Have you ever made anyone's BARRI?

So every bride gets some things from the groom’s side normally clothes, cosmetics, bags, jewellery etc?

How many & which items did you get/see for your bhabi/cousin/friend/sister’s barri? Post pictyres of dresses that canbe included in Barri.

SO far i have these for my bhabi:

• 1 Bareeze Chiffon White with silver kaam - Anarkali with choori daar
  • 1 Raw Silk Dark Purple with golden kaam - Long shirt with dark purple velvet border
  • 1 Bareeze chiffon **maroon **with silver kaam - A-Line with trouser
  • 1 Jamawar chiffon sea green with golden/silver kaam - Simple Shalwar Kameez
  • 1 Bareeze chiffon suit **Blue **with silver diamontes & embroidery - front open style
  • 1 Baby Pink chiffon with shimos silk border & body cut kaam - maxi
  • 1 Bottle Green Jamawar silk body cut & sleeves, frock of chiffon - Long frock with trouser
  • 1 Deep Red & orange chiffon - Angrakha with copper kaam
  • 2 saris

What more colours, types of dresses & materials do i need? How many more dresses?

Re: Have you ever made anyone's BARRI?

She loves wearing chiffon which is why there is a lot of it. Also, i have 2 clutch bags so far.

Maybe you can make a couple of simple "homewear" clothes?.. i dont know, it really depends on the tradition in your family, about what kind of clothes you guys give in barri and how many. Ask family members? Personally i would like some variety.

Colours: black, grey, royal blue..

And btw the clothes you already have sounds gorgeous, could you post pictures? please?

Are you making the bari of your choice?

In our family, the bride goes along with the grooms family to get everything as pr. her taste. Thats at least how it has been with my mumanis and my bhabhi, though one of my mumanis didnt go along, as her family didnt want that for some reason which I dont know really.

Anywayz, I dont know about my mumanis barri, but I do know of my bhabhi's barri.

In complete it had 51 dresses, stiched and unstiched. Around 15 bags/cluthes and I think around same amount of shoes. A few cardigans (as it is cold where she was abt to move) were also included. Then there was of course full makeup like various shades of lipsticks, nailpolishes, foundations, eyeshadows, brushes, blushes and some perfumes.

In the 51 dresses I think about 15 dresses were very formal/newly wed sort of dresses. Around same amount of semi formal and then some casual (lawn, chiffon whatever she liked) of course.

This barri was given to her at the shaadi functions.

As my bro and bhabhi had their nikkah 6 months prior to the rukhsati due to immigration, she had a smaller bari at the nikkah function, which included 15 dresses, 5 shoes, 5 cluthes and some makeup.

I actually dont know if gold jewellery and stuff like that are a part of bari everywhere, are they? At our places its def. a big part of the bari.

daffy i really want to see some pics, i am struggling with it pleaseeeeeeee pm me if you dont want to post it up!

esp
1 Baby Pink chiffon with shimos silk border & body cut kaam - maxi
1 Raw Silk Dark Purple with golden kaam - Long shirt with dark purple velvet border

wat u gave as jewls?

wats standards of bari dresses numbers? cuz i realy confused abt its number...

i mean its nessarry to have this much or not? then how many dresses u bhabi brought in jahiz & how abt jewls?

There is no standard no. of bari dresses. every family gives what they think is the appropiate no. Personally I thought it was wayyy too much clothes for her seriously, because she came to EU 3 weeks after her wedding and wasnt able to take much of it with her. Although, she used the unstiched once wisely, like giving them to her mum, who stiched them for her in new fashion and style as time passed.

For jewellery we gave one big set of gold with earrings, necklace, jhoomar and tikka, then she had a panj-ungla (I dont know if that is spelled right?"), 12 gold bangles with 4 gold karre, a diamond ring, a normal sized gold set with a tikka which she wore on nikkah, two small size of gold set with just earrings and ring. Then she had a diamond set as well, with chain, pendant, earrings and ring. I think this was about from our side.

From her dads side, for jahez or what you wanna call it, she got 101 dresses. I think about 20 of those were formals, rest casual or unstiched. She didnt have many bags or shoes, as she wasnt going to stay in pakistan for long. She got jewellery in jahez from her father too, I dont know if thats custom either?

She had one big set of gold with necklace, tikka, earrings and jhoomar. 12 bangles with 2 kare, also gold. Anklets of gold, and 2 small sets of gold as well with necklace, ring and earrings.

^ i've heard the standard is either 11, 21, 31, etc. its always a +1 number.
that is a HUGE bari you gave mA and wow, 101 dresses for jaheyz??

we gave my bhabhi 11 outfits ranging from super formal and dressy, to semi formal. nothing cotton or casual as we live in Canada and most occasions are dress-up ones anyway. she doesn't wear sk's at home either so there was no point. we also gave her 2 banarsi saris, 3 sets (1 big for valima + 2 medium sized ones of my mom's), her valima outfit, valima shoes, and chooriyan. she was getting a lot of makeup herself and she knows what she likes so she bought those things herself.

oh also, don't stitch everything - leave a portion of those unstitched because fashions will change and her size might change too. unstitched means she can get them made up herself later on.

Wow 51 & 101 are really large number of dresses! The bride would always be confused which one to wear if she has so many dresses, Masha Allah.

SGC - We are also thinking of 21 because the bride's family has also explicitly said that dont make too many dresses since she already has a lot. Btw - are engagement dress & other dresses gifted on engagegemtn included in the BARRI count too? What about the valima dress?

I am not getting everything stitched, especially those that seem a bit too heavy for her type. Although, ive tried my level best to keep the dresses light.

Thanks girls - I would love to put up the pictures once they come. Right now some dresses are with the tailor for stitching, some gone for dyeing or kaam. Once, they all come in i will put them up surely, Insha Allah.

^well, yes obviously anyone would be confused ;). I think the first 2 years I didnt see her wearing the same clothes twice :p and she does only wear pakistani clothes. I myself was also very shocked to see so much as my elder brother was the first one to get married in both families. So basically the first wedding I attended from scratch and I think there was too much overtopping, I think both my parents went crazy in khushi ... :)

Personally, I want a smaller bari and jahez, maybe 21 each with casual wearing. I do wear shalwar kamez on daily basis at home, just feel so much more comfy in them at home, so I know I would get to use them all.