Re: Hats off to PCB/ Goodbye Inzi
I enjoyed that :) I really did and hats off to your wit....and I encourage you to keep it up!
The DUDE in darkglasses is Inzy's brother Intizar!
Khush Raho Abaad Raho, Yehan Raho YA Farrukhabad Raho!!!
I enjoyed that :) I really did and hats off to your wit....and I encourage you to keep it up!
Inzimam should have retired exactly one year ago after the series against West Indies.
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=235294
At least he would have not to bear disgrace in World cup 2007 and dishonorable discharge from One International Cricket.
And has a gracefull exit from test cricket instead of taking dictation from PCB Clowns who have now showning so much compassion , the same idiots had no courage nor decency to support their captain in right manner during that darrel hair controversy.
Glad you understand the "in-between/meaningful lines"...like hair stuff..:)
NO...Inzy has never lived in Karachi. Yes...he has frequented Karachi a lot..as his brother INTIZARUL HAQ is settled here---running GREENS like GOLF COURSES and currently developing Villas and picnic spots at places like Arabian Sea Country Club...near Pak Steel Mills.
JM, HM, RL, Sikandar Bakht, Haroon Rasheed...all are Karachi-ites.
I like your style....:) of wisecracking with your seniors...and wonder how your elder family members may feel when you speak or correspond with them like this....
EID MUBARAK...Khush rahein.....aur Allah Aap Ko Deen, Taleem aur Daulat Se Malamaal Kare...
-Raju Uncle
sorry uncle...I did not mean to hurt you esp on eid day....I am a big fan of your posts...by the way, after seeing your picture, I remember you very well from old PTV days....you used to be very active on PTV dramas esp in bajya jee classics but not anymore.....anyway, enjoy your eid and keep posting on KK.
EID MUBARAK young one! have fun...ye subb chalta hai iss dunya mein!
Enjoy life....and profess---PEACE, JOY, LIGHT and HOPE for everyone.
Its very hard to hurt anyone....and equally very hard to make friends.
You people are the destiny of Pakistan. We are the going ones....you are the ones we have very high hopes from.....to build a stronger Pakistan.
Khush Rahein....
-Raju Uncle
So this thread intead should be named "Lets bash Arjay Sahab"
Inzi is a national figure, so is RJ. I read RJ's write up and all he was describing was his closeness to Pakistan cricket team and players like Inzi
What was wrong with that
If you love inzi, would not it be great to get a perspective of him from someone who knows inzi on more personal basis than any of us
RJ sahab has his style of writing and its fun reading his posts. This is so sad that in effort to praise Inzi (who will never going to visit this thread) we are insulting not one of our fellow guppie but a senior friend, a national figure and son of a national hero
I am feeling so embarassed that I feel like aplogizing to RJ Sahab for the rudeness he is facing here
ok thats enough guys. F&B and Some1, you are free to discuss things with seniors in a civilized manner but no need to insult them just because you don't agree with their idea. **If you can't contribute in this thread then dont bother to post here**.
^Poori ki poori post delete karne mein Sharam aa rahi thi kyaa ?
^ can we please stick to the topic in thread. Is this too much to ask fo yar??
Ehsan bhai wali bhi delete karni thi na.. Kyon Director saheb ko choone me dar lagta hai..
What wrong did I say there man?? Even Raju uncle was enjoying it..He has such a great sense of humor. You need to lighten up mr FKHAN....!!!!
Dumbo....
Folks...there is so much being written on Inzy's records, averages, glorious innings etc...by many. In fact my good friend Dr. Saad Shafqat, the famous Neurologist at the Agha Khan Hospital-Karachi from Boston who also wrote to biography of our Babr Sher Javed Miandad has scribed a worthwhile article which Ill ssoon post on this thread.
WHATEVER I wrote was the lighter and personal side of Inzy as my friend who gave me every bit of respect since the time I met him..and I was saddened to his that some of his diehard fans...didn't.
Khush Rahein Aap Subb including the Hindu we have on this thread. I respect him and his "SILENT" thoughts expected from a real dumbo!
Fkhan is doing a wonderful job keeping people connected on CRICKET and I am also grateful to Tariq for his thoughts....in which he has been far too kind.
Its EID in Pakistan.....hence plaese accept HUGS also.
-Raju
IF anyone has on records..any article, speech or comment by INZAMAM on JAVED MIANDAD...when the latter...retired? I'd be obliged if it is posted on this thread...and till you find it...please go through the appended;
====================================
Miandad, Wasim, Intikhab hail legendary Inzamam
LAHORE, Oct 13: Former Pakistan cricket greats paid tribute on Saturday to retired batting master Inzamam-ul-Haq, saying the former skipper would be difficult to replace.
“Inzamam’s performance is part of history,” Javed Miandad said.
“He was a world-class player whose replacement will be hard to find in the near future,” he said.
Inzamam fell agonisingly short of topping Miandad’s Pakistan Test runs record in his final international appearance on Friday, against South Africa.
The 37-year-old Inzamam was dismissed for three in his last Test innings, finishing his career on 8,830 career runs, three short of a new record.
Despite his dismissal, Pakistan fought hard to salvage a draw against South Africa who won the two-Test series 1-0.
Miandad said failing to break his record had not diminished the batsman’s outstanding 17-year career that included 25 hundreds in 120 Tests.
“What matters is Inzamam’s show of respect for me and his extraordinary demeanour in this era when jealousy and disrespect prevail,” said Miandad, who played alongside Inzamam between 1991 and 1996.
“A player like Inzamam is only born in centuries and his performances were proof of that,” said Miandad.
“I was expecting him to break my record. I would have been happy if he had done it, because I have had a teacher-student relationship with him.
“Given his service to Pakistan cricket and the quality player that he was, he deserved the record. I enjoyed watching him bat.”
Miandad, who captained the side when Inzamam made his debut in 1992, said it was a sad reflection on the state of Pakistani cricket that it was not producing more players of his stature.
“We need to look at our system and ensure we groom more quality batsmen for a better future.”
The batsman from Multan stepped down as captain and quit one-day cricket after Pakistan’s humiliating first-round exit in the World Cup this year.
Coach Bob Woolmer was found dead in his hotel room the next day, sparking a police investigation and media frenzy that left the team and Inzamam in particular shellshocked.
Inzamam was captain last year during one of cricket’s most extraordinary episodes when Pakistan forfeited the fourth Test against England for refusing to play after being penalised for ball-tampering.
But former team-mates said his batting skills, rather than controversy, will be Inzamam’s legacy. Wasim Akram said he rates Inzamam alongside Indian great Sachin Tendulkar and West Indian legend Brian Lara.
“Inzamam was right up there. He may not be as consistent as Tendulkar or Lara but he matched them in class. The lazy elegance, the craft and the guile were all treats to watch,” said Wasim.
Wasim pointed to the 1992 World Cup semi-final when Inzamam was vomiting through illness and thought himself incapable of playing.
“Our captain Imran Khan convinced him to play and the rest is history,” said Wasim of the match in which Inzamam smashed a 37-ball 60.
He then scored a 35-ball 42 to help Pakistan beat England in the final.
“Inzamam made his mark and became one of Pakistan’s top batsmen for nearly a decade. I was a great fan of his batting,” Wasim said.
Inzamam will be missed not only by Pakistan but fans worldwide, he said.
“He was famous around the world so I am sure he will be missed by the fans all over the world,” said Wasim who retired in 2003.
Another Pakistan batting great, Zaheer Abbas, described Inzamam as a class act.
“He looked so easy at the crease that bowlers used to get fooled. It will be hard for Pakistan to find a replacement for Inzamam,” said Zaheer.
Intikhab Alam, Pakistan’s manager and coach in the 1992 World Cup, said he never doubted that Inzamam would reach the top level.
“When he was selected for Pakistan in the 1992 World Cup a lot of people had doubts about him. He looked a bit lazy but he surprised everyone with his fielding and batting,” said Intikhab.
Meanwhile, Pakistan coach Geoff Lawson believes it will take a long time for the team to mould a replacement for Inzamam.
“It is not going to happen overnight,” Lawson told reporters. “It will take a year or two before we can find a replacement for Inzamam. He was a class player with experience which comes with time.”
The former Australia bowler added it would be unfair to expect any of the current crop of players to start matching Inzamam’s batting exploits immediately.
“There are a couple of good players in line but they will take time to mature and establish themselves as Inzamam did himself,” Lawson said.—Agencies
Saad Shafqat is the able son of Pakistan's famous and known Cardiologist Prof.Hamid Shafqat.
Saad, by profession, is a Doctor (Neurologist) at the AKU Hospital, karachi.. having studied at the same University-and having pursued higher studies at Boston--to return to Pakistan in 2000.
On a more personal note...Saad is the younger brother of my younger brother Murad's (Islamabad's famous Archietect) wife...also a Doctor herself.
I encouraged Saad to write Javed Miandad's biography---which was finally accomplished and printed by the Oxford University Press-Pakistan. Saad was kind to mention a few lines about me in the book's preface.
Later--I encouraged him to go for Inzy's biography. We met Inzy and held two sessions and Inzy had promised quality time upon return from WC-07 at West Indies...but all went bereft and Inzy lost heart. We are still trying to put sense in him to go for it.....and hopefully...I expect to persuade him..when he visits Karachi by mid-Nov for opening of his brother's Golf Course..at DHA Country Club.......
**When a great cricketer leaves the crease
By Saad Shafqat
WHEN a great cricketer leaves the crease for the last and final time, he unleashes an avalanche of memories in your head. Your mind goes back to any of 17 centuries that brought victory for Pakistan, and even to the remaining eight that did not.
*You think of the triple-hundred mercilessly belted around Gaddafi Stadium against New Zealand, or the fighting 114 & 85 at Old Trafford that squared the series against England, or the imperious 184 at Bangalore that defeated the old rivals. Take your pick, for there is something here to satisfy fans of every stripe. *
*As the reverie continues, you recall the 138 not out in crumbling circumstances at Multan that saved national honour by the razor-thin margin of one wicket, and the textbook 148 at Lord’s, and how can you not remember the tenacious 2nd innings 118 in a losing cause at Hobart. It’s a long list. *
*Or perhaps your mind, having had its fill of splendid Test hundreds, goes back instead to a cold, windswept afternoon at Auckland. The year is 1992 and the event is the World Cup semifinal. Both openers and the heart of the middle order are gone. The asking rate has climbed to 8.5 an over and the team is still 123 adrift. A hero is needed, and he steps in. But for him, *
*Pakistan would still be looking for their first World Cup title. *
*This hero was born in 1970 in Multan, the city of saints and mystics. At the age of 15 he made his first-class debut, playing for his hometown. In 1988, he joined United Bank and began making impressive scores that brought him to national attention. The story goes that in the summer of 1991 Inzamam-ul-Haq was invited to a pre-season training camp with the national team. He played the regular bowlers with ease and confidence. *
*Then Waqar Younis was called in. Unfazed, Inzamam stared him down with some copybook forward defen sives, and then lifted two shots off his hips that sailed out of the ground. *
*Imran Khan thought he had seen another Viv Richards and Javed Miandad thought he had finally seen a successor, and neither was too far wrong. In his fifth ODI match, Inzamam made his first international century — 101 against Sri Lanka — prompting Miandad to give him a cash award of a thousand rupees, which Inzamam put aside as a good luck charm. A few months later came the symbolic partnership in the World Cup semi-final in which Inzamam took over the batting anchor’s mantle. It fit him perfectly, and there was no looking back. *
*Inzamam’s retirement marks the end of one of the greatest cricket careers from Pakistan. He has made more ODI runs, notched more Test hundreds, scored more Test and ODI fifties, and been on the winning side in a Test match more often, than any other Pakistani. And with 8830 Test runs (at 49.60), he has finished just 2 shy of the Pakistan record. These credentials place him alongside the likes of Hanif Mohammad and Miandad in *
*Pakistan’s batting hall of fame. *
*Much has been written on Inzamam, and the recurring remark that observers have repeatedly made is how deceptive he looked. Peter Roebuck put it most memorably when he wrote that Inzamam scores an awful lot of runs for someone who supposedly lets the world wander by. Bowlers marveled at how much time he had to play his shots, and captains struggled to place the right field. *
*If Inzamam was an unlikely batting legend, he was an even less likely revolutionary. Yet he pulled that one off too. He showed principled defiance against an outrageous umpiring misjudgment at The Oval last year, becoming the first captain in 130 years of Test history to forfeit a Test match — an incident that carries far-reaching implications for how cricketing decisions are adjudicated. It all happened in the space of a few minutes, yet it could end up being one of Inzamam’s key legacies. When you start your career becoming the subject of folklore, there is a good chance you will end it comfortably perched somewhere in the pantheon. It is sometimes said of Inzamam that had he done more with the talent he was given, he would have been spoken of in the same breath as Ricky Ponting, Brian Lara, and Sachin Tendulkar. It is a tough comment, though it is not so much a criticism of Inzamam as a celebration of his enormous gifts. *
*All the same, there are things Inzamam might do if he had a chance to go through his career once again. He might work harder at fitness, be more agile in the field, run more efficiently between the wickets converting ones into twos, and be a more animated captain always ready with a Plan B. Yet perhaps if he did all that, he wouldn’t be Inzamam, one of cricket’s colourful characters. *
And so it is when an great cricketer leaves the crease. He has finally played out his innings and he has picked up his bat and walked off the field for the last time. You can be sure his heart is sad and his eyes are moist. There is little with which to console his grief except the bittersweet fact that his are not the only eyes that are moist.
-end
It will take some doing imagning and seeing Pakistan team without Inzimam. Yes we played three onedayers against lankans but I could not watch them live. T20 is different kind. Inzimam has been the inspiration to many of us the way he fought back his way from one adversity after another and becamse the man he is now. humble, giant and yet furiuos when challenged.
We are privilaged to have watched some of his greatest innings in both forms of the game. Game moves on and so does life but memories dont die. Golden generation of Pakistan cricket is almost gone (Inzi, two W’s, Saeed Anwar etc) but they have given us so much to be proud of their achievements.
Good luck to Inzi :k:
ehsan bhai, I did not feel that raju bhai were throwing his importance around all he was doing was giving us an insight into another side of Inzi which many of us do not know or had read about, always a good thing to hear froms someone who was there firsthand.
Raju bhai, please keep em coming. we may poke fun at ya, but its always interesting to read.
INDEED...I will.
**Khush Rahein Aap Subb Aur Ehsan Mian......meine..aik second keeay bhi unki kici baat ka burra nahin maana. Meri fitrat mein nahin hai. I am cut out very differently. **
If only you had taken such comments seriously many more people would have taken you seriously.
show some respect, man. He's an elderly person and happens to be a prominent public figure.
raju uncle I read your posts quiet often, though, I dont get to comment on them much but it's always nice to get an insight of the industry and organization from a person who's personally assosiated with them.
apko bohut bohut eid mubarak, raju unlce. Allah apko sehat-o-tundarasti aur apki umar draaz farmaye.
Ehsan bhai wali bhi delete karni thi na.. Kyon Director saheb ko choone me dar lagta hai.. What wrong did I say there man?? Even Raju uncle was enjoying it..He has such a great sense of humor. You need to lighten up mr FKHAN....!!!! Dumbo....
F&B kabhi bee jamalo ka naam suna hay? You don't waste a single chance of mocking Mr. Arjay and now all of a sudden you are full pf praise for him?
As far as Ehsan bhai's post is concerned, do you really think he was doing the same thing which you were doing in this thread i.e. making fun? He just said what he felt instead of continuing to have childish discussions with a person who is actually of Ehsan bhai's age.
BEE JAMALO is a fictional character. An elder women who has this habit of creating savvy situations and misundertandings amongst families and friends.
In 1970-71, the Rawalpindi TV Studios took bets on Badar Khalil, then aged 25, and produced the series by he name which was directed by Ghufran Imtiazi. I did one of the segments which also had Samina Ahmed and Durdana Butt.
Baddo played the character for all its worth.
PLEASE..can we stop this match NOW?????????????????
I am trying to get an audio message from Inzy...thanking this forum for the thoughts and comments extended...and would upload it...if not in next two days then upon my return from Scotland and London by 8 Nov.