Hats off Kamran Akmal.. Pakistan's new Crisis man

Re: Hats off Kamran Akmal.. Pakistan's new Crisis man

Next few matches for 10s, 20s and 30s and all of a sudden he will be "no good" to everybody. One century in crisis situation doesn't prove anything but good display of batting abililties. How those abilities fair out in the coming months and years is yet to be seen. When he scores another century or 50 then this century will have any meaning and can go into his account as something of high stature in crisis situation.

I have no doubt that he is a good prospect for Pakistan and a good wicket-keeper batsman.

Re: Hats off Kamran Akmal.. Pakistan’s new Crisis man

Generalizing too much.

What about his match-saving innings at Mohali under enormous pressure? It doest not prove just one’s batting skills But it also proves the skills of i)making it count under extreme pressure ii) using your head ii) pacing your skills with brilliant coutner attacking.

How many 100s and 50s you want? He has scored like 5 hundred already. Maybe you are waiting for him to break Tendulkar’s or Lara’s records to acknowledge that.

o Thank God!!! bari meherbani ji aapki :smiley:

We will have to see…there are plenty of series coming after India. :cb:

Yah so thats twice but it still doesn’t prove that he is the man for Pakistan under crisis situation… all I am saying is that we must not glorify him to a level from which it is hard from him to deliver. When any player PERFORMS, he is the man for his team when that same player doesn’t then he becomes a liability. We glorified Salman Butt after couple of his centuries to level of Saeed Anwar and above… the thing with Pakistani players is that if you continue to criticise, they will deliver. When you put them on your head as an exalted being who is your only saviour in certain situations then we have a problem. No doubt that he plays good cricket, is a good wicket keeper but he needs to improve further. If Dhoni wasn’t caught napping under the sticks, he wouldn’t have made that 100.

kisee ko sar pe rakh kar naacho ghay to mu ke bal girney ke zeada chances hain

Sarcasm…:rolleyes: he has long long long way to go before he even thinking of breaking any records.

I think what Jaan Leva means is that we have to watch him for atleast another year before we could start looking at him in the moulds of Rahul Dravid and Adam Gilchrist. He has only been just over a year in international cricket and the fact that he has been creating waves ever since his arrival has woken up the crictics and cynics in many cricket followers and one line constantly resonates in everybody’s minds: He is simply too good! And thats what alerts the pessimists and those who like to play it safe, i.e. if something is *so *good theres a chance it could be too good to be true. Its like when you win a lottery and you cant believe it so you ask people to pinch you to make sure youre not dreaming. And for a moment you go in denial saying nahhhh it cant happen to me, thats impossible! Thats whats happening to many of us.

Akmal has stamped his arrival on the international scene and made his place permanant in the side. All that remains for him is to keep excelling in his job like he has done so far. And once he keeps doing that for a couple more years, he truly will become one of the greatest to have played the sport. I feel lucky that a player like him is playing in my time and i just cannot wait for that moment down the years when Akmal takes over the captaincy from Afridi (:mocking:).

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

Now you are making a good point. See there is a difference of notion here. Kamran has proved his credentials. Now what we need is to back him up when (inevitably) he goes through a bad patch. So we know he can do the job for us. If he maintains the semblence of this consistency over a sustained period of time then he will achieve those heights.

Plus I dont remmeber Anyone glorifying Salman Butt above Saeed Anwar. Though what people have mentioned that his stroke play resembles Saeed Anwars. And thats about it!

Kamran is a good batsman with a sound footwork..that’s a rarity in our team. If you can bat on tricky surfaces, you should be recognized for it. He has shown good temprament under pressure situations. I say give the guy some credit. :k:
I’ll be impressed if Younis Khan performs on this track. 200s on a flat track is not as good as a 50 on a tricky one.

well said saby…there is no need to add anything else…we are proud of you Kami…you are the best Mashallah…:Salute::Salute::Salute:

And don't get me wrong... I feel it is just not the right time to put him up there as our crisis man. He can be our crisis man and can be the best wicket-keeper batman but needs to be looked after and needs to work very hard. He has good eye and is quick too on the wicket and behind the wicket. I am sure Woolmer and Inzi see potential in Kami as we all do and will do everything to make it even more deadlier. ;)

Not only his keeping has improved in last 14 months, but he has become our regular authentic 6th batsman, far more than a wicket keeper-batsman.

Jaan leva, you need to cut your nonsense out. How much more do you want from him? The guy played one of the best Pakistani test innings I have ever seen. 7 international hundreds during the past 12 months is not an achievement enough for you? The guy has a great future and will serve Pakistan for many years to come Inshallah.

As far as I remember, we have had numerous eggs thrown on our faces in the past 15 months as far as Kamran Akmal is concerned :smiley: !

one of the best if not the best batting performance ever

i wanna see tandulker do do something like that
perform under pressure and in deliver in clutch

And yes, you deserved it :stuck_out_tongue:

Yaar thing is, I had doubts over his keeping abilities, which looked ordinary back then. He has reached a very good level in keeping, I would say same as Moin or even better. And if he continues to improve like that, he might be as good as Rashid one day.

saby bhai, he made his debut back in 2002 n he really was poor in both batting n keeping but now he really has improved alot

oh yeah! We have, most of us have.

Well at least I dont recall someone making 7 hundreds for Pakistan in 12 months period, and that to against quality sides, like WI, India and England.

Its a fact that this guy used to be prett ordinary back then, but now he has achieved a certain level. His batting aint un reliable like Moin or Latif. He is one accomplished batsman now… His Kararay Chokay over off side are next to Inzimam for me. once again :salute: to a very humble fellow.

:jhanda:

I am thoroughly impressed :k: :salute:

his fitness is superb too,i mean he batted for long n then kept wickets,very hard-working lad :k:

Now that 1st inning is complete by both teams, its clear that NONE of our star batsmen, mediocre batsmen/allrounders could even cross 50 mark, while this lad scored a century! Definitely a good player :clap: