Have you EVER seen your parents......

Re: Have you EVER seen your parents......

I don't think you have to make out in front fo your kids to show affection..but like Amana said, hand holding, sitting nxt to each other,s peaking softly to each other etc..

Re: Have you EVER seen your parents…

While showing affection is one of the way but its not the only way to make your children understand that both of you love each other. It can be shown by other means to as Ira defined.

Well I grew up watching my dad kiss my mom goodbye before going to work. it seemed nice. But trust me, many people over here have parents WHO have never seen them express any love at all. lol. I mean I am sure it exists somewhere, but not in the open. What I meant was, why our society is SO much taboo when it comes to expressing love, that NOT even MARRIED people/parents can express affection infront of their kids. I mean I think it sets a very positive feeling, and reaffirms what it is like to be a husband and a wife. Its a hell of a lot better than watching indian heroes and heroins dancing and groping. lol.

My parents are mashallah the cutest couple in exsistance..they ALWAYS flirt with eachother and Kissing and hugging is no big deal even infront of us.... We have always seen our parents like that..and we certainly really like the way they are. This creates a really warm, healthy and loving environment..which is good for the kids. Even mashallah after YEARS of marriage they still act like newlyweds...and this kinda love is hard to find.

Refrain from expressing love...the more distance grows between you and this certainly tenses up the atmosphere..

my parents had an arranged marraige...so they dont hv the love we tihnk of and want in our lives...but they do love eachother in some odd way...dont show it but its there.

im glad my parents dont show their affection towards each other infront of me or my siblings.

id prolly vomit!

I have seen my parents holding hands, and they still show us how much they love eachother and Inshallaa I will do the same ,, just starting love in front of our kids

i think it's very crucial and necessary for the kids to realize and trust that their parents love and respect each other...yes, it does build up their confidence in terms of mingling with people ( by mingling, i dont mean FLIRTING which you can learn on your very own) and doing their routine jobs...it makes the kids trust that if they encounter any mishap, their parents will be there for them TOGETHER to support them, back them up, help them out and make sure everything is taken care of well...so i think it's one of the most important factor in a child's upbringing to have him/her make sure the bonding between the parents are too strong to distort...this gives the kids sense of security indeed...
And yes, it does seem inappropriate to kiss your spouse when the children are around you...but say if ,by a fluke, the child sees you kissing your spouse, i don't think you should be embarrassed because well, it's your spouse afterall...just my opinion.

lol my ami teases my abu ALL THE TIME…he’d be standing in the kitchen drinking water…totally minding his own business and ami would appear out of nowhere…and give him a surprise hug…he’d blush and say…‘bachay dekh rehe hein’…:blush:
they make the cutest couple in the world…the bond they share is just amazing…and it shows in their actions…
seeing my parents live a beautiful marriage and their love grow everyday…i have a vision now how i’d want my marriage to be…and for that i am very grateful to them.

If showing any sort of positive emotion is so taboo then why is it parents have no problem fighting or cursing at each orther or even to their kids abt theiR spouse? And then showing any bit of love (a look, a word etc) is wrong? Where is the logic and reasoning in that? Its such stupid paindu mentality..

^ omg so tru.

r my parents the only ones who don show their "love" for eachother :(

I am just wondering why is so much emphasis on “showing” the love rather than “having” it?? Why do some guppies believe that love can only be showing by “hugging”, “kissing” and "flirting”??? :confused:

Believe me parents who don’t do all of the above things, still able to “teach” their children that there should be love & care b/w husband and wife.

I m not against it but this is not “must have” item as some guppies suggest that “its crucial and necessary to build trust and confidence in children”

I dont think so…

Love and care btwn the spouses can be expressed in different ways, its just the the hugging and kissing and whatnot are just very generic terms; each couple has thier own way of showing love. I think that a couple who are affectionate with each other (in any way) inside thier own home do “have” that love for each other; that does not mean that couples who don’t show the typical romantic gestures are not in any less love w/ each other.. if that makes any sense :wink:

I’m not saying that showing lots of affection is necessary for children; that’s not for me to decide, i think that’s up to each couple and what they are comfortable with. You may find it strange to think of parents kissing each other because you were not raised in that environment and for soemone else, the situation is vice versa.

The only thing that bugs me is that some people dont find anything wrong in fighting and badmouthing their spouse to their children but think showing love is wrong, that’s hypocritical to me.

I agree to your point of “fighting and badmouthing” in front of kids. As far as I am concerned, i don’t remember the SINGLE occasion when my parents fought each other in front of us (I have 2 siblings). I am not saying they never had difference of opinion but they never discussed this issue in front of us.

Now on the other hand they also never “showed” affection in front of us to by they ways most guppies are mentioning is necessary(I guess it totally depends on the nature of the hubby and wife), But we know by their other acts that how much they love each other:

I remember when we were kids in June Abbu used to come VERY LATE at nights (b/w 12a-2am because of financial year closing workload) but Ammi used to wait for him on dinner although abbu has asked thousand times not to wait. Ammi was visiting us in USA last year and after 3 weeks she was like “I wana go back home, tumharey abbu Akeley heen na wahaan per” (cute na?), that says it all right ( I was like WHAT?? Abbu is not a kid and then I did not meet you in last 14 months us waqat tu aap ko khayaan nahi aaya k [my name] is akela  “

On the other hand if ammi used to get ill, abbu used to take day off from office, used to drop us at school, cook food for all of us and give ammi 100% rest. (I am talking about 80s when guys were not supposed to/used to touch any household work let alone cooking in Pakistan). I remember once Ammi went though the Appendix operation and Abbu spend 3 days & night in hospital without taking a rest for a min (although ammi was under the influence of anesthesia and could not even talk for whole 2 days)…..

So there are other way too to show children and even if they don’t show us, we get mature enough to know if they love each other or not.

Phewwww !

Anyway …this is my opinion and everyone is free to have their own 

Decent, that is soo cute maashaAllah. I agree about not showing affectionate gestures doesnt mean the couple is not in love. A few years ago, my Abbu ji got back from Muscat to US at about 6 pm. The very next day my mother starting getting abdomen pains and the doc wouldnt touch her, making her go to the hospital immediately. Anyhow, it took the docs a few hours to figure out what the prob was and she had to undergo surgery the same night at abt 2 am. When they brought her out, she was under anaesthesia and didnt really know what was happening. Abbu ji had been running around all day with her and hadnt gotten a rest since he came back. But my mom asked him to stay with her, in her groggy sleep. Even though she was asleep, Abbu ji stayed with her all night long just because she asked to. I bet she didnt even know he was there.

And lifeless, just to clarify, my parents also had a totally arranged marriage. Not to say they didnt have hard times between them or didnt argue infront of us kids but we know how much they care for each other too.

Now my husband better be as caring as my Abbu is if not more :mad:

My parents NEVER showed any PDA in front of the kids, but they were always showing their love for one another in subtle ways. My mother always told us girls how much my dad means to her and how he's her best friends, and how lucky she was to get such a kind husband. My dad tries to be romantic by always giving my mother gifts on their anniversaries and Eid, etc and taking her on these fantastic vacations. One time, while snooping through my mom's jewelry box, I came across a card my dad had given her. It had the sweetest, most romantic message on it. They didn't exchange it in front of us, but I think it's better to have some private moments. Their feelings are that it's not appropriate to broadcast your feelings of love out in public (desi morals), but privately, they love each other. If they're both happy that way, that's fine with me.