hazrat Ali (KAW) through Hazart Fatima-tu-Zuhra (SA) as she was married to Hazrat Awn bin Jaafar-e-Tayyar (RA) and was present in Karbala.

Rest the truth is known only to Allah

Wassalam.

2) Regarding your second querry, it is said that it was Hazrat Umme Kalsoom binte Abu Bakar (RA) who was married to Hazrat Umar (RA). It cannot be Hazart Umme Kalsoom binte Hazrat Ali (KAW) through Hazart Fatima-tu-Zuhra (SA) as she was married to Hazrat Awn bin Jaafar-e-Tayyar (RA) and was present in Karbala.

Rest the truth is known only to Allah

Salam,
As far as marraige of Hazrat Umer Farooq r.a and Hazrat Umme Kalsoom, this is even admitted by many Shia scholars. (refer to shia website al-islam.org)

Its also possible she was married to Hazrat Awf bin Jafffar after the shahadat of Hazrat Umer r.a?

jazakallah brother for clarifying the confusion surrounding the personality of muhammad b abubakr[ra] ....hujr b adi [ra] was another great sahabi you mentioned, he participated in the conquest of syria and in Qadissiyah and battle of jahula against the sassanians

Why do you guys praise a woman based on who she was married to or who she gave birth to??

I find it funny that #10 on your list is actually an accomplishment outside the usual "she was the daughter of, the wife of, the mother of".

Lets get real. Just because you're related to someone who did great things, doesn't mean you're a wonderful person yourself. When we praise someone, lets talk about what she did, what she said, what she stood for...i.e. Praise HER, not her family!

Thankyou Dr.Sahab for clarification of historical events about muhammad bin abi bakr....regarding..there are few things whch are controversial in histoy...but all sahabs are equally respectable to us...so we remain quiet in that matter ....between ali and muavia...do you agree with me ??

Respected Brother

Yes it is also very much possible. Whatever the case it speaks of the mutual respect between Ahl-e-Bait (AS) and Sahaba Karam (RA).

Wassalam.

Dear Brother

Yes I agree that to keep quite and remain silent would be good option.

Wassalam.

Thanyou Dr.Sahab....