It's soo sad when one's own realative act this way.
I went to Pakistan to get married then just so my realatives could be a part of it, they all acted so bad, i regret it soo much. I wish i would have gotten married here soo all my friends and family friends could have been a part of it. They would have never treated us the way our realatives did.
even the family friends that didn't attend threw me dolkis and gave been good gifts before i left for pakistan. the gifts i got from my realatives were shockingly bad and none even offerd to invite us to their house!! I would have understood if they weren't as wealthy as they are.
Thankfully I didn't have too much of this at my wedding...either that or I've blanked it out and just remember the good stuff (it was four years ago!) but my advice for everyone is that you can't change how your relatives treat you, but you can make a difference and be the positive person and give praise when it's someone else's wedding :)
every family has the villain aunty and her daughters.
and others who love gossiping stories between your end and the villain aunty's end.
it's a mess in between.
So yes,
you should limit your interaction with them to be at ease for the gossips to not reach you and haunt u.
Resume normal relations once another Hot topic hits the family.
the world is full of jealous ppl … some show their jealousy and some don’t so do whatever u feel like…
if somebody is happy with your “khushi” then most welcome and if someone is having headache or heart attacks with your khushi then hell with tht person:mad:…apne aap ko jalaney ki zaroorat nahi
Yeah i know this is so true and frustrating .. Like people when generally talk they tend to pin point so many things,,, I was at a wedding recently in US and it was great .. like more than 1100 people but then again . I was hearing from people like food was cold etc .. where as everything was more than perfect , they just find ways to say stuff
Wow it seems like everyone has some “drama” relatives in their families. I don’t know if I should feel happy or sad that I only have my immediate family (parents and brothers), that will be at my nikkah (Insha’Allah next summer!)
I am starting to feel kinda lonely thinking that they will be the only ones from my side of the family at the wedding. At least you people have relatives that live near and that are at least there. So don’t worry there will always be people who will never be happy, no matter how much you try to please them. Just relax and be happy with the people who really care for you and matter the most to you (eg.parents, siblings, grandparents etc…)
Besides what would a Pakistani wedding be without a little entertaining family drama:)
At my own engagement, it was a small function but people just couldn’t stop talking about “aray mangni hotel mein karne ki kya zarurat thi?” “make up parlour se karaya? kitne ka?” “photo shoot b karaya hai?” “mujh se to kkuch khaya hi nahi gaya” halanke the catering was good, menu was descent enough too. And in the end when they don’t get anything to talk about… “apni beti k liye itna kuch kar rahe hain, hmare liye to kabhi kuch nahi kia” LAME! I wonder what would these people do at the wedding?
The best part though was that the “talking” people from near family who were anyhow invited couldn’t somehow attend. So the function went good MashaAllah.
Oh my god, I thought it was only my family!! My cousins are cool and supportive but one of my khalas was going around saying my rishta had come to hers FIRST! Like to everyone! Even although she knew her daughter is in a love relationship and the world knew it! I was always the lesser "khoobsurat" and still in school from my cousins around my age so it was a shock to my aunt that I was getting engaged first over my other cousins! There was soooooo much drama, no one helped except for a few individuals, no body even filled my mehndi trays when my mom left the job for them a few hours before because my parents had to finalize a couple of other things! We got there and the plates were empty lol but I had made then myself and they looked gorgeous so now I think about it about if we had used them I would of had to throw them out and they wouldn't of been used for the next three weddings in my family! lol even my khalas daughters! Sigh I think it's in our Pakistani blood, I hope our generation can change the mindset but I'm not sure if that'll happen lol...
I actually made an account just to reply to this thread, because this situation is all too familiar to me as well.
Last summer, my cousin was getting married. Literally, after 13 years ( or maybe even more) EVERYONE from my mothers side got all together, all 10 siblings. It was really special, and amazing. I met many of my cousins after almost a decade, and some new faces as well. However, there was so much fighting and drama and just terrible things happening that I really wish I could say that I enjoyed myself. I was really naive, and I had no idea what an impact nasr can really have. I guess people got jealous that we were having such a great time together, that things went downhill pretty fast.
My cousin, on her Valima day, had a terrible rash on her arms becuase of her mehndi, and my aunt fainted cuz of the heat, and there was a lot of fights sparked on the day of the wedding. From the events at the Valima and wedding, the whole summer was ruined because many problems began piling one on top of the other, and my cousins and I were forced to be seperated and not speak to one another since there was some sort of family fued going on, ALL BECAUSE ONE STUPID UNCLE. It was terrible, and I really wish I could kick some of my relatives in the head. I swear, some Paki people are really arrogant, selfish and just plain stupid. I pray for these people, and I hope to Allah that I NEVER act like that toward my OWN family.