Hats off to Pakistan team

This year has been particularly good as far as tournaments go. First 20/20. When they landed in England even the most die hard fans like myself never gave them any chance and after seeing their performance against SA and India in warm up matches we never thought they will go beyond the first round. They surprised us all and won the tournament.

And now again every one thought Australia and India would go through from our group, yet Pakistan made it to the semis. Even against Aus they had a very close call.

Tthey have performed very well. Lets not tear them apart based on one defeat. NZ was the better team today and we didn’t rise to the occasion.

I am still proud of my team.

Go Pak. :jhanda:

Thank you for a wonderful run in both tournaments. :cheer: :salute:

Re: Hats off to Pakistan team

***checks Ehsan Unkil’s forehead

Bukhar tho nahi horaha :hmmm:

i personally didnt hate todays match that much. except for umpiring and rana uncles batting (he was the second most top scorer :mad:)

rest it was a good match..atleast our players made it to 233 which seemed impossible. and they also cut the ball-run required difference at several points while kiwiz were batting.

so good luck Pakistani team for the other tournaments.
next time kindly play for the country and not for yourself. :slight_smile:

:jhanda: Well played amigos!
You exceeded our expectations. Thank you!

^ Sheyn, :naraz:

Over the year they have done well. :slight_smile:

Totally agree with you
they gave everything they had
and most of all they gave us so much happiness in these hard times Pakistan i sfacing

Thanks for opening the thread and motivate Pakistani fans but still ----- :crying:

P in USA, are you abandoned by your fellow indians that you try to seek refugee with us 'bad' Pakistanis?

^ I will ignore all your barbs today :)

Dil pe bahut gehri chot khayee hai - dard to hoga hi ;)

Well put Ehsan Uncle :jhanda:

decent tournament for Pakistan overall :k: many positives from it - esp. the way we played India and Australia.

We just need to fix some batting problems to make the team stronger and well rounded.

But you still love us Pakistanis, don't you? Like that neighboring Maasi who can never leave the neighbors in peace.

Maasi Museebtay. LOL.

Unlike indians, we think our players did a great job in this tournament and if you are looking for indian media type of reaction, you will be disappointed, ;)

All credits to the players of Pakistan Cricket team they did well and against all the preditions they made it to semis, had it not been Ian Chappel predicted the final between Aus and Pak, Pakistan might have won the final... but again we did well, out team played well, there are not that many teams who made it till semis...

So good luck to Pakistani Cricket team, well played

Well, actually in the Champions trophy, Pakistan played only one good game, the one that they lost against Australia. Even against India, they employed the same strategy that they employed today... go very slow at the beginning and accelerate at the end. The difference was, it clicked against India but failed today. The strategy itself is somewhat flawed, because you never want to slow down too much in ODIs. Even in the rebuilding stage, you should always keep the scoreboard ticking, to avoid unnecessary pressure on themselves and the later batsmen. Malik, Younis, and Yousaf are more than capable of milking bowlers for singles and doubles, with occasional boundary, without taking undue risks. In the game against India, if Malik and/or Yousuf had gotten out before their acceleration, we would've been in a similar predicament as today. Today, however, the strategy failed miserably. Contrast it with New Zealand's batting, where most of the innings they were able to easily get 3-5 runs off every over.

Hats of to Pakistan. Today's game was also not so bad except for some bad umpiring and selection of Rana over Asif and finally due to that drop catch at crucial point by Younus.

Pakistan has performed well almost whole year when I was expecting the least from them. Not many teams in the world can perform like that after going through what Pakistan is going and the fact hat they are getting very little cricket.

For all these very reason I am not too sad or upset today which is quiet unlike in case of Pakistan's defeat.

:jhanda:

we played a decent game - and were one of the best sides in this tournament :jhanda:

Well said all of you!

I, for one actually am looking forward to the series against Australia which, say a few months ago, i would totally put aside. We are a good team, and with a few fixes here and there, will be amongst favorites in WC 2011, inshaAllah!!!

Winning two major trophy is just too good to be true. I am happy Pakistan lost it, otherwise you guys will be too hard to catch. Hard luck. If Asif doesnt take drugs and if they fix some batting issues, pakistan is a real contender for the next WC.