Re: Hats off to PCB/ Goodbye Inzi
Good Bye Inzi:(
INZAMAMUL HAQ;
I first met Inzy at his brother Intizar’s place at Karachi–shortly before the team left for the World Cup-1992 in Australia. We were planning our travel to Australia by going through the schedule of Pak-fixtures. Some were divided on visiting NewZealand also.
INZY was a young, baby faced character then. Wouldn’t talk much except “jee” “zaroor” and Insha’Allah words…and most of us were not very excited about him except Javed Miandad..who did predict Inzy’s great achievement at WC-92 and we were bewildered—when we saw THAT match against the Kiwis where Inzy proved to be the hot weather of his birthplace Multan.
The proximity with Inzy grew when my association on account of my website and friendship with Miandad, Moin Khan and Wasim Akram…made me closer to the Pak-Cricket..and which finally saw me on deputation from my Bank to the PCB as MMedia Manager/Advisor for Sharjah Coke Trophy-99 followed by our Australian Tour for three TESTS and a triangular (Pak-Aussies-India) which took us to that wonderland from Nov-99 through late January-00 and who can forget that beautiful night at Sydney where we saw the new millenneum 2000 arrive under fireworks at the Sydney Harbor Bridge near the Opera House.
Inzy is a good dancer also. More of a mixed bhangra and jive. He learned it from the master dancer Ijaz…who was too good for the Aussie girls at that Saturday night we had a ball of a time at Sheraton Brisbane. Inzy joining him with us all circling around—it was a merry night indeed.
Inzy had this classic sense of humor as well. His wisecracks matched Saeed Anwar’s—the king of joke tellers..I declared!!
Inzy’s marraige proved to be a great turn around for him. He got the better of being a good conversationalist–grooed by his MA wife–a wonderful lady by all counts.
INZY’s weak point was his thick headedness on any decision he would have made–as he would not reconsider it for the world.
I have seen Inzy booze at Dubai during Wasim Akram’s birthday whilst Coke Trophy–and I am glad my long sermon to Inzy–later next day, did play a role on his taking a decision to get off the hook. He remains grateful by words for that, till this date.
INZAMAMUL HAQs are not found easily in Pakistan. It will be a very long search to find another Inzy…the boy, the man and the worrier—who died fighting hence I term him as a Shaheed of Pak-Cricket–as far as professional affiliation to Cricket–for Inzy is concerned.
There’ll be many occasions when INZY will be remembered…in good sense and on any ***hair ***raising moment at any match…involvng Pakistan.
Let us all wish Inzy a very happy and contented life going forward…I will not mention the word**Retirement **at such times as I strongly do not beleive in retirement–for me and the likes of INZY…a retirement is the real begining–of proving one’s real worth for the world round him/her.
Khush rahein Aap Subb aur Apna INZAMAMUL HAQ
-Raju Jamil
Great cricketer. Saved PK from difficult situations - not only on the ground but in the dressing room as well. After Imran, only he could unite the team & he did. We can never forget hair issue - only because of Inzi we saw the results otherwise our beloved PCB wasn’t capable of doing anything.
under his captaincy, Boys played well.
A Legend ![]()
Raju sahib with all due respect this is a thread for Inzi and even here you could not resist the temptation of throwing your importance around. Please kuch toh mokay kee nazakat koh samjha karein . Not everything is about you!!! Sorry if it hurt I didnt mean to disresspect you.
Goodbye Inzi. You will be missed. Players like you aren't born every day. We has the privilege to watch you play and grow during the last 16 years.
yeah bout time he retired
baaiz play good today
My memorable moment of Inzi is from his last tour of West Indies. Collymore and other West Indian bowlers were running through all the batsmen. Nobody else could block an over much less score some runs except Inzi. He was scoring all the runs and hogging the strike. It was as if he was batting on another wicket facing a different set of bowlers.
Raju sahib with all due respect this is a thread for Inzi and even here you could not resist the temptation of throwing your importance around. Please kuch toh mokay kee nazakat koh samjha karein . Not everything is about you!!! Sorry if it hurt I didnt mean to disresspect you.
IF I had taken such comments from tiny tots---seriously, I may not have survived the likes this country is full of!!!!!!!!:) :) :) :) :)
Like I always say---this country is MOTHER - PIDDAR AZAD and therefore---such comments really do not bother a public figure like me.
Keep them coming!!!!!!! :)
-Raju Uncle
Osman Samiuddin's article is pretty good, so I wouldn't want to re-invent the wheel about how great Inzi was as a cricketer. He was the cornerstone of our batting for the last 15+ years. His presence in our middle-order will definitely be missed.
I couldn't help but chuckle at the elaborate send-off he received. Its pretty good. On one hand, it says good bye to a national legend in a proper manner. On the other hand, it helps drive-in the message, that "dude, now you are retired. Please don't try to get back into the team". The Michael Jordan syndrome is fairly common in desi sports too, where a superstar often gets brain waves the next day telling him, he should take back his retirement and be back in the team "for the sake of country, of course". We all know, how those second and third retirements end - just a recipe for snickering and bad feelings. With an elaborate send-off, hopefully Inzi will not enter such sycophants.
Inzi still has a little more cricket left in him. Probably ICL or english county cricket can milk those last few months/years out from him; and in turn make him a little more wealthy too. With his command over English language, I just can't see him joining a commentary team on Sky Sports any time soon. Nor do I think a person of his natural batting talent and supremely unfit ways can ever be a good coach for youngsters (you can't teach anyone 'lazy elegance'). So my best bet, is that he will open a paratha-kabaab restaurant in Multan and will enjoy the rest of his life in a happy and content state.
Cheers Inzi! May you be happy...
IF I had taken such comments from tiny tots---seriously, I may not have survived the likes this country is full of!!!!!!!!:) :) :) :) :)
Like I always say---this country is MOTHER - PIDDAR AZAD and therefore---such comments really do not bother a public figure like me.
Keep them coming!!!!!!! :)
-Raju Uncle
If only you had taken such comments seriously many more people would have taken you seriously.
Folks, with due respect, the thread is about Inzi. Lets not get too too distracted here.... thanks!
I am really sad about the fact that there will be no more Inzi to save Pak from crisis. World doesnt stop for any body and especially cricket but its just a feeling which makes once sad that you wont see your hero in action again (representing your country)
The end of a great career of one of the great batsmen
Sad that he couldn't pass Miandad's record--but both were great batsmen and anyway players like Inzamam don't care about numbers
Fitting end as well, that's a relief
Good Bye Inzi the Giant. Thanks a millions for all those knocks, you will be remembered as long as kidz breaking windows (cricket is played) in our country.
hair raising moment…ha ha…that was good uncle raju..by the way, was inzi also one of your neighbours like hanifs, miandads, latifs etc…
I am holding on to my tribute to inzi as I have a feeling he will be back one last time against India....I dont know why but I have a feeling........
do u think Inzi would make a good coach for Pakistan?
hair raising moment......ha ha.....that was good uncle raju..by the way, was inzi also one of your neighbours like hanifs, miandads, latifs etc......
Glad you understand the "in-between/meaningful lines"...like hair stuff..:)
NO...Inzy has never lived in Karachi. Yes...he has frequented Karachi a lot..as his brother INTIZARUL HAQ is settled here---running GREENS like GOLF COURSES and currently developing Villas and picnic spots at places like Arabian Sea Country Club...near Pak Steel Mills.
JM, HM, RL, Sikandar Bakht, Haroon Rasheed...all are Karachi-ites.
I like your style....:) of wisecracking with your seniors...and wonder how your elder family members may feel when you speak or correspond with them like this....
EID MUBARAK...Khush rahein.....aur Allah Aap Ko Deen, Taleem aur Daulat Se Malamaal Kare...
-Raju Uncle
…