Having Hope

I’m feeling pretty much devoid of hope that I’m gonna meet anyone worth being friends with and marrying.

I’m not gonna get into the challenges of meeting the right guy or even guys in general. That’s not the point of this thread.

More so, the point is: how do you keep going knowing that the possibility of being alone is very real.

Re: Having Hope

I think the lowest I hit this year was when I openly hit on a 26 yr old. I told him I was a cougar.

As cliche as it sounds, there's always hope. Attend more weddings (social gatherings are a good place to meet people ), ask your parents to help maybe they can let friends know that they're looking for a rishta for their daughter and just try and take the time out to socialise and get to know more people.
Pray more, do your best and make dua. Don't be disheartened, you won't be alone forever , trust Allah.

Freaken Americans , don't believe in polygamy . . . don't you just hate them .

Keep faith in Allah, and prayer, and always keep a positive perspective. I say, if you like someone just propose to them...

sigh

go to a shesha lounge .

:smack:someone is serious :femmefatale:

Hahaha. Shisha lounges do have cute guys :p

These things are tough. The thing that we don't realize is how many people struggle with finding good proposals. I have a friend who is my age. She always wanted to be married at an early age (which would be 23-25, for her, like in the years following undergrad). We both turned 26 this year and she has been majorly depressed because she feels old and all her younger cousins are married (some have kids already)... and it is especially worrisome because we can't seem to find like-minded families where you get a good, positive vibe and can confidently say that 'yes, this is it, this is what we have been waiting for all along'. The ones that we chase after, they are not as interested because probably they are looking for someone better than us.
The advice that I gave to my friend was not to compare yourself with others. It isn't a game. Everyone gets what's in their naseeb. And we won't get it before it's time. Sure, some people might get lucky and get married early on but are they necessarily happy? We don't know that. Some of these girls in the 18-24 range are so immature they are not even ready for a relationship, let alone have the responsibility of running a household and raise kids properly.
Recently a friend got married. She is 31 and a doctor. Her parents had been looking for 5 years. Mashallah se she is so happy now. Her husband is a doctor too...32 or 33 I think...good looking...very nice guy.
So don't look at others. Focus on what it is that you want and if your current methods aren't working then try something new. Inshallah someone great will come along soon :)

just pray to ALLAH "jo apke haq mein behtar ho wo hon " and keep full trust in ALLAH and see ALLAH will surely help u AMEEN

Pray for yourself, travel and expose yourself to new experiences. You might find people of your liking.

Sometimes you need to just go out looking for what you want.
I hope you find the best companion for yourself.

If I could find someone, there is hope for everyone on this planet...don't even entertain the thought that you might end up alone.

Hahaaa made my day that! ;D

dont lose hope hunny... You will find the ONE.. Just remain positive- have you tried matrimonial sites?.. Ive heard a few sucess stories about them you know.. Inshallah u will find someone so dont give up chick!

You know my cousin sister was exactly in the same situation as you. Her parents started looking from the time she turned 23!! then she turned 25 - no one, 28- no one, and the days just kept passing by without any good proposals comin in till the time she turned 31!! She had gone into MAJOR MAJOR depression. She had the same thoughts as you PCG - ke shayad Allah ne mere naseeb mein koi likha hi nahi hai , maybe Im destined to be alone etc.
She and her family had really given up! They tried matrimonial sites, rishtey waali aunties ( who took money from them and never showed up again or brought really bedhanga rishtas:mad:)

Well you know what they say - you will find THE ONE when you’re not actually looking!:hypo:
Her younger brother liked this girl and sent a proposal to her family. And then they find out that the girl’s family was actually looking for a bride for their elder son! And imagine the 2 families knew each for more than 10 years but the thought of both of them never actually crossed either of the families’ minds till the time the proposal for the daughter was sent! Subhanallah
So you see, it will happen only when it is MEANT to happen!
Mashallah she recently got married and her husband is a gem of a person!! He is loving caring, kind, jolly and hilarious!! He makes her laugh like anything!!

After seeing her example I now know that there are some things which are better left to Allah. He will bring him forward when the time is right. You never know maybe we are not prepared enough for the responsibilities and Allah is witholding it or amybe our husband is in the making to be how they should be according to our wants and needs:)