Is there any other news regarding this? …
Supposedly they are claiming that Today’s BBC Panorama will talk about this…
Is there any other news regarding this? …
Supposedly they are claiming that Today’s BBC Panorama will talk about this…
Re: Has PJ Mir fled Pakistan after Fatwa was issued against him?
I did not read about any fatwa, so don't know what is the fatwa any way. Did some maulvi saab ordered PJ Mir to be killed or something???
In any case, I believe there are plenty of opportunities (lunch, tea, drinks breaks etc) during a game where players can easily offer salat on time (unless you are talking about maghrib salat in a d/n game), so anyone going out during a match is just trying to get unnecessary attention and should be disciplined.
At the same time I think PJ Mir is at fault for needlessly making it a media issue and trying to score some brownie points for himself.
And lastly I think Kerala times is not the best media to be relying on these stories. They probably want to sensationalize these things. We need more facts before jumping the gun here.
AA,
Many on this forum have eluded to this lack of committment because of this new-born Muslims.
This is what PJ Mir had to say:
Mir claimed that it was this preoccupation with religion that explained their poor performance in the contest. "I mean Bob had his reservations that the boys, rather than focusing on the religious aspect, they ought to be focusing more on cricket. He wasn't particularly pleased when players were going out to say their in the middle of the game and a substitute was coming in. This continued. He was totally against it," the Daily Mail quoted Mir as saying.
After the team was knocked out of the World Cup, Mir's comments had led to a fatwa being issued against him, following which he was forced to flee Pakistan.
He believes Woolmer may have faced the same fate. "Let's put it this way - if Bob had said what I'd had said I think there would have been a fatwa on him as well," he added
There is news on cricinfo too and I heard it on the BBC urdu (last night) as well.
http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/woolmer/content/current/story/292865.html
^ We already know about the Panorama report tonight, and the older Mir statement.
What I was asking about was him absconding from Pak or a fatwa....
BBC reports:
Cricket coach Woolmer ‘poisoned’
Pakistan’s cricket coach Bob Woolmer, who died of strangulation earlier this year, was also poisoned, a BBC investigation has learned.
The results of toxicology tests mean it now seems certain the ex-England player was rendered helpless before being strangled, the Panorama programme says.
Woolmer’s murder in March during the Cricket World Cup in the West Indies cast a shadow over the tournament.
His remains were flown back to his home in Cape Town in South Africa on Sunday.
The casket, which had been sealed in a large wooden crate, arrived on board a commercial flight to Cape Town’s International Airport from Jamaica.
He was found dead in his Kingston hotel on 18 March, the day after his side lost to Ireland in the World Cup. A post-mortem examination said he had been strangled. On 20 April the inquest into the death was postponed because the coroner was advised there had been “recent and significant developments”.
‘Unable to fight back’
Now a Panorama investigation has learned that a toxicology report on Woolmer’s body shows that there was a drug in his body that would have incapacitated him. The final results of the report are due to be given to Jamaican police next week. Some 30 detectives are investigating Woolmer’s death
“Those tests will show there was a drug in his system that would have incapacitated Mr Woolmer,” Panorama’s Adam Parsons says.
"It now seems certain that as he was being strangled, he’d already been rendered helpless - leaving him unable to fight back. “The specific details of that poison are now very likely to offer a significant lead to finding his murderer.” The policeman leading the murder investigation, Mark Shields, told Panorama that it is “difficult and it’s rare” for one man to strangle another. "A lot of force would be needed to do that. Bob Woolmer was a large man and that’s why one could argue that it was an extremely strong person or maybe more than one person. “But equally the lack of external injuries suggests that there might be some other factors and that’s what we’re looking into at the moment.”
Family spokesman Gareth Pyne-James told the Associated Press news agency that Woolmer’s funeral in South Africa would be a private ceremony. “Arrangements have been made and the family will decide whether it’s going to be an interment or cremation,” Theo Rix, from a local funeral home, told Reuters news agency. Panorama: Murder at the World Cup will be broadcast on BBC1 at 20:30 BST, Monday.
Why are you posting news that is already posted in the Bob Woolmer Murder Thread.
Come on read the question first before you start mass posting…![]()
^ We already know about the Panorama report tonight, and the older Mir statement.
What I was asking about was him absconding from Pak or a fatwa....
You sud be asking this question in the religious or Pakistan section, this is the Cricket section.
Yaar AA,
I like u dude, u r a good guy, I was just kiddin…
In a country where President, Prime Minister, Core Commander and Interior Minister are kosher targets for crazy fundos what chance does a PJ Mir have? Not much dude, its better he left for his own sake.
Anyway, coming back to the "fatwa". Does anyone here know what is the actual fatwa??
I have read news and dawn briefly but I haven't found anything yet, those who have geo/ary tv, maybe they have said something in the news there? PJ Mir has only said of death threat... so.... maybe there will be a reaction after the BBC show.
Ok found another reference to him fleeing by the GAURDIAN…
It will also disclose that PJ Mir, the team’s former media manager, has fled Pakistan after claiming that a fatwah has been issued against him - and believes that Woolmer could have faced a similar level of anger from Pakistani fans.](Woolmer was poisoned and strangled, Panorama investigation says | BBC | The Guardian)
I think he himself is claiming that there is a fatwa against him....
there probably isn't one out there that the public knows about..
Wasnt PJ based in Dubai anyway? I think he was with ARY and used to host his show out of their Dubai studios... Anyway, if he has fled, then he's not the first and certainly not the last person to leave Pakistan due to the crazy mullahs. God help the country.
Yeh saar kasoor AA ka hai, this was acha khasa loopy doopy off-break @ cricketnama and now it has turned into googly. (mullah/religious talk). :D
^ lets stick to the topic please.
PJ mir is a resident of england, thats where he would do his program for ary for also! Never in any press did i here that a fatwa was issued against him, this is him just seeking cheap publicity!
Uski tou shakal dekhtay hi fatwa laga denay chahyie tha, buhat dair kardi molwi saab fatwa lagaatay lagaatay.
A Pakistani man with the name PeeJay should flee the country - fatwa or no fatwa.
^ ![]()