have your ever seen one in real life...

Our culture is full of items that were probably very unique to this region of world. Many of those items may not be in use anymore, though you may see the reference in Urdu literature. I wonder that people who are born especially after mid eightees have ever seen one of those items.

You guys can tell me if you have seen these items in real life and keep adding to the list.

Kashkol
Gurz (warriors used to use that in one on one fights in battles)
Naimat Khana

Re: have your ever seen one in real life...

There was a lamba chauRa thread on this topic in the past.

I think I missed that thread

Interesting thread Bhai ji..

Kashkols are not totally out of fashion as many saeen baba log still carry them around, though the younger generations of gadagaraan do not fancy using it as a tool of trade.

The same goes for Nemat Khana. Those who can't afford a refrigerator still have nemat khanas as alternative. (Perhaps the idea of a family's inability to afford a fridge is also unique in that region of world. Not so alien here.)

Gurz, as I recon, became extinct as a battle tool centuries ago. But it's status as a symbol of strength remains in tact and it is given as an award in desi wrestling championships even today.

Great input lucid. I did not know that kashkol is still in use. Thanks bro

kashkols are common....... gurz thingy is given to winner of kushti......so not so common.......i don't know what that nemat khana thing is........

I have seen malangs with kashkols and malas, don't know of naimat kada though.

Pictures of Kashkols , Gurz and Nemat Khana would be appreciated .

Re: have your ever seen one in real life…

Kashkol is alms bowl

Gurz is arm used in wars alongwith sword

3dsmax bronze mace

Naimat Khana was a box (surrounded by Jali) to keep the food fresh and safe from insects, etc. Picture khud dhoond len :snooty:

Kashkol is common, have seen it almost daily basis when i was working/ studying in Karachi.

Gurz i know it is, but never saw one

Naimat Khana, i didnt know its called Naimat Khana, but i've seen it in Punjab Villages, cannot recall what they call it, but it was like a big wooden box with doors walls of net. something like a smaller version of "showcase"

seen kashkool
and gurz at doodh dahi wali dukan as a decoration hanging on walls with pics of rustam e zamaan rstam a fallan pahalwaans.

I think I have seen kashkol....gurz is something Hindu gods use, right?

so you might have seen gandasa as well

‘Gurz’ for your pleasure, in the two scenes starting @ 4:22 and 11:18.

Some scenes in this show are funny.

made one when in school from dala ka dabba and daang.

Ugaal-daan. :chai:

You means 'DalDa' ghee ka Dabba ?

^^ Kiun ji…dalda ke jarabain bhee milti hain?

aho dalda ghee ka dabba kuut kuut kay uss ka gandasa like blade banao aur tape saay daang pay laga dou…doesnt work…the tape:bummer:

Is this gurz?

Gada (mace) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

like this pic of Hanuman carrying in his hands: