Have you guys noticed something?

Okay i’m sure you have but i’d still like to point it out and feel important.

Pakistan arent afraid to chase big scores anymore! In the pre-woolmer days we were always scared of batting second when a score of 275-300 was put on the board. Now we actually go out there and make a genuine effort to match the target with a self belief that yes we can. Has anybody else felt this change in attitude or is it just me?

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

Re: Have you guys noticed something?

Captain Lota, you are talking about the era of post '03 world cup and pre-Woolie, before that I don't think our team was afraid of chasing big scores.

we were known to be poor chasers even before the last world cup....

I think it is the psychological affect that Australia created by scoring 300+ runs (even in World Cup final against india where they scored 359!! :eek: ) that has raised the bar on what score is acceptable and what is not.

I remember that before 250 or 260 would be a good enough score (like Pakistan’s score in '92 World Cup).

Captain Lota bhai, jaag jaao! That has been the case since last year. Ever since Woolmer, Pakistan has been chasing scores with a lot of strategies. Great to see.

Yes I remember the bad old days when only 250 would make the batsmen tremble in their boots.

The game has become more offense (run oriented) as has for example baseball to give thrills to the crowd!

Either you get with the program or you get shipped out!

When we almost chased down India's 349 in Karachi, that opened the door for the current era. I agree that before that even chasing 190 was scary.

I agree. Though 189 was fine.

tell me about it. If india scored 348, we would’ve won the game. But the fact that we had to score 350 to win really threw us off. :smiley:

Miandad ka SIXER bhool gaYe???

Yeah the teams really improved at chasing
Credit the batting w\ Inzi bring the main man

True.. Inzi in the team is like having 4 extra batsmen (save the size jokes guys).

When you have other batsmen on the crease, the look on their face is usually saying 'Wonder what delivery youre playing next.. so how do i play this one and not get out'.

Meanwhile the look on inzi's face says 'Wonder what delivery youre playing next.. so which part of the ground should i dispatch this one? hmm too many choices too little time!!!'

Mashallah. :)

Sincerely,
Captain Lota