Have you seen ....... in some parts of Pakistan

A while back I was talking to a friend about Pakistan. He mentioned that girls wear jeans in some parts of Pakistan. Is it true? I can’t believe

-your bro in Islam

ya its true, i have seen alot of girls in islamabad, lahore, and karachi with jeans on,which i don’t think is bad cause they are covered, but even shorts and skirts? thats pushing it, and believe me thats just the start, some of these girls will put goris to shame. Theses gals are mostly the rich daddy’s little angels who got nothing to do all day but spend their daddy’s dough and roam around, since daddy is never around, and mommy is up to her own acts. I personally know a couple of families like these in islamabad, who are neighbours of my mamoo’s, and its disgusting.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/disgust.gif

So believe it bro…as much as i hate to say it, its the truth.

o©º°¨¨°º©o LiFe Is An IllUsIoN aNd ReAliTy iS a FiGmEnT oF tHe iMaGiNaIiOn o©º°¨¨°º©o

[This message has been edited by kaka malang (edited October 27, 2000).]

Well I have see Desi girls in Bikinis at khi avari

can you TOP that kakay?
:slight_smile: :smiley:

ME ME ME!!!
fuee.tripod.com
[email protected]
http://144.132.53.121/recent?0
picture

Yeah it's sad but true........i know alot of girls who wear jeans, shorts, skirts, tank tops, you name it.....and it's true what kaka malang said, it's the rich class girls........isn't it strange that some muslim girls in pakistan are worst then muslim, pakistani girls in the west......pata nahain Pakistan ka kiya hoga:(

Hey anyone in pakistan, can you tell me what is the reaction of the community, doesn't anyone say or do anything,(it is a muslim country)

[This message has been edited by appkiamaanat (edited October 27, 2000).]

i haven't seen it myself in person that is.. but there is a magazine thats imported over here its called libas international..... and its headoffice is in lahore i think....anyways.. if you look at the society pages in the front you can see that sorta thing being mentioned sometimes..they also show weddings and stuff of the rich ppl.. ive even seen a muslim/hindu wedding in there.. so anything is possible guys.. don't be so surprised.

who--me: didn't know it was a contest, but yes i can, but i will get banned for mentioning it.............you catch my drift?

aapkiamaanat: our community is too preoccupied to care, and even if they do decide to show concern, there is little they can do, since most of these girls belong to influential families. No need to stress over it, just remember there is trash in every society, and will remain so. They have to go in their own graves, and we in our own, let the Almighty sort them out.

o©º°¨¨°º©o LiFe Is An IllUsIoN aNd ReAliTy iS a FiGmEnT oF tHe iMaGiNaIiOn o©º°¨¨°º©o

i don’t think there is anything wrong with wearing jeans as long as it is not too thight

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/disgust.gif

and as long as ur covered

**Na Kabah mai na Be-tullah na dewaroun key sayoun mai, Namaz-e-Haq ada hotien hain Talwaroun key sayoun main

[This message has been edited by BLaDeGirL911 (edited October 27, 2000).]

blady thats exactly what i said in my first post....... :)

I left Pakistan 4 yrs ago. After hearing from you guys and media, I came to conclusion that Pakistan and Pakistani people have changed a lot during past five years. Reason for my post was not that we criticize on what is appropriate or not but to see that Pakis are leaving their tradition behind and moving towards what I can see as a complete destruction. If we have a tendency of copying others why not technology, politics etc..?

You guys have provided good points. Thanks for your contribution.

Keep discussion alive.

-your bro in Islam

Though I have never witnessed anything like this personally, I guess its the cool thing to copy American pop culture in all its glory!!!

Im surprised you even have to ask this question. I wore jeans in karachi....nothing wrong with that, as long as its modest...no tight little t-shirts i mean.

It’s absolutely true that girls wear jeans, skirts and minis in Pakistan,just to be “COOL”.:rolleyes:
And I really love the title given to them by Imran Khan. He called them “Kalay Engraze”
There is no wrong in wearing such dresses as long u are all covered, but we have such a decent and sophisticated dress of our own “shalwar kameez” and I think Pakistani girls look best in it.:cool:

ok mini skirts are bad
but whats wrong with jeans??
i mean loads of girls wear jeans in england so whats wrong if they wear jeans in pakistan?

the tongue of a women is her sword, which she seldom suffers to rust

Jeans are not bad to wear

Thank God, Peshawar is yet safe from such things :) I mean skirts, shorts, jeans in public (woh aur baat hai kay ghar kay ander kuch bhi kerain, even that's not very common).

Who says nothing is impossible? I've been doing nothing all my life!

You should be allowed to wear what you want, as long as you're not naked.

Clothes are clothes, people eventually will know what to wear and wear it is appropriate of what they wear, you have to give people that option.

If you stop people from choosing what they want, it's most likely they'll try harder to do what they want, and wear something for more outrageous than what could have been proposed...

clothes are clothes..

Arai

Lets spin this argument on its head. Unfortunately it is difficult to take out the religious ruling when talking about clothing. :)

Are we talking about Pakistani culture or Islamic dresses? Islam is not so particular as to tell us what to wear...it does not mention shalwar-kameez or robes or trousers...it gives guidelines on what to cover and what sort of dress we should not wear...

In simple terms here it is:

1. A women should cover everything except face, hands (and feet). [This is the Hanafi interpretation. Majority muslims in Pakistan take Hanafi interpretations as authentic. Other scholars may have a different opinion)
  2. A man should cover from naval to knee (this is the minimum)

In dress, it says:

1. A women should not try to look like a man, and vice verca.
  2. A women should not wear dresses which show the curves of her body (too tight) or transparent.
  3. It asks women to guard their modesty.
  4. It asks men to guard their modesty too and guard what they look at (i.e. don't ogle or stare at women, regardless of what she may or may not be wearing).

Everyone is free to dress the way they like, by following these guidelines.

Re: Pakistani culture... Yes it is going through lots of transitions lately. A significant change is visible due to high influx of Indian TV channels (Zee etc) and movies. Our print media is also changing rapidly. Libas Intl is just one example. The fashion pages of other serious magazines (like Herald and Newsline) depict the same trends. Its a fascination with all things 'gora' and all things glamorous (from across the border).

So far the newer trends are limited to upper class, and upper-middle-classes, but is gradually filtering down. Seeing girls and women wearing jeans and T's is nothing new now in Pakistan. In any case, we, those in Pakistan, are not the standard bearers of Islamic values. Like it or not! :)

Take it easy. Ciao!.

[This message has been edited by Pristine (edited October 28, 2000).]

yes I have seen that girls were wearing the jeans in Nagina Cinema Faisalabad, in P.C (Pervaiz Chaudhry) Hotel.
I had seen them wearing jeans in Nagina Cinema in Terminator2
P.C : http://www.hollywood.com/star/war

I went to pakistan to visit this past summer. i am from faisalabad and i don't think i saw anyone in jeans there Ahmedjan. but then again i didnt go to the nagina cinema there. well i did see girls in jeans in karachi and lahore. i even saw girls wearing shorts at the beach in karachi. i dont think there is anything wrong with wearing jeans cuz ur covered but its just attracting the wrong kinda attention in pakistan. the looks you get from guys even when you are wearing shalwar kameez is enough, i can just imagine their reactions toward girls in jeans.

Originally posted by Akelay Hum Akelay Tum:
I left Pakistan 4 yrs ago. After hearing from you guys and media, I came to conclusion that Pakistan and Pakistani people have changed a lot during past five years. Reason for my post was not that we criticize on what is appropriate or not but to see that Pakis are leaving their tradition behind and moving towards what I can see as a complete destruction. If we have a tendency of copying others why not technology, politics etc..?

You guys have provided good points. Thanks for your contribution.

Keep discussion alive.

-your bro in Islam**

I guess no one read this post. You are still replying to what is "appropriate" or not.