Has Dubai/Mideast fever gripped your family or desi social circle yet?

Re: Has Dubai/Mideast fever gripped your family or desi social circle yet?

ufff raju uncle...apko to har cheez ka pata hota hai!

Well, you can buy property and get resident permit for 99 years in Doha and Dubai.

y do u say this…explain plz…
did we really hv the"1st class citizen status"…how long ago was tht??:aq:

didn’t know that, thanks for sharing. i think it is bit unfair, residency/ citizenship is earned (work, paying taxes etc) rather bought.

MWAP, actually US and canada have the investor residency program as well. i believe US is $500K currently.

sh3ry, for this residency based on investment, what is the threshold i.e. can someone buy a onebedroom condo and become a resident? also, does it mean that the person will have to show up there every 6 months or do u need to do anything to keep the residency active?

in the late 60’s and early 70’s Pakistansi were extremely well respected in middle east, or atleast in Saudi Arabia. the tide turned quite rapidly in late 70’s and early 80’s. the deterioration in perceptions was incremental each year then.

X2: i know, but its part of overall immigration process. in the end, they have to follow certain procedures to obtain the status.

yep, maybe its the same in duabi, crminal check and all.
I have been thinking of buying a property there just for residency, parri rahay gi shayad kabhi kaam aa jaye.

not a bad idea if they can give residency, but who'll look after it? you may wanna check their requirenments like who long one has to stay there etc etc??

yeah, tahts what I am wondering..i.e. requirements for stay there and minimum amount of investment.

as far as managing the place, thats a very good point, I had told Mal1k that there is serious moey to be made in property mgmt business in dubai for all overseas landlords who just want their properties rented,

one thing i noticed was that financing there is on some 5 year schedule. that can be a little tough financially depending on the property value.

You can buy any kind of FREEHOLD property to get residency (some comes for as low as 400k AED). You need to come back each 6 months though.

no, but doctor fever has:rotato:

so about a 100K USD, which is doable but what sort of financing terms.
this 6 month business is a pain though.

The project is financed by a bank...you pay as the project advances. They have tough laws in UAE now to protect buyers from scams ( all projects are supervised by engineers from the govt and they do not get paid if the project is not on time.)
Dubai real estate is not as lucrative anymore though, Ajman and RAK are booming...I've seen property price hike as much as 300% in the last 2 years.

As for business, one can open a business in any of the free zones in the UAE for as little as 20K AED per year, giving them 2 residency visas(renewable every 3yrs). You do not need any local sponsorship for opening a business in a free zone and the procedures take as little as 24hrs.

2 Likes

right but how long are teh finance terms, 100K is financed for how many years, what are the payment terms etc.

yeah dubai boat sailed 4 years ago, ajman and RAk are good, but do they also provide the residency visas?

business is not going to work, unless i set some business there which I run from here. heh could be a loss leader services website :D

what kinda work environment is available for females in middle east? (i heard all kind of horrific stories :teary1:)

Zobia: Depends of what kind of job u are getting into Zobia; I've seen Phillipino women being treated very badly (it's in the mindset of people out here i guess), but generally it's ok. I've personally never faced any problem at work because i'm a woman.
In fact I really indulge in "women Treatment" out here: You have your own banking, your own queue for cinema tickets, your own cash register at supermarkets. I was amazed in the beginning when certain men at work will not enter the elevator if there are women!!! :D

But then you are always treated on the basis of your nationality; which really sucks!!
Working in UAE is not really recommended though, with the hike in rent and prices...your average salary can range from 5000AED - 15000AED. You might pay around 4000AED - 6000AED for a studio flat. (1$ - 3.65AED)

Depends on the kind of project you are investing in: the timeline usually ranges from 2-3 yrs.
Ajman & RAK also provides residence visa, valid for the whole of the UAE.
There are lots of 'remote access' businesses: you have a business in uae, with a uae address and phone number, all communications are answered by a secretary who forwards them to you. A software is installed in your computer giving you access to your business in here from anywhere in the world.
website for loss leader services :D

I am living in Saudia for sometime and i can say safely that if u like the life of Saudia then u can't live anywhere else... but if u like the life of other places than this place is not for you...

Couple of my frined got offer from here, one from Mobily and they asked me abt my opinion... so i just told them that; think wot u want from life and is utmost important for you and if money is anywhere in top three then i won't recommend it... You can understad the true meaning of peace, serenity and tranquility here only if you really want to...

my grandfather used to have kuwaiti citizenship:) anyways

property is really good here and mermaid jee 400000 dirhams is low??

mashallah and people were thinking i am a show off…

even people living here in dubai think 400000 is a reasonable amount of money and you are saying for as low as 400K u can get a property:aq: