HASINA MOIN

HASINA MOIN

Dramatist-born 1942 at Kanpur-India, Hasina Moin took her initial education at Rawalpindi, Lahore and finally Karachi where she did MA (History) from the University of Karachi. Her yearn for writing was visible right from the time she was in final years of her schooling…as from the days of her Class VII school activities—she got selected to write weekly column by the title of BHAI JAN for a local journal.

Her fame started laying its foundation when she regularly wrote some memorable plays for Radio Pakistan Karachi’s all time popular “Studio Number NAU” (which, incidently, produced artiste’ like Talat Hussain, Sajida Syed, Santosh Russell, Mughal Bashar, Mehmood Ali, Qazi Wajid, Talat Siddiqui, Rehana Siddiqui, Neelofer Aleem, Mahmood Khan Moodi, Jamshed Ansari…the list goes on…). Professionally…Hasina took up the educational pursuits and did teaching..and rose to the level of Principal.

It was in 1969 that Iftikhar Arif, Head-Script at PTV-Karachi Centre…called Hasina and offered her to write a play for the then, forthcoming EID. Initially Hasina was shocked and fell off the lid…but took courage to pen down a play…the cast of which was also decided by her with Kunwar Aftab Ahmed as the Director…hence came “EID KA JORRA” with Neelofer Aleem and Shakil in lead supported by Khalid Nizami and Ishrat Hashmi and thereafter it was no looking back for Hasina…as the Eid Al Azha saw “Happy Eid Mubarak” and then came the deluge----with serials and plays like; SHEHZORI, ZEIR ZABR PEISH, UNCLE URFI, UNKAHI, TANHAIYAAN, PARCHAIEYEN, BANDISH, DHUND, DHOOP KINAREY, AAHAT, NADAN NADIA, KASAK, PAL DO PAL, TERE AJANE SE…while her play “GURYA” directed by Shirin Khan with cast; Manzoor Qureshi, Shahla Ahmad (Bina of Uncle Urfi), Azra Sherwani and Raju Jamil, won an award at the Global TV Plays festival at Tokyo..on best script and direction…where Shirin traveled and participated on behalf of PTV-Karachi…in 1975.

Hasina is recipient of President of Pakistan’s PRIDE OF PERFORMANCE award—though she deserved SITARA E IMTIAZ.

Hasina Moin continues to pursue her talent–regardlessly—under the current commercial scenario which has gripped the Showbiz media on TV plays and serials where the farcical “writers” are making “hay” while the sun (of commercialism) shines! and Hasina..trying hard to be original instead of doing some cosmetics on the old and even new English, American and Indian movies–for transforming them into serials for PAK-SHOWBIZ on the tube!

Keep it up…Hasina!

Re: HASINA MOIN

Great write up on Hasina Moin. Thanks for that Raju Bhai.

Very recently, son of Qamar and Neelofer Abbasi uploaded "Shehzori" on YouTube. It was such a fun watching that classic drama all over again.

I recently watch one of her interviews on telly and she doesnt seems to be very much happy about younger generation of directors and play writers , lack of commitment was one of her dislikes among them . Do ya feel same Raju uncle ? your words on this issue ?

I agree with you..1000,,000%. Just about a year back I did a long play for some channel with Sonya Khan, Adnan Siddiqui and Sajida Syed. When I went on the location at some bungalow at Gulshan.....I was searching for the director I had never met before--and I asked a young lad--as to where the director could be and he said "its me!" and I almost fell..cause he was such 'puppoo' and really...both; myself and Sonya could hardly concentrate on our scene as total disbelief prevailed that how can this 'Tom Thumb' be a "DIRECTOR"??? I mean that despite 325+ serials, series, plays, stage plays--both english and urdu and umpteenth comperings/anchorships...I still cant adopt the idea that I should try my hand with DIRECTION....BUT, script writing is a bit different ball game. You need precision, tediousness and depth to create characters---and then formulate their being by devising their character for the play.. once that done...you have to carry that character---in the exact perspective you have formulated it.

HASINA's lament is not on writers like young ones...who are coming up good..though on lower scale...she is totally dejected with the likes of Seema Ghazal..who are procastinators and since it's their market currently.. Hasina is being ignored in current scenario and while she has eaten and survived on the fruits of her AMAZING submissions in yesteryears...it's time again to do the magic of beating the brains out of the current class of cheats or as they say plaigarism

"UTTHAO HAATH DUA KAREN...KE MULK KI YE LARKIAN......
NEK HOUN...PERVEEN HOUN...ARRAY LIKHAI KI MACHINE HOUN....
YAANI.....HASINA MOIN HOUN!!!!!!!!!"

Khush Rahein....

-Raju

seema ghazal is an impostor.don't even consider her a writer.

Thanks uncle for the great write up. please write more about her.

i strongly believe Hasina Moin’s sense of Humor is great with the pen.

if we recall all the old dramaz like
"chaku hai mera pass"in uncle urfi,
"kabacha, n everyonez servants role such as of jamshed ansari, Durdana Butt, etc"in Tanhayian,
“sana, u, timi, jibran, mobi, police inspector, n especially mamu” in unkahi
“Dr. Irfan, Baba n Dadi’z role done by sajid hasan, qazi wajid n Hameed Wyne respectively” in Dhoop Kinaray.
“lead actress” in shezori.

and many others chucks written by Hasina Moin that

are veryyyy well written, well acted, n well dramatized. :clap:

on the other hand u cant image how badly indian copied the role of sana (unkahi) in one of their movie (i think it was chal meray bhai). in unkahi sana mistakenly cut the tie of her boss, taimoor. it looked soooo natural. but look the same scene in indian rip off version. :smack:. heroine (krishma kapoor) actually took the tie of her boss (sangay dutt) :smack:. an extremely ridiculous scene.

Q. dont u think Hasina Moinz drama were famous for their humor. whereas rona-dhona type of scenes were never get to the point where we see jocose scenes?

I remember growing up on serials like Dhoop Kinarey & Tanhaiyaan, Uroussa...amazing works. Whenever I go to Pakistan, I always try to get hold of these serials but always end up getting Indian movies instead...is there any place where I can get copies of urdu/pakistani serials...especially old ones?

^ Try Sadaf Super Store in Gakkhar Plaza in Pindi, they have almost everything, I mean everything!

Thanks. Next time I go to Pakistan I won't miss it!

Amen to that!

Here's one for ahem... guess who:

badqismati ka hua hai azal
shaitan ka bhar gaya hai fazal
drama ban gaya hai aik puzzle
jab se writer bani seema ghazal

of course, Hasina Moin's novels are great inspiration for social change and on family topics where brave characters act on their principles and morals.
Dushwari

BOHAT SHUKRIA RAJU BHAI KAI APP NAY HASEENA MOIN SAHIBA PER ATICAL LIKHa ,,waisey GS ko join ker kai app nayis mai char chaand laga diyee hain ataay rahee ga,jahantaak mayra khiyal hai GS say achee aur koee site nahee,keepit up GS.mods

Hasina Moin interview- script writer/Haseena Moin interview

Hasina Moin/Haseena MoinDrama writer
Unedited interview about exploration of themes over the decades
Herald Special Lifestyle issue

1960s When I was in college in intermediate, I started to write caricatures. These would be published in magazines. I used to write humorous caricatures about college mates, teachers, myself and about college. Then one day radio Pakistan sent a circular to our college saying that we would like college girls to submit a drama for us and its duration should be of 25 minutes. My Urdu lecturer Mrs. Salma Haqqee asked me to submit a play but I told her that I don’t know how to write a drama or even write; all this writing that I do is just a joke, so she said just write this joke then. So I wrote the drama in 2 days in college and submitted it. The drama was titled Patriyaan and was produced by Agha Nasir, because it was hilarious it even got an award and this is how I got my break in writing. When I started to write, plays and serials in those days would be made on books and published works, I was the first person to write an original play. A lot of people were against it when I was writing Kiran Kahani, an original serial but then a lot of people also supported me as well. After my serial producers started to direct serials based on original storylines. **

1970s** Initially my writing themes were associated with my life. When a person is young, she finds life to be beautiful, colorful, every emotion is lovely. We were many brothers and sisters who were very similar and were loud, my parents were very loving towards us and towards each other and that influenced my writing a lot. This whole atmosphere I brought into my TV serials such as Shehzori, Uncle Urfi and Kiran Kahani. All of these plays were full of life, laughter and loudness. **

1980s** In the 80s my writings reflected hope, life‘s niceness and its beauty. Then I changed my style from humorous to serious upon the suggestion of Shoaib Mansoor. He told me that if you can write comedy so well you can do a good job with serious writing, why don’t you try. So for Jashn-e-Tamseel for PTV I wrote a serious play ‘sangsaar’. I even got an award for it. Then I wrote a serial ‘Parchaiyaan’ which was based on the novel ‘Portrait of a Lady’ by Henry James.

1990s Then a private production company approached me and asked me to write about Pakistani families living in pitiable conditions in Scotland. I was invited to visit them and meet them and find out about their state. So I did go and met many families and this is how I wrote Des Pardes, Aansoo and Castle. Then based on Karachi’s conditions I wrote a play Chup Darya. In 1992 I wrote Aahat, a serial based on family planning and Tansen which was a historical serial. So my style changed into more serious tone in the 1990s. Aahat was the first serial in Pakistan that dealt with family planning, **

2000s** Now I write very less. Currently my serial Meray Dard Ko Jo Zubaan Milay is on air. This serial has an historical perspective as it relates to the cruelty that women have had to endure since moenjodaro times dating almost 5000 years ago. I have always written about women simply because the Urdu literature that I grew up reading always had stories in which the woman was always sad and in it there were themes of women sacrificing themselves and that they should sacrifice and she would be praised for keeping quiet and that used to rile me up and I used to hate it. A souten would come into the household and this first wife is preparing food for her and she would be praised to the limits. I thought it was really ridiculous. This thought remained in my subconscious. So when I started to write plays I portrayed strong girls. When Shehzori first came on air, it was highly controversial. I was questioned as to what I am trying to teach the girls. Should they do whatever they want? I told them look my heroine is not badtameez but she does what she thinks is right and will not do what is wrong, this is a right which every woman should have. **

In terms of Censorship**
It used to be very strict in PTV when I started off. However we became used to it and have developed a sense of self-censorship and also learnt how to convey our message in a subtle manner. For instance in Aahat I couldn’t take the name of family planning as it would create a furore so I wrote the whole serial about it without once mentioning the name. Now people have broken a lot of censorship rules and themes are being explored which earlier one could not. Moreover earlier we had ridiculous rules about censorship in which a woman had to cover her head at all times. My serial Kasak had to go through this trouble. Initially the title role was being played by Sahira Kazmi as on her personal request I wrote the serial, but then the directors said that even when the main character is getting up from her sleep and going to the washroom her head should be covered. Although in that house there is her child and herself. Sahira refused to play the role and Rubina Ahraf stepped in. Who does this in their house? Drama should be as close to life as possible. I recall watching a scene in a play at that time, in which the girl is drowning and the women around her are covering her head with a dupatta. That was stupid and the girl was also not in her senses. During Zia’s time we did a serial Parchaiyaan which was about a mistress but we didn’t label it as a mistress due to censorship policies, it went on air and people didn’t even notice. I presented it indirectly while the book made it obvious but I left it to viewer’s interpretation.
source: http://maleehasiddiquisteps.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!F203AD963E085071!170.entry

where's arjay ?

**Back to Karachi..after five days visit to MALAYSIA (my fourth visit BUT this time on REST & RECREATION from my Bank-as high performance award..the earlier three-2001 for JAB JAB DIL MILE, 2002 for CHAHATAIN and 2004 for SUNN LEY NAA, being for recordings) **

It was a wonderful visit to KL, Langkawi, Penang and Genting Highlands.

Returned on the midnight of 27-28 Aug.

Khush Rahein,

-Raju

Raju - are you Raju Jameel??

I wish Geo or ARY would show haseena moin's plays since she writes once in a blue moon :-S

For ALL the series and serials--of PTV like the ones mentioned on this forum...the only place to have a collection is RAINBOW CENTRE at Saddar,
Karachi near the Karachi Grammar School and wee bit before the famous Empress Market. I got my collection from there---on DVD.

If you need further assistance--like sending the DVDs to your end... do let me know...I am sure that can be managed.

Khush Rahein Aap....

-Raju

Jee..I AM Raju Jamil !!! aur aik tow meri samajh mein nahin arahaa ke loge itna shuck kiyon kar rahein hein? Aap ke alava aur logon ne bhi aisay hee sawal keeay hein..:)

GEO & ARY or for that matter.....any other channel...will never approach Hasina as she is not cut-out on themes and stories....popular these days.

PTV KA ZAMANA originality se qareeb tarr thah. Today's COMMERCIAL SERVICE by the booty or deluge of channels...looks upon Seema Ghazal type of plaigairists who cheat from foreign movies...do some cosmetics and as they say 'fine tuning' and befool the audience or viewers and the BEST part is that viewers get befooled!!

HASINA MOIN has originality and her take off point was so strong that people are finding hard to forget her.

There is a talk looming large at PTV (I was made a participant at GM PTV-K's chamber..when I floated the idea..) that UN KAHI-II and other popular ones of HM be made as a sequel..but the only problem is that almost all the artiste are too busy while it's very hard to find the duplicates of Salim Nasir (Mamoon) and Jimmy...who are no more in this world.

Even if HASINA tries to write something for any channel...it wont click because people are not ready to accept joint family values!!! if there are cases as such..they would be rare. PLUS Hasina...just cannot get out of her real self and become a procastinator.

IMO...it's only PTV which will take chances on HM....and that will happen soon...as I foresee Hasin'a revival soon..because COMMERCIALISM is about to loose its war with the consumers or viewers.

Regards,

Raju

Jee I am....:)

I too wish but both the channels or the other ones are not worth Hasina Moin plays........they have been manufactured to show adverts..instead of dramas and the only reason why Hasina's serials & plays were BLOCKBUSTERS--is the fact that there was more time for the plays and less for adverts..for which PTV paid a heavy price by remaining on overdraft for years!

Cheers----------Raju